We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pizza, lovely atmospheric little Italian restaurant.”
Review of Dal Gladiatore

Dal Gladiatore
Ranked #150 of 884 Restaurants in Aix-en-Provence
Price range: $21 - $34
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Our establishment (wi-fi free) is an italian Gastronomic Restaurant & Pizzeria. In september 2012 Italian Chamber of Commerce awarded our restaurant as the only "real italian restaurant" in Aix en Provence. Everything is home made by expert real italian cookers. We have many choices for all kind of tastes. Pasta, pizza, homemade fried food, seafood, desserts: so much know how behind...We fluently speak italian, french & english. You will keep an excellent memory of our dinner!
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We had a lovely family meal in this Italian restaurant while on holiday in the area. The host was very friendly and helpful and the pizzas were some of the best we've tasted.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MaryQ68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dal_Gladiatore, Propriétaire at Dal Gladiatore, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind review. We feel very happy to have conquered even irish tastes! We hope to see you again, best regards, Sandro GROSSI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,033)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 88 of 1,033 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

Just what you expect from an authentic Italian restaurant - superb food, great wines and very friendly atmosphere. Our age range was 6 to 69 as we celebrated a family birthday and we all had an amazing time. The service was impeccable. We can't wait to go again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MvR1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dal_Gladiatore, Propriétaire at Dal Gladiatore, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind feedback. My team and I are very proud of having let you such a good memory of your dinner. We hope to see you again, best regards, Sandro GROSSI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We had an excellent meal at the Dal Gladiatore in Aix-en-Provence. The celler downstairs makes for a lovely setting for a meal. We had Saltimbocca a la Romaine and Amalfi pizza and both were cooked perfectly. The prices are quite reasonable and this restaurant is open on Sundays! If you are looking for an authentic Italian meal at a restaurant that does not have pictures of food on their menu, this is the place to go to. It is a bit difficult to find as it is on a side street with laundromats, but it is near Cours Mirabeau. The owner was very friendly and moved here recently from Rome. He was very welcoming and was an excellent host. You will not be disappointed!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SammyTheFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dal_Gladiatore, Propriétaire at Dal Gladiatore, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind feedback. Me and my team are very proud that you kept such a beautiful memory of your dinner at our restaurant. I'm happy to know that you appreciated, especially because you already tasted the real italian kitchen in Italy so you had great expectations...I hope you'll be back soon, have a good trip back to the US, best regards, Sandro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I guess this is a decent pizzeria (most diners around us were there for a quick, no-frills pizza), but we were there for the gastronomic experience. We liked the replies of the owner to bad reviews, all variations on the 'you do not know authentic Italian gastronomy' defence (or offence), so we thought this would be THE place for a nice experience. Sadly, we were less than underwhelmed. The entrees were OK, but the main courses were quite tastless. My veal aux cèpes was drowned in a sauce that tasted as if he chef had used to much flower or even some wonderbinder make a sauce, rather than reduce the baking fat. The veal itself was without taste or structure, either cheap meat or good meat quickly defrozen in a microwave. The wine choice was rather limited, and the service clumsy, with the entrees arriving while we were still enjoying our starters. All in all a fairly dismal experience'

3  Thank Jaap-tav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dal_Gladiatore, Propriétaire at Dal Gladiatore, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

At my first impression, reading carefully your review and all details that you mention I guessed you were really competent in terms of cooking. When you mixed veal up with pig I quickly understood that I was wrong of course. Usually I reply at any point mentioned but in your case I will make an exception, you don’t deserve more than this. I can just say that we daily receive tons of customers coming from all over the world. All other foreigner customers appreciated indeed. We have been awarded by the italian chamber of commerce as the only real italian restaurant of Aix en Provence. I guess it’s enough to diplomatically define your review like a “curious” exception. Sandro GROSSI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

A pleasant dining experience and friendly host made for an enjoyable evening with authentic Italian food. The food is good and well priced. The atmosphere is warm - don't be scared when you walk in - the restaurant is down stairs and the kitchen and entry up stairs. It's a bit like eating in a cave, but the food is good. It can be busy as it is small so you may need to book..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BruceR58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dal_Gladiatore, Propriétaire at Dal Gladiatore, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Thank you very much for your kind words. We are very happy if we made you spend a pleasant evening. We feel proud to have conquered "australian tastes" once again :-). It looks like Australian customers love good food, especially when it's really italian! ;-) Thanks again for your trust, have a good trip back, kind regards, Sandro GROSSI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dal Gladiatore also viewed

Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Dal Gladiatore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing