We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Province with Catherine”

Tour Designer in Provence Private Tours
Ranked #4 of 42 Tours in Aix-en-Provence
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: TOUR DESIGNER - Private tours in Provence with private tout guides
Bahar ic-Caghaq, Malta
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Province with Catherine”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

One of the most professional and organised people i've ever met; We were a family of 16 (all ages) and she found a tour that suited all of us; we visited Les Baux, Saint Remy and then visited Cassis on a second day. She recommended the right restaurants for us. Great trip. Thank you Catherine!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank camillerim2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mount Desert, Maine
Level Contributor
110 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Touring Provence? Catherine is the one you want to show you around!”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We arrived by ship in Toulon, we were really early getting there. I called Catherine and she was there in minutes. There were 5 of us, our three sons, 16, 18, and 23 along with my wife and I. The van we toured in was very comfy, a Mercedes V Class minivan. Catherine put us at ease right away and way and quite engaging. We pretty much left the day to her descretion, so we visited Aix en Provence and Cassis France. Aix was beautiful, an extremely old city with lots to see. Churches, the streets, fountains, city walls, lots to see and not nearly enough time. An open air market was a lot of fun to see. Cassis is a seaport town, old and surrounded by steep cliffs. Fishing boats tied up just a few feet from cafes, pretty town. After leaving town Catherine took us up on the cliffs overlooking Cassis, Great views of the town and surrounding mountains. Catherine was a true delight to have for the day. Once back to port, she gave us a bottle of local wine as a gift, a sweet gesture. If you come to this part of France, Catherine is a sure bet for a great day.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pecsherr1
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fabulous Provence with Catherine”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We asked Catherine what her favorite day out from Marseilles would be and she picked the Luberon for us. What a day! Right on time from cruise port, our day could not have been better! We explored small villages walking the narrow cobblestone villages, popping in to a bakery here, a cafe there... We didn't just SEE the area, we experienced it! We walked, we took hundreds of photos, we laughed, we had an incredible day with our new BFF, Catherine. If you ever get to the area, give yourself the gift of a lifetime, tour with Catherine.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pecsherr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful day in Provence”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Catherine arranged for Marjolaine to be our guide on the day our cruise ship visited Marseille. There were eight of us from the ship plus Marjolaine, who drove the very comfortable van, and gave us much information about the areas we visited. She picked us up at the pier and we drove through the countryside to Aix-en-Provence where we had a great walking tour of the old part of the city, with some time to grab a bite and enjoy the markets. We drove next to Mont St. Victoire and learned about the artist, Cezanne, on the way. Once there we visited a winery with a chance to do some tasting. On the way back to the ship we had a tour of Marseille, with stops to visit Ft. St. John and Notre Dame de la Garde. We were delivered back to our ship's pier with plenty of time to spare. All in all it was a wonderful, full day, and we were fortunate to have Marjoliane as our very competent guide. Thank you, Catherine, for arranging our day with Marjolaine. We highly recommend this tour!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RikaWashingtonState
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Provence Day Tour”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I booked this trip only ten days prior to our arrival and Catherine was most gracious to arrange for Marjolaine to be available for the day. I requested to visit specific sites and was offered an itinerary that met our every need. Marjolaine arrived early at our Marseille hotel and our party of three was transported via a very comfortable van first to Les Baux de Provence. Enroute we were entertained to historical facts of the region and the visual beauty of Provence. In excellent English Marjolaine pointed out and explained the highlights of this mountaintop village. We then visited a nearby family owned olive plantation and toured the extensive processing facility, finishing with tasting and purchasing various delicious olive oils. We then moved on to nearby Arles where we walked along the Rhone River, entered the walled town and visited the Roman Arena amphitheater, Forum Square, the beautiful St.Trophime Romanesque entrance and the Van Gogh walking tour. After lunch at a local cafe we were offered time to shop at our leisure. We then drove to the ancient and massive Roman aqueduct Le Pont du Gard, which has to be the most well preserved of all Roman antiquities. We began our return journey with a drive through central Avignon where we viewed from the car the Pope's Palace and the Pont St. Benezet. All of these wonderful sites would not have been possible to see with a larger group in one day. We moved quickly and efficiently from site to site and the trip took ten hours; we truly covered a lot of ground. Marjolaine was a fantastic guide and extremely knowledgable about history, geography, Provence cuisine, and of course Vincent Van Gogh. This day was a most memorable FiveStar experience and and I highly recommend Catherine, Marjolaine and their tour company for any tour around Provence.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank PhilCook20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tour Designer in Provence Private Tours also viewed

Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Tour Designer in Provence Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing