We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!!!!”
Review of Dal Gladiatore

Dal Gladiatore
Ranked #73 of 853 Restaurants in Aix-en-Provence
Price range: $20 - $32
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Our establishment (wi-fi free) is an italian Gastronomic Restaurant & Pizzeria. In september 2012 Italian Chamber of Commerce awarded our restaurant as the only "real italian restaurant" in Aix en Provence. Everything is home made by expert real italian cookers. We have many choices for all kind of tastes. Pasta, pizza, homemade fried food, seafood, desserts: so much know how behind...We fluently speak italian, french & english. You will keep an excellent memory of our dinner!
1 review
“Brilliant!!!!”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Just what you expect from an authentic Italian restaurant - superb food, great wines and very friendly atmosphere. Our age range was 6 to 69 as we celebrated a family birthday and we all had an amazing time. The service was impeccable. We can't wait to go again!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MvR1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dal_Gladiatore, Propriétaire at Dal Gladiatore, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind feedback. My team and I are very proud of having let you such a good memory of your dinner. We hope to see you again, best regards, Sandro GROSSI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    493
    267
    93
    59
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon, USA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian meal, open on Sundays, worth the search!”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We had an excellent meal at the Dal Gladiatore in Aix-en-Provence. The celler downstairs makes for a lovely setting for a meal. We had Saltimbocca a la Romaine and Amalfi pizza and both were cooked perfectly. The prices are quite reasonable and this restaurant is open on Sundays! If you are looking for an authentic Italian meal at a restaurant that does not have pictures of food on their menu, this is the place to go to. It is a bit difficult to find as it is on a side street with laundromats, but it is near Cours Mirabeau. The owner was very friendly and moved here recently from Rome. He was very welcoming and was an excellent host. You will not be disappointed!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SammyTheFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dal_Gladiatore, Propriétaire at Dal Gladiatore, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind feedback. Me and my team are very proud that you kept such a beautiful memory of your dinner at our restaurant. I'm happy to know that you appreciated, especially because you already tasted the real italian kitchen in Italy so you had great expectations...I hope you'll be back soon, have a good trip back to the US, best regards, Sandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

I guess this is a decent pizzeria (most diners around us were there for a quick, no-frills pizza), but we were there for the gastronomic experience. We liked the replies of the owner to bad reviews, all variations on the 'you do not know authentic Italian gastronomy' defence (or offence), so we thought this would be THE place for a nice experience. Sadly, we were less than underwhelmed. The entrees were OK, but the main courses were quite tastless. My veal aux cèpes was drowned in a sauce that tasted as if he chef had used to much flower or even some wonderbinder make a sauce, rather than reduce the baking fat. The veal itself was without taste or structure, either cheap meat or good meat quickly defrozen in a microwave. The wine choice was rather limited, and the service clumsy, with the entrees arriving while we were still enjoying our starters. All in all a fairly dismal experience'

Helpful?
3 Thank Jaap-tav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dal_Gladiatore, Propriétaire at Dal Gladiatore, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
At my first impression, reading carefully your review and all details that you mention I guessed you were really competent in terms of cooking. When you mixed veal up with pig I quickly understood that I was wrong of course. Usually I reply at any point mentioned but in your case I will make an exception, you don’t deserve more than this. I can just say that we daily receive tons of customers coming from all over the world. All other foreigner customers appreciated indeed. We have been awarded by the italian chamber of commerce as the only real italian restaurant of Aix en Provence. I guess it’s enough to diplomatically define your review like a “curious” exception. Sandro GROSSI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice food, happy host”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

A pleasant dining experience and friendly host made for an enjoyable evening with authentic Italian food. The food is good and well priced. The atmosphere is warm - don't be scared when you walk in - the restaurant is down stairs and the kitchen and entry up stairs. It's a bit like eating in a cave, but the food is good. It can be busy as it is small so you may need to book..

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BruceR58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dal_Gladiatore, Propriétaire at Dal Gladiatore, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind words. We are very happy if we made you spend a pleasant evening. We feel proud to have conquered "australian tastes" once again :-). It looks like Australian customers love good food, especially when it's really italian! ;-) Thanks again for your trust, have a good trip back, kind regards, Sandro GROSSI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aix-en-Provence, France
2 reviews
“Perfetto Pizza Italiano”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We were very happy to find this amazing restaurant! The pizza is fantastic, and in my opinion is just as good if not better than the world champion Tony's Pizza Napoletana, in San Francisco, USA.

It is very homely and honest Italian cooking.

Grazie to the Chef Corrado and all the staff that make it so delicious!

We have been already twice last week, and when we want pizza we go to Dal Gladiatore, because anywhere else is a disappointment. The pizza has a good balance of crispy, light, sauce, topping and cheese.

Bon appetito

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pozzetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dal_Gladiatore, Propriétaire at Dal Gladiatore, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind feedback. I know that when you are keen on pizza you are exigent but you really must know evaluating the difference. Corrado did not win any international price but he spent his life in making authentique pizzas in Italy, I'm not astonished to discover your surprise...If you come next time I strongly advice you to taste the "Friture mixte à l'italienne", simply gorgeous! See you soon, regards, Sandro GROSSI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dal Gladiatore also viewed

Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Dal Gladiatore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing