We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large and modern”
Review of Aquabella Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aquabella Hotel
Ranked #14 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed four nights in this large, modern hotel. Our room was comfortable and quite spacious although the bathroom will need redecorating soon. The breakfast was very generous and interesting. The hotel obviously features on itineraries for coach holidays where large groups stay one night only. This is a shame, because the pool and the gardens are well-maintained and beautiful, a mediaeval tower built into the structure. Although the hotel is a very short walk from one of the main squares, there is a culture shock between the ancient and decrepit streets and the huge modern structure of the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shandy526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 1,181 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2013

We spend 5 nights here. Room 429 with a balcony has a wonderful view of the old city and the mountains. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The front desk is helpful. The pool is large with plenty of lounge chairs. The breakfast has a good variety.The location is great, quiet and close to everything.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeff m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

this is our second visit to the hotel in recent years and we were glad we chose the Aquabella again The hotel was clean and the room spacious with separate bathroom and toilet, although the aircon was not terribly effective. However the beds were comfortable and there was decent storage space. There was no noise from outside, although early guests did disturb us on one occasion.The garden was beautiful and my wife enjoyed her swims in the heated pool. The outside bar for the first half of our stay was very pleasant.
All the staff were friendly and helpful, but I must mention Sonia and her "trainee" ,Kevin, on the bar who were especially worthy of praise and went out off their way to be helpful.
The breakfast was included in our deal and although I could moan about the cold coffee and
synthetic scrambled egg, actually the choice was very wide and the overall quality good. We certainly got a lot more than croissants, I suppose you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eurotrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Our experience at the Aquabella was mixed. We’ve stayed here before a couple of years ago and it was nice; now it is less so.

The staff are fairly helpful, but not particularly efficient and not good at dealing with anything out of the ordinary (the chambermaids were the exception, helpful and cheery, though obviously overworked).

The hotel itself is getting a bit tired and in need of renovation. There are also distinct symptoms of ‘penny-pinching’ and corner-cutting. Examples: one lift was broken for more than 2 days. Hot water system failed 3 times during our stay (staff were not particularly apologetic and offered no compensation), slow wifi, pool area not as clean as it might be (particularly drains around the pool edge which were full of algae, broken sun-beds), door lock systems temperamental, credit card authorisations slow or impossible (due, I understand, to a poor internet connection – their inability to authorise my card – which worked everywhere else before and after – cost me about £50 in commission charges!), air-conditioning not effective, over-worked service staff, etc., etc.

On the positive side, the room was clean, though basic.

The hotel is in a decent location, but it’s an expensive place (especially breakfast if it isn't part of your deal): think carefully before staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dr_Bob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Once you negotiate the narrow streets and locals-only streets you end up on a boulevard with signposts for the hotel and it is easy to find. For car drivers a garage with a special rate for guests is very close by. The location is perfect being in Vieux Aix (the old town) and only a stone's throw from the magnificient cathedral. A short walk down a few cobbled streets takes you to two areas full of restaurants and bars and from there you'll find more and more until you reach the bustling Cours Mirabeau. The hotel is modern, although the remains of a medieveal tower from the old city walls stands at one end of the swimming pool. So you'll get convenience but not Provencal charm. Our room overlooked the swimming pool and was quiet. It was large and the bed was monstrous - 6ft! Discovering a hotel in the centre of town with a swimming pool was a real find and we used it as much as we could. The water was the warmest I have ever experienced in an open-air pool, so cosy a swim before breakfast was a must! Then after a hard day pounding the streets and galleries it was bliss to sink into its waters to ease aching feet. Early evening and after dinner, it was lovely to sit in the bar beside the pool to sip an aperatif or post prandial drink. The only drawback to our lovely stay was breakfast. On our first morning we decided to spend the extortionate 16 euros each on breakfast as we didn't know if there were any nearby cafes. The food was plentiful but, considering how many British people who stay, there was no boiling water for a cup of tea, no teaspoons and no milk jug. One guest was told to put the milk into a teapot. I had already solved the problem and used an expresso coffee cup - not ideal of course. Naturally that day we found a cafe round the corner for breakfast on our second day. It was pleasant, they went out and bought croissants for us and it cost a total of 8 euros! So yes, I'd return, but will breafast in a cafe.

Room Tip: Select a pool room. Don't waste money on a balcony room as they look tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The property is very nice with helpful staff members. The hotel was busy, with business travelers and tourists alike. They say they have 110 rooms, and I think the hotel was sold out when we were there, but then, we were there during the opera Festival season, when most hotels are booked. I was travelling with my mother (70 yrs old) and we got a room with 2 beds. The beds were comfortable, and the bathroom was clean with nice towels, bathrobes and slippers. Good closets with ample space. We didn't get breakfast here, because it was easy enough to walk down a few streets to a café or small store for what we needed. We did get room service on our first night in town - we had an exhausting day! The menu selections were fine, and the service was quick. We didn't have time to try the spa facilities, or the pool. We had a nice view of a side street and the view beyond from the room. The room and area was really very quiet. We never heard other hotel patrons or street noise.
About the location - if approaching from the center of town, you will find yourself going uphill. This would have been okay for me, but it was not for my mom. She was having knee issues, and hauling her luggage while going uphill was just too much. We ended up getting a cab there from the Font de la Rotonde in the Place de Liberation. We also opted for a cab to the bus station from the hotel each morning - the bus took us to the train station. And now, as for the location of Aix itself - the city is not a short walk from the train station - not in the least. The train station is in the middle of nowhere - arid fields with a big parking lot. From the train station, you take a bus into town and from that bus station, you could get a cab to the hotel (or anywhere else in town, if needed). I'd say the train is a good 15 - 20 minutes out of town by bus. If you are visiting Provence, renting a car would likely be more convenient. Also, I wouldn't have noticed, but because my mom was having knee issues, it became quite apparent how hilly Aix really is!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank corsagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

What an odd experience. They must have hired Herb Ritz to do the photo shoot of the hotel because the hotel in person actually looks like a bad Marriott. Notice they only show photos of the pool, which in person is noisy and kind of creepy. Everyone is instructed to walk around the pool areas and outdoor restaurant in the bathrobes they provide. Like a weird bathhouse. There are no towels to be found near the pool, and we were instructed by the spa to go back up to our room to bring the two flimsy ones from our bathroom. There we discovered dark hairs interwoven in the towels and matching hairs in the tub. After finally getting new towels and going back down to the pool, despite assurances, the towels from our room were not replenished all day and we had to call an wait for towels in the morning. Only one elevator was working while we were there and we often opted for the steps from the top floor to avoid the long wait. To end this review on a positive note, the hotel is in a good location at the edge of the old town and walking distance to everything.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank HotelDivas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de France
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de Fr...
#2 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
688 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Provence Centre - MGallery By Sofitel
0.5 mi away
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hotel
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hote...
#4 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Maison d'Aix
La Maison d'Aix
#1 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
786 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
#6 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
697 reviews
0.5 mi away
Boutique Hotel Cezanne
Boutique Hotel Cezanne
#8 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquabella Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquabella Hotel

Address: 2 rue des Etuves, 13100, Aix-en-Provence, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
#8 Romantic Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
#9 Luxury Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range: $151 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquabella Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Aix en Provence, surrounded by a magnificent Mediterranean garden, you will find the Aquabella Hotel. With 108 comfortable rooms. Our charming hotel, open 24/7 all year round, promises you a unique stay where everything is done with you in mind... Let go and emerge yourself in the serene, contemporary surroundings, taking advantage of the Sensory Spa and heated outdoor pool (open from May to September, weather-dependent). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Aquabella Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquabella Hotel Aix En Provence
Aquabella Aix En Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing