We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Provencal Bento Box”

L'Ancienne Epicerie
Ranked #8 of 1,057 Restaurants in Aix-en-Provence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $34
Cuisines: French
Restaurant details
Reviewed June 2, 2019

This is an original. The walls are packed with posters, old ads, bric a brac. The plate is colorful - lots of fresh Provencal dishes, all served together in little portions. Don't worry, you won't leave hungry. The food is family style, wholesome, packed with flavor, and a pleasure to look at. A destination in Aix.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank 607philipb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlorianZahiri, Responsable relations clients at L'Ancienne Epicerie, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2019

Dear 607philipb,
We are glad to see that you had great time and enjoyed a lot your meal ! We hope to see you again during your stay ! Best regards,
L'Ancienne Épicerie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (331)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 331 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2019

We thoroughly enjoyed this little oasis of calm, sitting in the garden with the birds singing and enjoying imaginative fresh food from an interesting menu.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Foodlover597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celinecom, Responsable relations clients at L'Ancienne Epicerie, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2019

Dear Foodlover597,
Thank you so much for this lovely comment. We are glad to see that you enjoyed a great time in our retaurant. We hope to see you again during your stay !
best regards, L'Ancienne Epicerie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2018 via mobile

We hoped we would had a nice evening there because we expected a reservation for weeks.
But if the service was perfect and the decoration as well. The food wasn't so good. And the red wine was disgusting. We chose a vegan menu and a '' saute de porc''. '' The sauté de porc'' was insipid. In my menu, the tomatoes sauce was too important. And the way to serve the food on two trays was a way to minimize the little portions of starters. And what to say about the environment with a nine person's group who stayed a lot of time beside our table talking highly.
We were sorry to pay 55€ with a bad 25 cl red wine carafe. I'm sorry to recommand people to avoid this restaurant.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Franca20152018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celinecom, Responsable relations publiques at L'Ancienne Epicerie, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2018
Google Translation

Laura P

Madame, je me permet de vous répondre en français car tous vos autres commentaires le sont, sauf celui-ci.
Pourriez vous nous expliquer pourquoi cet avis est écrit en Anglais ?
Bien sûre si vous souhaitez venir dans notre restaurant vous serez la bien venue !

L'ancienne épicerie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2018 via mobile

Having read the reviews, I hoped we would get some of the wonderfully fresh ingredients this Shangri-la region produces. We were not disappointed and we ate here 3 days in a row. You’ll need your sat nav to find the place - hiding behind wooden shutters in a side street with no visible signage. Not open Monday’s and not sure about Sunday (we arrived Monday). Such a relaxed setting, French cafe music, rustic 1930s feel, and understated charming service forgiving of weak attempts at ordering in French. The price is fixed at Eur25 and includes, entree salad, cheese, veggie side dish and main plate. The menu changes weekly and we worked our way through it - tangine like minced beef, chick pea curry, and a take on a tomato/veggie sauce with pasta. Wine is served in carafes or bottles and with local wine at Eur9 for 50CLs great value. As other reviews state, the meal is served all together on a tray and you can work through it at your own pace. Clearly very popular with locals. Book in advance to avoid disappointment. Seating is outside in the quiet back garden as weather permits. Outstanding and so much better than standard tourist offerings in the squares.

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank Dawsong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvain M, Responsable relations publiques at L'Ancienne Epicerie, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2018

Dawsong

Thanks for coming and taking time to writing a lovely review.
We are very pleased to read thses few lines.
We hope to welcome you again in the future.

L'ancienne épicerie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2018

Went there tonight by accident and it was the best food ever tasted in Aix. The menu has a small choice but the ambience, the staff and food are to die for in Aix. This is backyard cooking in Aix at its finest. The flavours were superb, wholesome, delicious, nutritious and wonderful.The best value for money food in Aix!!
We have booked dinner for our next and final 2 nights in Aix at the same place

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank mick r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvain M, Responsable relations publiques at L'Ancienne Epicerie, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2018

mick r

Nice to read your comment and hope to welcome you in the future again.

L'ancienne épicerie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Ancienne Epicerie also viewed

Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to L'Ancienne Epicerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing