We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent garden in an historic quarter of Aix”
Review of Le Jardin de Marie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Le Jardin de Marie
Ranked #16 of 73 Aix-en-Provence B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 26, 2012

The Bed and and breakfast is located in the Quartier Mazarin, laid out in a grid-pattern in the 1650's and directly south of the Cour Mirabeau and the old city.
We were here in the heat of the high summer and the spacious garden was a godsend. Behind a four-story house begun in the 17th century and still the home of the family owners, the leafy garden was the site of breakfast every morning and ideal for staying out of the mid-afternood heat. With Aristophane the turtle to keep us company, this space was the perfect counterpoint to the rest of the city.
Our Room - Arlequin - had a mezzanine level for sleeping, while not overly spacious, was nicely decorated and acceptable.
Aix is of course replete with restaurants and cultural sights, all of which begins a five-minute walk from the Jardin de Marie.
Altogether a highly recommendable, individual bed and breakfast which mirrors the owners tastes and the surrounding historic district.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GermanyNeedtotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 44 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2012

Three of us, ladies of a certain age who had been to school together 40 years earlier, met for a reunion in Aix due to a fourth compatriot being there (in a hotel) for a conference. We loved the Jardin de Marie for its quirkiness. The staff member who let us in tried to cram two of us into a double bed, with the other enjoying a twin room on her own, but we demanded a swap. Rooms are very tall and thin, with washbasins hewn from solid rock and beds on a mezzanine reached by the narrowest of stairs. The guest salon has the most eclectic decor, including a near lifesize wooden camel, old leather suitcases, and mixed ancient and modern furniture. The garden is lovely, and perfect for breakfast that included delicious jams, yogurt, fruit, croissants and bread.

Room Tip: The mezzanine sleeping areas might concuss tall people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rosalind A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

What a lovely place......with a beautiful garden although the wind & rain deterred us from using it! Situated very close to the Cour Mirabeau....ideal for exploring the old town.
We stayed in "la lavande" a room on the ground floor. Not a large room but with a mezzanine level, quirky & tastefully decorated. Access is allowed to the downstairs living room/drawing room throughout the day - after traipsing round several stark hotels with disinterested receptions, we were delighted at the warm welcome we were given.
Breakfast was served in the drawing room & had very much a family feel about it with other guests there. For us the breakfast was a little disappointing in quantity but was certainly an enjoyable time.
We would return here without hesitation.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Beej38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
Thank ASABarcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled on business
1  Thank Estmonom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cíntia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
0.0 mi away
La Maison d'Aix
La Maison d'Aix
#1 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
715 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Provence Centre - MGallery By Sofitel
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Prov...
#6 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
912 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aquabella Hotel
Aquabella Hotel
#15 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Negre Coste
Grand Hotel Negre Coste
#18 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
106 reviews
0.6 mi away
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
#5 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
666 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#33 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Jardin de Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Jardin de Marie

Address: 47 rue Roux Alpheran, 13100, Aix-en-Provence, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range: $112 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Le Jardin de Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing