We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I can't believe this average hotel is in Tripadvisor's Top 10 for Aix!”
Review of Aquabella Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Aquabella Hotel
Ranked #13 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Berlin, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“I can't believe this average hotel is in Tripadvisor's Top 10 for Aix!”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Let me first tell you that this hotel is not a bad choice - but it is totally average, there is NOTHING to rave about. I can't believe it is in the Top 10 for Aix! The rooms are plain and a little bit depressing, the service is so-so, the breakfast buffet was nothing to write home about. Everything is of a good motel standard, but nothing more. Everything about this hotel is AVERAGE.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Three_Swords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    488
    192
    63
    22
See reviews for
119
610
28
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Staying at this hotel was a frustrating experience. First of all, there was misinformation about where to park. The hotel said that they had a parking lot but they actually do not. There is a lot nearby that they have an agreement with. I found out later that the hotel charges the customer a discounted rate to use this special lot. This should have been clarified but was not until after I had checked in and parked and paid elsewhere. It was frustrating when the concierge tried to charge me for using their special lot down the street but I had already explained that my car was further away at a public lot! I did not think that the front desk staff were particularly helpful. The rooms were average and acceptable. The location was convenient for exploring the city on foot. I think that this hotel is not a very good value however and next time I'm here I'll likely stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAGirl411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

This hotel is hard to reach from the train station- that is the first thing to know. On the website, they make it seem like walking is a feasible choice- but it is NOT! I am a New Yorker, used to walking and physically fit, and I walked to get there- and it was madness. When I pointed this fact out to the front desk lady at check-in, she was just kind of rude. I asked about how I could get back to the train station at the end of my stay, and she said it is about a 50 EUR cab ride one way. So please factor this into your costs. I was also not at all impressed with the room- the bathrooms are often- reminded me of college dorm bathrooms. The bed was ok- not particularly nice. I also thought the spa was a bit of a sham- apparently the pool cannot be used by guests in the winter, and really all that was usable was a steamroom. The restaurant dinner was good- I got room service once and it was awful. I woud probably not stay here again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Dragonlady15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

This hotel is within short walking distance to the center of Aix, so it's away from the hustle and bustle, and therefore relaxing. Our room was quite large by European standards, as well as comfortable. There is a definite resorty vibe to this hotel, as evidenced by the robes & slippers that all guests wear around the premises.
I wouldn't recommend the buffet breakfast in the hotel's restaurant, but I strongly recommend having dinner in the restaurant.
The true highlight was the pool, and it's beautiful setting among Medieval (but Roman-looking) ruins. Although we traveled as a couple, this place is definitely family-friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

My family and I spent three nights and four days at the Aquabella. The hotel staff is professional and courteous, but clearly focused on producing revenue for the hotel. Every interaction with hotel involved an "invitation" to purchase additional amenities (including the very expensive "breakfast").

The rooms were clean and adequate, comparable to a room in a mid-level US hotel. The location of the hotel was quite good for exploring old city Aix. We also used the parking (7 euros per day) and did a day trip to the Mediterranean (only about an hour to Cassis).

We did take ample advantage of the free spa services and greatly enjoyed the steam rooms and sauna. The hot tub, however, was not hot so I suggest passing that up. Also, although robes and slippers were provided in the rooms for use in the spa, there were no extra towels provided (only two towels per day for a double room and no towels in the spa). Also, there was no place to adequately hang the robes to dry overnight so they were still damp the following evening.

All in all, the stay was acceptable for the price with some manageable reservations. We did a lot of walking in old city Aix and breakfast was easily available at close-by restaurants so I suggest that you don't bother with the expensive breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LVBackus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

The hotel is a little outside of the city center. But, the spa and pool made the stay there very nice. The hotel catered to business travelers and can be noisy if you aren't careful in your room selection.

Room Tip: Stay away from the back corner where the street bar is located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annecy, France
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Quite average hotel but with a newly renovated Spa. The rooms can be quite noisy during the night, so pick one which faces the garden. And not the ones in the end either (201, 202, 301, 302 etc.) But the real treat here is the lovely spa, which is free if you stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tartiflette0450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
0.5 mi away
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hotel
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hote...
#4 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
828 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Provence Centre - MGallery By Sofitel
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Prov...
#6 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
805 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de France
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de Fr...
#2 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
#7 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
641 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cezanne
Hotel Cezanne
#8 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
1,079 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Maison d'Aix
La Maison d'Aix
#1 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquabella Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquabella Hotel

Property: Aquabella Hotel
Address: 2 rue des Etuves, 13100, Aix-en-Provence, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
#8 Romantic Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
#9 Luxury Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquabella Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Aix en Provence, surrounded by a magnificent Mediterranean garden, you will find the Aquabella Hotel. With 108 comfortable rooms. Our charming hotel, open 24/7 all year round, promises you a unique stay where everything is done with you in mind... Let go and emerge yourself in the serene, contemporary surroundings, taking advantage of the Sensory Spa and heated outdoor pool (open from May to September, weather-dependent). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aquabella Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquabella Hotel Aix En Provence
Aquabella Aix En Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing