We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely quiet spot to enjoy the pleasures of Aix En Provence”
Review of Hotel Cardinal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Cardinal
Ranked #30 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2012

This hotel was recommended by others on Tripadvisor, so I went with it . And we were not disappointed. The hotel is quaint, clean, quiet ( a couple of blocks off the Cour Mirebeau, about 20 minutes from the Bus Station). We found our stay to be quite delightful. We chose to eat breakfast out a a couple of the small cafes close to the markets . Our room had a beautifully renovated bathroom that had a huge bathtub and a hand held shower. The conciege was extremely helpful both in giving us the code for the internet access ( 5 Euros a day) but also when we needed assistance after paying for the bus tickets from Aix to Nice ( somehow we were expected to print our reservations too , which of course we couldn't do , with no printer).

Room Tip: We had room 21 , which overlooked a courtyard. Lovely size for two
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank musicbizperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (247)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 247 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2012

I now live in Aix, but when I first moved here, there was a problem with my flat and, as it was August, all the hotels were booked. Hotel Cardinal bent over backwards to be helpful, to be accommodating, to be kind. That alone would have made me write a good review. I didn't expect that the rooms would also be quiet, comfortable and air-conditioned!
I now send everyone I can there and all the feedback I get is positive. Everybody says the same thing. It's like a home away from home....

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank earwiglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

The room was bigger than we expected, and the door was charmingly old-fashioned. Reception is open very late (until midnight?) even though the hotel is rather small. It's on a quiet side street, but not far from the interesting parts of the city. Breakfast was simple - coffee, juice, bread - but enjoyable. Staff was helpful in suggesting an area for dinner and things to see.
I don't really have anything negative to say about it. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

My husband and I returned two days ago from a vacation in France. Our daughter just completed a year of "Study Abroad" and we chose to stay a total of 6 nights at the hotel at both the beginning and end of our trip. We stayed all six nights in room 12 overlooking the front, narrow (yes, sometimes noisy) street. We left our windows open continuously, both day and night and had no trouble with insects of any type. We were awakened a few times by people on the street but there certainly was no freeway noise or traffic sounds. Yes, French showers are not familiar to Americans but we were there to embrace all things French and it was fantastic. The staff was friendly and patient with our bumbling attempts to communicate. I came home determined to improve my French language skills. We walked everywhere from the hotel, visited the markets, and ate wonderful fresh food. I would return to Aix and the Hotel Cardinal tomorrow if I could! This was a very French experience in a beautiful location! Thank you to all the staff.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Katharine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Quaint room, wonderful staff. But although we booked with air conditioning, and double checked, we were told that it would not be turned on for us on arrival. So we spent a dreadful night in a stuffy, hot room. We tried opening the windows, but then the mosquitos started biting us.

I still have one night to go here, but I'm going to have to check out alternatives in the morning. More precious vacation time lost.

I plan on checking with the tourism bureau regarding their refusal. This has put a real damper on what was otherwise a very enjoyable visit.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Cardinal, Responsable réception at Hotel Cardinal, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2012

Hello,
Indeed, you are right, air conditioning was not available at the time of your stay and we hereby would like to offer you our most sincere apologies regarding this matter.
Independently from our will, a malfunction in the system appeared a few days ago and we were obliged to set the whole system off. Technicians that installed the system have been warned and we are urging them to restore the service as soon as possible.
Unfortunately we couldn't warn all of our customers about it on time, and this is, we agree, as you said, our fault.
The employee who dealt with your problem couldn't simply turn it on as the system was disabled. We tried our best though to make your stay more comfortable by offering you 2 free breakfasts, and setting fans at your disposal... but Provence is Provence : early and unexpected warm weather came just on that day with 32°c (instead of 20-24°c usualy)...

We would like to thank you for your commentary that will help us to improve our services in order to prevent such situations in the future.
Whith again all our apologies. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Hotel Cardinal in Aix-en-Provence was a choice by pure chance as we had not planned to stay the night. We traveled in February. Fortunately this small but very comfortable hotel had two rooms and the experience was fantastic. It is situated in the old town in a little narrow cobbled side street. You could not go anywhere more picturesque and provencal. The hotel is overflowing with character and packed with beautiful antiques everywhere. The rooms are stylish with beautiful antique furniture and the view was on to the tiny cobbled streets. The owner of the hotel and the service were very attentive and helpful and the breakfast we had was delicious with the best croissants and baguette we had had on our tour through Provence. We can highly recommend this beautiful comfortable small hotel.

Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
4  Thank Evengalus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Stayed in the 75 euro rooms for 3 nights and the 115 euros room for one night. The latter changed my rating to 3 stars. Whilst the hotel is clean, spacious and of good location, the shower is horrid. Basically flooded the floor as there isn't curtain and the sink spurts out water that wets your shirt. You have to sit or kneel to shower with a water flow that so small you have to kneel forever. For people not living in France, the decor is charming but those used to classical decor may find it over the top. There were 5 paintings in our room. The other room that is so much more expensive is actually very reasonably priced (pictured). It has a kitchen, terrace, walk in wardrobe and funtional bathroom (no shower curtain but good taps). The heaters were all funtioning very well. Didn't take its breakfast as for 8euros, it's not a buffet but a tray of beverages and bread. There are many boulangeries within walking distance that offers better deals or at least you get to choose your pastries. Granet museum is just opposite from this buidling of the 115euros room.

Room Tip: If you can afford115euros, their new wing is deifntely much nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank foiegrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Augustins
Hotel des Augustins
#26 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
325 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Negrecoste
Hotel Negrecoste
#20 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
120 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Mozart Hotel
Le Mozart Hotel
#11 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Concorde
Hotel Le Concorde
#10 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
466 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Caravelle
Hotel La Caravelle
#22 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
240 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Quatre Dauphins
Hotel des Quatre Dauphins
#40 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cardinal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cardinal

Address: 24 rue Cardinale, 13100, Aix-en-Provence, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range: $97 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cardinal 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the heart of Aix, city of water, city of art. Here in the Mazarin Quarter, just a few steps from the Cours Mirabeau, the Church of Saint John of Malta, the Four Dolphins Fountain and the Place de la Rotonde, Provence enchants its visitors with its noble vintage homes !!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Cardinal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cardinal Hotel Aix En Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing