We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely dining experience in residential location of Aix”
Review of Les 2 Freres

Les 2 Freres
Reserve with
Les 2 Freres is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #178 of 843 Restaurants in Aix-en-Provence
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“lovely dining experience in residential location of Aix”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Beautiful outdoor courtyard dining area, tucked away in a residential Aix neighborhood. About a 15 minute walk from Aix city-centre. This is an attempt at modern french food. We had the evening set-menu that claimed to incorporate Thai flavors. There was no evidence of such flavors, but still...it was good food in a very pleasant local-feeling place to have dinner.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RDfromLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    154
    58
    32
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Contemporary cuisine and ambience - great food”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This restaurant is tucked away in a residential street close to the Rotonde in Aix. It is a very contemporary setting and has monitors on the walls with live video of the kitchen. The food is very much modern cuisine and is very natural in preparation - no heavy salt or spices.

Definitely a place for a sophisticated date.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank doug8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ideal date night restaurant”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We went here for a romantic dinner and we weren't disappointed. Sophisticated atmosphere but not pretentious. Great food - presented very elegantly of course - and great service as well. We also liked that it wasn't too far from the city center but had parking onsite.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travel_momentum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lourmarin, France
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“a must for a wonderful Aix-evening”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

This place can be found - grace to gps, and it's wonderful.
Nice zen-atmosphere, the green olives were just perfect. Food perfect with a good Southern touch. Good local wines. We were there in December, the terrace must be perfect on a summer evening. you'll be grateful for the parking. The service is friendly, could be a little more professional!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hamburgtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yankinuk
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“What can I say..?”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Had Sunday lunch here with a friend who lives near Aix. It's located in a dreary non descript residential area. It's rather attractive inside if you like French modern decor. The two waiters were welcoming (not sure if they were the freres) and smiley. Not sure if something got lost in the translation, but my starter which I thought was going to be fried camembert was actually a posh toasted cheese and ham sandwich on white bread with a few bits of lettuce on the side covered in peanuts. My main course was very dry kidneys on a bed of lumpy mashed potatoes. I don't recall a sauce. I wish I could be more positive, as they were very friendly. There is an outside terrace for eating in the summer, but as its the dead of winter right now, hard to imagine what it would be like. As I said, it's in a very suburban neighbourhood. Maybe I ordered the wrong thing as I can.t imagine why some reviewers rate it so highly.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank didyoupackyourbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les 2 Freres also viewed

Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Les 2 Freres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing