We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chateau de la Pioline
Ranked #18 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Certificate of Excellence
NY
1 review
“Very Pleasant!”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

As i tend to travel a lot, i did stayed at this hotel previously and so was told change of ownership, and so decided to go and check for myself. New management seems to know their business well.
Staff was very attentive to our demands. In the end i would go back as i come in the aera quite often. Sincerely from NYer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frenchy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    72
    29
    22
    8
See reviews for
42
114
8
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

If you are travelling around France for three weeks (as we were) and dont own one of those enormous "yachts" in Antibes harbor (as we dont), you simply cant afford to stay in 5 star hotels every night! You must however spend at least one night here!
This was the first overnight stop after we picked up our car from Nice airport so we weren't confident about driving to the center of Aix so we took the number 20 bus in and back - just make sure you check where to pick it up for the return journey as there was a lot of work going on when we were there and bus stops were being improvised.
The staff at Pioline were ALL superb and nothing was too much trouble. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal and our stay and although I think Arles has more to offer than Aix for a visit, I would definetly stay here again if I got the chance. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willem F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Level Contributor
91 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

The pictures and the prices led us to this delightful looking Chateau outside of Aix en Provence, but the location would not lead us back again. The warning of being in an industrial area was shrugged off by my bride and me but, when on the first night, the alarms from someone trying to break into the auto dealership adjacent to our room brought us back to reality. Whilst our room was large (as well as the bath) and quite modern, unless you had a car, as we did, you had nowhere nearby to roam for different meals or sight seeing. In fact, a stroll of the grounds revealed a fetid swamp next to a river(?) at the opposite end of the entry drive. Walking down the highway was too dangerous (as we tried to go to the shopping center a mile away). The staff was very courteous. The meals were a bit too pricey for a so-so meal. Without a car, you have no where to go.

Room Tip: Overlooking the rear gardens or on the side away from the dealership next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SrTravelerTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

So happy that we didn't!! This gem is tucked away. Don't let the streets before fool you, this chateau is amazing. Peaceful, beautiful,with an accommodating and welcoming staff. Spend some time with some local wine and cheese on the back patio. Loved it. Special thanks to Nicole for taking care of us and our dear friends.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colleenbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

A beautiful place in the wrong location (in an industrial area). It could be perfect if it would be closer to Aix. If you don’t mind to drive 15 minutes to Aix parking to visit the city then it’s well recommended. The rooms are very comfortable and large. Very comfortable beds. The hotel is very quiet and comfortable. Nice pool. The staff is very friendly and the prices are reasonable. Breakfast is very good with many choices (for a French hotel).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JF8150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Spend 3 nights here and enjoyed our stay. It is like what everyone says about Chateau Pioline - beautiful, tastefully modernized chateau yet able to keep its soul and character... Beautiful garden and grounds... You do need a car to get around. Beautiful estate hidden in a commercial area - beside Decathlon and some sort of car service shop ???... can find the place with a good GPS. Need to watch out for Hotel Entrance Sign - Main Entrance Gate a bit hidden but once you get into the property, you are greeted with row of beautiful trees both sides of the path (a complete changed from what you have just seen and felt before you drove into the compound) leading you to a nice pleasant surprise of the warm welcome sight of the Chateau and its beautiful Fountain. Staff were very friendly and helpful. They can do with more additional staffs. The existing Staffs are multi-task as well as do cross-functional work and you can see they do their best attending to everyone's need. No designated concierge to help bring your luggages up the stairs (no elevator) so the Front Desk staff act as the Concierge to bring your luggages up & down your room; will not be surprise if they are short staff too in House Keeping - my laundry did not come as promised, I have to call a few times to asked for them and then later too to discovered that one piece is missing (got to know the where about my missing piece only 3 days after checked out after a few follow up call my yours truly). Dinner at the Chateau was disappointing especially if it got Michelin rated and is in the Michelin guide. My Entrecote Steak was over cooked (was medium to well done instead of Medium Rare ) for both the first and their second try. The sauce that came with the steak was too inventive/creative -weird flavor for my liking that it does not taste good but itself and not at all complimentary to the steak either. Only thing I enjoyed was their Dessert - we have Coffee Gourmand and the apple Tart. Both were beautifully decorated and taste and texture are equally good. Over all experience in the Chateau is pretty good. I would stay here again given the choice. If you are looking for a nice peaceful and quiet place - Chateau Pioline would be a good place to stay at in Aix En Provence.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We enjoyed a magical weekend in Chateau de La Pioline at the end of the summer. It is the perfect place to relax and enjoy the beautiful Provencal surroundings. The attention to detail, the room, the staff and food are all exceptional. We would particularly recommend the Sunday brunch. Dan and Fran Caunt, Cardiff

Room Tip: The rooms within the Chateau and the garden rooms are all fantastic. However, we would favour the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de France
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de Fr...
#3 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
575 reviews
2.0 mi away
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hotel
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hote...
#4 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
807 reviews
2.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Provence Centre - MGallery By Sofitel
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Prov...
#8 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Villa Gallici
Villa Gallici
#2 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
410 reviews
3.0 mi away
Le Mas d'Entremont
Le Mas d'Entremont
#16 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
196 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Cezanne
Hotel Cezanne
#6 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de la Pioline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de la Pioline

Property: Chateau de la Pioline
Address: 260 rue Guillaume du Vair, 13546, Aix-en-Provence, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
#2 Business Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
#12 Luxury Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau de la Pioline 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Impressive 16th Century Chateau, a 2-story, U-shaped mansion with yellow plaster exterior & tile roof. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Chateau de la Pioline reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De La Pioline Hotel Aix-En-Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing