We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world beauty”
Review of Hotel Cardinal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Cardinal
Ranked #30 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We loved our stay here. Staff so helpful. Wifi available at a small cost. Rooms decorated with antiques. A little old and worn in some parts of the room, but clean and adds to the old world atmosphere. Lovely breakfast room and good breakfast. Extremely centrally located an easy walk to the main parts of the city. Small supermarket, sushi shop, fruit shop all nearby to buy provisions.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 2pollyanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 250 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2012

We loved this hotel. The rooms were perfect. Nice boutique hotel. Perfect location for exploring Aix. Had a great time. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tammy620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Wonderful location in Aix. Nice staff. Rooms are spartan by luxury hotel standards. No toiletries, for example, and linens and towels were only fair. But, for the price, this is a very good choice. The hotel responds well to email inquiries. We didn't use the kitchen, but it seemed well enough equipped to prepare breakfast and some simple food. That could be a real money saver. Note: some rooms may be airconditioned, but our suites on the third floor of the annex were not. This wasn't an issue for us, and the street noise from the open window wasn't a problem. But, later in the summer it might be an issue. Breakfast was pretty spartan, but fairly priced at 8euro. Sitting at a cafe on the Cours Mirabeau was more fun, and really about the same price. All told, this was just fine, but not anyone's idea of a fine hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jeff3545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

We stayed here one night. This is close to the bus station and close to everything in Aix. Our room was beautifully decorated with old elegant furniture and had a small marble fireplace in the room. There was a lovely bathtub and wi-fi available. Our room was on the street side and it was noisy the night we were there. One very nice thing about this place is there is an elevator. I think this is a very good value for Aix.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room on the back side if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lovey8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

This is a place with a very strong reputation run by people who know what they are doing. It has a great Provence atmosphere, and it is right in the middle of the old areas so you can walk everywhere (even to the bus station). The breakfast was served very nicely but I think you need more than croissants and beverage these days. The artwork is really good, done by a relative of one of the staff. All adds up to a very special experience at a reasonable cost.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Cardinal, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Cardinal, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2012

Hello, thank you very much for your kind comment.
We are glad to see that you felt the "athmosphere", as you say, we are trying to reflect. Indeed, breakfast seems light, too light. But that has allways been said about the typical french breakfast. It never has been the best breakfast in the world, that we well know. But this is part of the athmosphere as well fore it's the tradition here. You were eating a breakfast like people from here used to eat it for decades. We are a traditional place from A to Z (at least we try to be)... and so might our breakfast be. Of course you are right, and we should maybe start to think about modernizing it a bit ! Thank you for your help !
N.B : We still try to offer the best bread, the best croissants, marmelade, butter, coffee and tea possible, served on a silver plate with authentic old silver tea pots...
See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

The hands down favorite of my 6 budget hotel experiences was the Hotel Cardinal in Aix. Location was just a few minutes walking from the city center but not in the heart of the action which I preferred as there was no street noise to be heard. Rooms are elegantly appointed, with classic french decor and 12 ft ceilings in the room and bathroom that made the room feel spacious. Chandelier and beautiful courtyard and cathedral view made me feel like I had stepped in a time capsule. Front desk was so friendly and accommodating. Excellent overall value. I would definitely stay there my next time in Aix.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank etn949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Cardinal, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Cardinal, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2012

Hello, thank you so much ! We hope to welcome you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

My most recent visit was a second visit to this hotel for me. I was pleasantly surprised to see that the hotel was better than I remembered. It is clear that the owners have been diligently making upgrades to this elegant little hotel over the years. This is a great hotel if you are looking for clean and elegant accommodations, but not as concerned about dining/room service amenities.

We booked a room with a double bed for 75 euros per night. Wi-fi was available for an additional 5 euros per night and we definitely took advantage of this amenity. The hotel offers breakfast, but we didn't try it out. Too many other delicious options near by! The bedroom was larger than expected (with very high ceilings) and tastefully furnished. The location is great as others have mentioned in close proximity to many sites.

All in all, I will definitely return to this hotel on my next trip to Aix.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Wandering03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Cardinal, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Cardinal, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2012

Hello, thank you very much for your kind comment. We indeed work hard to maintain good quality, to upgrade every part of the hotel while keeping the traditional & historical feeling complete. Hope to see you again on your next visit to Aix !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Concorde
Hotel Le Concorde
#10 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
472 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Augustins
Hotel des Augustins
#24 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
327 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Mozart Hotel
Le Mozart Hotel
#11 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Negrecoste
Hotel Negrecoste
#19 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
125 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Globe
Hotel du Globe
#9 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
577 reviews
0.3 mi away
Boutique Hotel Cezanne
Boutique Hotel Cezanne
#7 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cardinal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cardinal

Address: 24 rue Cardinale, 13100, Aix-en-Provence, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range: $95 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cardinal 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the heart of Aix, city of water, city of art. Here in the Mazarin Quarter, just a few steps from the Cours Mirabeau, the Church of Saint John of Malta, the Four Dolphins Fountain and the Place de la Rotonde, Provence enchants its visitors with its noble vintage homes !!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Cardinal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cardinal Hotel Aix En Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing