We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
Review of Hotel du Globe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Globe
Ranked #9 of 68 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for one night only but it definately ticked all the boxes. Great friendly staff, efficient & very helpful. Great location in city, close to many restaurants & car hire. Room had lovely feel about it & a decent deck, breakie was a good continental,@ cheap. Would definitely go back & stay longer!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DGtravels8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    299
    66
    18
    4
See reviews for
66
259
43
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This was our fourth visit and once again, we were delighted with the whole experience. On the previous occasion, the hotel's highly impressive directrice, Mme Chevalier and her staff expedited the return of my my lost suitcase, arranged a doctor's appointment for me and several other things - brilliant service. There were no dramas this time and we enjoyed a wonderful, relaxing stay. Our top-floor double room was spacious and we appreciated the huge built-in wardrobe complete with hangers. The room was spotlessly clean, air-conditioned and had a balcony equipped with two chairs and a table. For a view over the city to the Mont Sainte-Victoire, the roof terrace above is fabulous. There are any number of well-reviwed restaurants within a short walk of the hotel - another plus. Hotel rates are very reasonable. Once again, I have no hesitation in recommending the Hotel du Globe. It feels like a real home from home for us and we're already looking forward to the next time.

Room Tip: Top floor for balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterCM7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We used this hotel as a base for visiting a number of places in Provence and our room was fine for this purpose. The room was clean, comfortable and air conditioned. While the bathroom was a decent size the shower was so tiny it was difficult to use. The only toiletries supplied were two small bars of soap and a pack of there tissues, and nothing was replaced during our 4 day stay.

The staff were generally very friendly and helpful, and there is a lovely rooftop terrace, perfect place for a drink (the staff will loan a corkscrew and wine glasses) with fantastic views of the sunset over Aix - this is a highlight of the hotel.

The hotel is located within easy walking distance of the old town of Aix. We booked the on site parking garage, which is really only suitable for compact cars and a bit of a pain to get in and out of, but handy to have.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MindiD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This a nice place to stay in order to visit Aix en Provence. The hotel is conveniently located a few minutes walks from all the sights, bars and restaurants of old Aix.
The staff is very helpful and there is a garage for your car but you need to book for it because the space is limited and it is not free of charge. But it's very convenient if you come by car because parking outside in the area is very complicated..
There is a pleasant roof garden where you can watch the sunset, the old roofs of Aix and the Montagne Sainte Victoire in the background.
The rooms are clean, refurbished with all facilities but a bit tiny and you've got WiFi.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patrick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed for a week in June and had a very pleasant stay.The staff were very friendly and helpful and the room was a decent size(we had a balcony which was nice).The highlight was the rooftop terrace which gives you a fantastic view of Aix and some lovely sunsets.
The hotel itself is in an ideal location both for exploring the old town and getting to the main bus station(if you arrive by T.G.V this is where you will get off the shuttle bus).
All in all a good quality reasonably priced hotel .The only small niggle was the size of the shower which was small( although powerful and hot.).I would recommend this hotel to fellow travellers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisabon733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is an excellent hotel providing great value for money situated on the edge of the old town. The roof terrace is lovely and the staff are extremely friendly, efficient and helpful. It's ideal for couples but I think would be very family friendly too.

The hotel has recently been renovated throughout and is clean and air conditioned. It's on a main road that's really just a tree-lined one-way street and I never found noise to be a problem at all - in fact, the hotel's location is very handy for using public transport, if you plan travelling out to Marseilles or any of the nearby villages. A short wander to some lovely restaurants, cafés and shops. Highly recommended!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank jonbim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
85 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We just returned from a 2-nights stay in this hotel. I booked it based on all the positive Tripadvisor reviews and the word seems to have gotten around since all that was still left was a three-beds room!

The hotel is very conveniently located close to the center of Aix-en-Provence with all its shops and restaurants. It is a ca. 15 minutes walk from the station. The rooms are basic, but light and airy and very clean. The bed was comfortable, the windows soundproof, the shutters close electrically, the AC very quiet and I haven't had such a good sleep in a hotel in a long time! The bathroom has a tub with a hand shower.

Very friendly staff, from the receptionists to the cleaning ladies.

The breakfast buffet contained Muesli, fruit salad, juices, hard boiled eggs, cheese, croissants, baguette etc. and costs € 8,95. You can either have it in the breakfast room or take it upstairs to the roof garden with a lovely view over Aix-en-Provence.

We were very happy with our stay and I can fully recommend this small hotel.

Only two things to be aware of:

1. we came by car and the hotel garage was already full (had only one place left for a SMALL car). We had to look for public parking for 2 days and 2 nights which was quite an ordeal, not to mention the cost!

2. Nowhere in our room could I find a plug except under the desk which was quite inconvenient.

I

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hirondelle11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cezanne
Hotel Cezanne
#6 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hotel
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hote...
#4 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
#8 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Concorde
Hotel Le Concorde
#13 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de France
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de Fr...
#2 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aquabella Hotel
Aquabella Hotel
#11 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Globe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Globe

Property: Hotel du Globe
Address: 74 cours Sextius, 13100, Aix-en-Provence, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 68 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Globe 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Hotel du Globe Aix en Provence est situe en plein centre ville, a quelques pas du vieil Aix, de la fontaine Rotonde et du Cours Mirabeau. Present dans l'hotellerie Aixoise depuis 1970, l'Hotel du Globe 2* propose 46 chambres dans une ambiance chaleureuse. Service petit dejeuner continental buffet, reception 24h/24h, wifi gratuit, garage sur reservation. Un toit-terrasse est a disposition, offrant une vue panoramique sur la Montagne Saint-Victoire et les toits d'Aix en Provence. L'Hotel du Globe est un lieu de sejour ideal pour visiter notre cite mais aussi la Provence et ses villages pittoresques. Votre voyage commence ici.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel du Globe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Globe Hotel
Du Globe Aix En Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing