We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh I Wish I Were in Aix”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chateau de la Pioline
Ranked #19 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 22, 2013

The pictures and the prices led us to this delightful looking Chateau outside of Aix en Provence, but the location would not lead us back again. The warning of being in an industrial area was shrugged off by my bride and me but, when on the first night, the alarms from someone trying to break into the auto dealership adjacent to our room brought us back to reality. Whilst our room was large (as well as the bath) and quite modern, unless you had a car, as we did, you had nowhere nearby to roam for different meals or sight seeing. In fact, a stroll of the grounds revealed a fetid swamp next to a river(?) at the opposite end of the entry drive. Walking down the highway was too dangerous (as we tried to go to the shopping center a mile away). The staff was very courteous. The meals were a bit too pricey for a so-so meal. Without a car, you have no where to go.

Room Tip: Overlooking the rear gardens or on the side away from the dealership next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SrTravelerTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (288)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 288 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2013

So happy that we didn't!! This gem is tucked away. Don't let the streets before fool you, this chateau is amazing. Peaceful, beautiful,with an accommodating and welcoming staff. Spend some time with some local wine and cheese on the back patio. Loved it. Special thanks to Nicole for taking care of us and our dear friends.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colleenbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

A beautiful place in the wrong location (in an industrial area). It could be perfect if it would be closer to Aix. If you don’t mind to drive 15 minutes to Aix parking to visit the city then it’s well recommended. The rooms are very comfortable and large. Very comfortable beds. The hotel is very quiet and comfortable. Nice pool. The staff is very friendly and the prices are reasonable. Breakfast is very good with many choices (for a French hotel).

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JF8150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Spend 3 nights here and enjoyed our stay. It is like what everyone says about Chateau Pioline - beautiful, tastefully modernized chateau yet able to keep its soul and character... Beautiful garden and grounds... You do need a car to get around. Beautiful estate hidden in a commercial area - beside Decathlon and some sort of car service shop ???... can find the place with a good GPS. Need to watch out for Hotel Entrance Sign - Main Entrance Gate a bit hidden but once you get into the property, you are greeted with row of beautiful trees both sides of the path (a complete changed from what you have just seen and felt before you drove into the compound) leading you to a nice pleasant surprise of the warm welcome sight of the Chateau and its beautiful Fountain. Staff were very friendly and helpful. They can do with more additional staffs. The existing Staffs are multi-task as well as do cross-functional work and you can see they do their best attending to everyone's need. No designated concierge to help bring your luggages up the stairs (no elevator) so the Front Desk staff act as the Concierge to bring your luggages up & down your room; will not be surprise if they are short staff too in House Keeping - my laundry did not come as promised, I have to call a few times to asked for them and then later too to discovered that one piece is missing (got to know the where about my missing piece only 3 days after checked out after a few follow up call my yours truly). Dinner at the Chateau was disappointing especially if it got Michelin rated and is in the Michelin guide. My Entrecote Steak was over cooked (was medium to well done instead of Medium Rare ) for both the first and their second try. The sauce that came with the steak was too inventive/creative -weird flavor for my liking that it does not taste good but itself and not at all complimentary to the steak either. Only thing I enjoyed was their Dessert - we have Coffee Gourmand and the apple Tart. Both were beautifully decorated and taste and texture are equally good. Over all experience in the Chateau is pretty good. I would stay here again given the choice. If you are looking for a nice peaceful and quiet place - Chateau Pioline would be a good place to stay at in Aix En Provence.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cherie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We enjoyed a magical weekend in Chateau de La Pioline at the end of the summer. It is the perfect place to relax and enjoy the beautiful Provencal surroundings. The attention to detail, the room, the staff and food are all exceptional. We would particularly recommend the Sunday brunch. Dan and Fran Caunt, Cardiff

Room Tip: The rooms within the Chateau and the garden rooms are all fantastic. However, we would favour the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Very unique place - an old modernized chateau. close to main roads and attractions (of-course, you must have a car with you. no parking problems at the hotel). very good brakefast.
Tip about the rooms: we have stayed both at rooms inside the chateau and at the outside (with small garden). i think that, at summer and with children - take the outside. at winter or as a couple - take the inside.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank udias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We spent 4 nights at Chateau de la Pioline recently and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I wish I could time travel as it would have been amazing to see this building change through the centuries.

The location is most unusual, but bear in mind that the land surrounding the Chateau was once upon a time open space but like most cities in Europe, the urban sprawl eventually takes over. Don't be put off by the shopping district, turn into the shady tree lined avenue and you will be pleasantly surprised at what awaits you.

We stayed in a Superior room in the actual Chateau. Our room overlooked the back garden, with its beautiful trees, a water feature and the outdoor dining area. We weren't aware that they had live music on Saturday evening so unfortunately we missed out on what looked like a fabulous ambiance at dinner. Instead we dined in Aix at a divine Moroccan restaruant called Riad.

Our room at the chateau was very spacious, the bed was very comfortable and the linen excellent quality.

All the staff who we met were very friendly and helpful, we so enjoyed their comments and humour.

Breakfast was a little disappointing, but it was very busy and other guests were quite demanding which divered the staffs attention somewhat. I mentioned this to the hotel manager and she was most greatful for our feedback.

There is a lovely "Paul" (Patisserie) just down the road which we visited daily for our fresh baguettes, coffee, Quiche Lorraine, Choco-croissants, etc.

I highly recommend using Sat Nav when travelling around Aix as there are so many one way streets in the city. The Chateau is not that far out of town, so don't be put off by the distance from town itself.

Make sure you visit Lac St Croix if you are going to this area - it is beautiful!

Room Tip: Super room facing the back garden is my recommendation
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JLBB-K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de France
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de Fr...
#3 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
644 reviews
2.5 mi away
Aquabella Hotel
Aquabella Hotel
#15 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
1,144 reviews
2.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Provence Centre - MGallery By Sofitel
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Prov...
#6 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
La Maison d'Aix
La Maison d'Aix
#1 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
715 reviews
2.9 mi away
Villa Gallici
Villa Gallici
#2 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
446 reviews
4.9 mi away
Les Lodges Sainte Victoire
Les Lodges Sainte Victoire
#1 of 1 in Le Tholonet
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de la Pioline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de la Pioline

Address: 260 rue Guillaume du Vair, 13546, Aix-en-Provence, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
#2 Romantic Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
#12 Luxury Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range: $144 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau de la Pioline 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Impressive 16th Century Chateau, a 2-story, U-shaped mansion with yellow plaster exterior & tile roof. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Chateau de la Pioline reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De La Pioline Hotel Aix-En-Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing