We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with excellent location”
Review of Aquabella Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aquabella Hotel
Ranked #15 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Reviewed August 5, 2009

Stayed here for 3 nights and could not be happier. The hotel was excellently located for the old part of Aix with the restaurants only a 5 minute walk away (however don't be afraid to leave the main squares as the restaurants we found by chance were much nicer and better value for money). The room was large, clean and well equipped. The pool facilities were also excellent particulary the poolside bar service! Anyone who complains about the rooms/spa should really have read what they were booking. I would rate this the best 3* hotel I have stayed in.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kv_wood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

438 - 444 of 1,144 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2009

The best things about this hotel would have to be the huge outdoor pool, the spa, sauna, hammam, and gym. We spent our mornings lying around the pool and would then head out to explore the town in the afternoons. The hotel is great if that's what you're looking to do.

The hotel is located close to restaurants, cafes, shops as well as the main sites.

Unfortunately the rooms are not up to standard. They are dated and the bathroom was dirty and had a lot of mould. They need to be completed renovated.

While it was nice to have lunch by the pool in the hotel restaurant, the food wasn't very good and not worth the high prices.

Thankfully we didn't spend a lot of time in the room so would still recommend this place if visiting in the summer.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank destinationeu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2009

We were sent here by the Tourist Office in Aix, and they got us a good deal on the price, which was about 30% less than the rack rate in order to fill the rooms at the last minute. We spent one wonderful day in Aix en route to Italy, and we found the Aquabella was a perfect base for exploring Aix, being central but having secure parking close by. As we had four weeks' worth of luggage in our car, this was important.
As we had such a good price, neither parking nor breakfast were included. Parking cost €10 overnight (payable at the hotel), good value, although our car is large and the corner is tight. It's manageable, though. We thought breakfast at €17 each expensive, so when we went to the Picasso / Cezanne exhibition the following morning we stopped for breakfast on the way. 'Pan bagnat' is not what the French order for breakfast, but it was a magnificent, delicious start to the day and only cost €3.50.
It was good to have a safe in the room, and I particularly liked that the toilet was separate from the bathroom. The bath was really big, and a welcome change from the ubiquitous showers in France and Italy. It was wonderful to stay in the city itself, and walking round that evening we found music in the streets and restaurants-a-plenty. In the morning on the way to and from the exhibition we passed through the wonderful street market. We will return to Aix, and probably to the Aquabella, it's really better than 3 stars.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ms_Moggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2009

Pros about hotel:
- it's located in pretty good location
- the room was clean
- the hotel staff was friendly and helpful
- there is a safe box available in the room
- the room is quite big
- free internet available in the business center, but there is only 1 PC available

Cons about hotel:
- the bed sheets are not changed during your stay
- sometimes extra soap was not provided for the second guest
- there is no wifi in the room
- the room key cards had sometimes problems and I could not enter the room, even though I did not check out from the room

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garry_to
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2009

We stayed at the "Aquabella Hotel" for one night at the end of June in order to help our daughter to move out of her student's residence. This wasn't our first choice, but our favorite hotel in Aix-en-Provence was already booked out.

The Aquabella-Hotel is a fairly modern hotel centrally located in the heart of Aix-en-Provence. When we got there, we had to discover that the parking garage was unfortunately full, but we were allowed to park in front of the hotel which was usually reserved for cars to drop of guests and luggage.

The room was perfect - nothing to complain about. It was spotlessly clean, the airconditioning was very quiet and the bed comfortable. The breakfast was included in our rate and it was a choice of breads, cold meats, cheese, bacon and scrambled eggs, cakes etc.; quite extensive for a French hotel and we had it "al fresco" on the terrace in the sunshine.

We would definitely choose this hotel again for its location and for the clean and comfortable rooms. We had dinner at their restaurant "L'Orangerie". We sat outside in the garden, but unfortunately a bit too close to the band playing that night. The band was so loud that we couldn't keep up a conversation. However, the food was really good, but also quite expensive and the service was slow. It somehow spoils the whole evening for me if I have to ask several times for the bill and have to wait and wait until I can finally pay.....

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hirondelle11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2009

We stayed here based on the pool alone and were not disappointed. The pool is big with beautiful surroundings and a friendly waitress. The rooms were nice and spacious with a balcony overlooking Aix. Location is good and very close to everything. If you're driving, the parking lot does have a VERY tight turn, but it's complimentary with security cameras...can't beat it! Definitely shop around for prices...it's worth it!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizSTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2009

The reviews say it all. Lovely hotel, great location and can be great value if you shop around the agencies. A couple of minor niggles - the aircon (third floor room) was pretty feeble and beware of the ridiculously tight corners in the car park!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank src1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Provence Centre - MGallery By Sofitel
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Prov...
#6 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
912 reviews
0.5 mi away
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hotel
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hote...
#4 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
898 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Maison d'Aix
La Maison d'Aix
#1 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
#5 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
666 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de France
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de Fr...
#3 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
644 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cezanne
Hotel Cezanne
#7 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquabella Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquabella Hotel

Address: 2 rue des Etuves, 13100, Aix-en-Provence, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
#8 Romantic Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
#10 Luxury Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range: $137 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquabella Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Aix en Provence, surrounded by a magnificent Mediterranean garden, you will find the Aquabella Hotel. With 108 comfortable rooms. Our charming hotel, open 24/7 all year round, promises you a unique stay where everything is done with you in mind... Let go and emerge yourself in the serene, contemporary surroundings, taking advantage of the Sensory Spa and heated outdoor pool (open from May to September, weather-dependent). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aquabella Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquabella Hotel Aix En Provence
Aquabella Aix En Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing