We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10 day stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Le Galice Centre-Ville
Ranked #25 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Reviewed October 31, 2011

My husband, our one year old daughter, and I stayed here for 10 days during a work assignment in September 2011. The hotel provided a nice crib and crib linens at no charge. We had a car and utilized their underground parking garage (there is a fee). Street parking would have been impossible... too busy.
The room was fine, fairly large with an enormous and comfortable bed, a refrigerator (we emptied out the hotel's minibar items and filled it with our own), a large dresser, TV, table, etc. We were on the 7th floor with a view of the oft-mentioned car dealership, which would have been fine if the dealership hadn't been resurfacing part of it's lot during our stay (noise, smell). Some traffic noise otherwise, and lots of hot afternoon sunshine on this west-facing side. Complimentary coffee, tea and cookies replenished every day. Wifi a little slow but not too bad. Housekeeping did a nice job, and once they figured out that my daughter returned for nap time at around 11:30 every day, they tried to clean our room early... very nice of them. The entire staff overall were very friendly and all spoke at least some english. Our only problem with the room was the cleanliness of the bathtub area... mildew and mold in the grout and on the tiles, which made for an "ick" factor when bathing the baby. We probably should have complained but didn't, so it remained so during our whole stay.
The restaurant was convenient and was very good for lunch and dinner. I'm vegetarian and had two or three options, which is better than many places in France. A table by the pool made for a really nice dining experience. Waitstaff was wonderful and patient with our needs for highchair, extra plates and napkins, and the big mess our daughter often left behind. Breakfast was sparse and not worth the price, so we usually went to the bakery down the street instead.
We did have a bad couple of days where the hotel periodically lost all water service. Once this happened in the evening when we all needed showers, tooth brushing, etc. It was disappointing that the staff did not notify guests of the problem or offer free bottled water (though they did give us a bottle when we took the baby to the front desk and asked for one). From the comments of another guest I surmised that this had happened before our stay, also.
There were two parks/playgrounds within walking distance which was invaluable with our daughter. Easy freeway access for my husband who was working. Easy walk to the bus station too, for daytrips. Grocery store two blocks away and awesome Pizza Robert right on the corner.
We were happy enough with our stay, but not blown away. It certainly served our need for a comfortable home base for several days.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmyJ34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (587)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 587 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2011

North Americans are not always thrilled with some Best Western Hotels, but this one was just great. Location was odd, next to a car dealership, but just outside the main old town. The walk in is easy after the first time! Hotel was clean, everyone we met polite and worked with us in English as many of our group had little French. The breakfasts had good variety, not just bread and coffee. This hotel would be great for couples, groups and families.

Room Tip: The rooms were just fine in all parts, just no great view from any of them. They make up for it by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raggedcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

This hotel is easy to access by car off the expressway but is hard to find as it is located behind a Renault car dealership. It is an easy 15 minute walk to the historic downtown centre of Aix with its restaurants and shops. Rooms are average size for European hotels, clean, with air conditioning. Staff are friendly and helpful. There is a pool with a patio in a quiet location at rear of hotel. The lobby is nicely decorated with a bar and comfortable chairs for relaxing or reading or working. Breakfqst is included and is self-serve in a large, bright, comfortable room. It provides all the basic comforts for a two or three day visit to the beautiful city of Aix-en-Provence

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoscientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Stayed for a 2 night break. We had looked for a decent standard room with good parking within walking distance of town centre.

We got a good room and were able to park immediately outside. Hotel does overlook a car dealership but not a problem for us. The breakfast room was large with good facilities and the cooked breakfast was fairly good as was the choice of other items.

The hotel had a pool which looked fine and a bar attached. Produced the worst coffee I've had in a long time.

The walk into town was around 10-15 minutes and we walked back at night and were a bit apprehensive about some bits but there was absolutely no problem. There is a bus service from outside the hotel but Sundays have very few buses with a 3 hr gap in the middle of the day.

Parking was fine for us arriving on Saturday but as we left on Monday the picture changed. Hotel runs courses and seminars and hordes of cars arrived then. If we had arrived in the middle of Monday there is no way we would have been able to park.

A mixed picture but it did meet our needs at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Room 316 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank joerid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

I booked a room at Best Western Galice for 08.29th . Three days before , while I was already abroad with a poor internet connection , I received from Best Western Galice manager an e-mail telling me she is sorry but because of water damage she had to transfer me to another same standard hotel located 200 meters further

The hotel I was transferred to was in dead at half a mile distance , close to the highway
on a road with a lot of traffic.

I found it quite astonishing such an hotel experience "water damage" during this season so I went to the Best Western Galice lobby , as I noticed the hotel was open with a tourist coach in front , and I asked for a room .The receptionist answer was :Sorry we are fully booked , we've just received a group of tourists. ....This was the reason of the "water damage"!!!!
I stayed in the hotel I was transferred to and I had to paye a full rate because I hadn't booked by internet!

I didn't stay at the Best Western but an hotel with such commercial behaviors , that despise that way it's customers ,must be at all costs boycotted.





Amina Balafrej

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank Amina778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

In peak season its near impossible to find somewhere small and authentic to stay in Aix, unless you plan a year ahead. This is what got us to Le Galice.

Pros - its a best western so you know what to expect, the rooms are well equipped, 10-15 minutes walk gets you to Aix town centre, it has a decent size pool which I believe is quite rare in Aix, the staff can speak english, there is parking (paid for indoors and free outside in the evening)

Cons - zero character as the hotel is above a car dealership! views on two sides show busy roads and MORE car dealerships, the route to the centre takes you passed...yes, more car dealerships, you are effectively in the middle of an industrial zone. One of the floors is still smoking (first floor) which was the only one that had rooms for us even though we said non-smoking, the first room was so bad we started coughing and then moved to another smoking room that was slightly less pungent. For security they only let you open your windows slightly so you cant go in and ventilate the room properly which is a pity. I can only speak for our room (118) but our toilet seemed to be directly attached to the main plumbing and made a very loud noise whenever a toilet was flushed on our floor.

Room Tip: If you dont smoke ensure you ask not to be on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eurotraveller333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We stayed for a week in this hotel. Mainly the location makes this hotel inappropriate for a vacation. The hotel is located behind a main Renault concession (which makes the hotel kinda difficult to spot from the road). The 15 minutes walk from the hotel to the city center is through a mainly industrial area. The view from the rooms was mainly over the industrial area.
The swimming pool in the hotel is small, only at 1,60m depth (so no good for families with children) and closes at 20:00 (only to enable a calm terrace for the restaurant in the hotel).
The room was actually very good. With airco and excellent beds. The buffet-breakfast was complete.
In the beginning of our stay, one of the lifts broke down. When we left (5 days later), the lift was still out of order.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaakDeVuyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
0.3 mi away
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
#6 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
687 reviews
4.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel De L'Arbois
Best Western Plus Hotel De L'Arb...
#28 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
274 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Le Concorde
Hotel Le Concorde
#10 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Artea
Hotel Artea
#38 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
462 reviews
1.7 mi away
Escale Oceania Aix En Provence
Escale Oceania Aix En Provence
#12 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
700 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ibis Aix en Provence
Ibis Aix en Provence
#13 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Le Galice Centre-Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Le Galice Centre-Ville

Address: 5 route de Galice, 13090, Aix-en-Provence, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range: $81 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Le Galice Centre-Ville 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 4-story Hotel located near the historical center of city, 1 km to railway station & 25 km to Marseille Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Le Galice Centre-Ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Le Galice
Best Western Aix-En-Provence
Aix-En-Provence Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing