We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming little place, but you get what you pay for.”
Review of Hotel La Caravelle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Caravelle
Ranked #40 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Richmond, Vic. Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A charming little place, but you get what you pay for.”
Reviewed July 15, 2009

Hotel La Caravelle is well located for the main part of town, near some cute bars, shops and La rue d' Italia, but it is a painful drag to and from the station and the bus terminal especially with suitcases.
Our room had its charm with its shuttered windows overlooking the garden and with the romantic shuttered windows also over the way. The decor was warm pinks, if a little faded, but the bathroom needed an urgent makeover and the vents needed cleaning.
Reception was generally very good and helpful 90 percent of the time depending who was on duty.

Overall this bed and breakfast hotel had a friendly homely feel about it and we loved returning to our room. We also found some good places to have breakfast such as Bar Carrefors, and Jacobs nearby in Rue d'Italia, plus a small supermarket.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quirindi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    65
    47
    22
    10
See reviews for
22
81
20
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
154 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2008

My husband and I and our two older children (17 and 23) stayed here at the beginning of our vacation. We had the family room on the first floor. The beds took up most of the room, but the bathroom was huge by European standards...no curtain on the shower, but that really turned out to be okay. It was extremely clean in our room. We thought that not having AC was going to be a problem, but we left the window open all night and it was just fine, and it stayed quite cool in there, probably because of its ground level location. We had a fan as well. The clerks were all very nice and helpful. There is a wonderful bakery only a few steps away from the hotel on the corner for pastries, coffee and sandwiches. We ate our breakfasts there and sat both inside and out. It is a nice walk to the Cours Mirabeau where all the fun cafes and markets are for people watching. There is also a very nice restaurant down the cobblestone alleyway behind the bakery where we had a delicious late night supper. This hotel is not new, not luxurious, but is very comfortable and clean and in a good location.

  • Liked — Cleanliness of the room.
  • Disliked — Somewhat small room. Could have used another fan perhaps.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MariaMag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2007

This is a decent, affordable hotel, relatively close to the Cours Mirabeau and central Aix. Our family room was directly off the lobby. It was cramped, and the bathroom, while clean, had a shower with no door or curtain. For the price, this was fine for a one-night stay.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Hyperplanners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2007

Aix is kinda a pain to get to from the train station, but I suppose it is my own fault for not realizing that before hand. We finally got to the hotel, and were greeted with lovely service and.... an elevator! Yay!
Our room was "renovated" which still meant that it had a pretty stained carpet, but besides that was OK. It had a full bathroom, which is really great and rare in France when you are on a budget. There is a lot of street noise, but we kept our window open. We could've used the AC, but I guess preffered fresh air and noise over fake cold.
We didn't have the breakfast, but there is a cute little place RIGHT NEXT DOOR that has a cheap formule and outside tables. The hotel is definately located very close to the Cours Mirabeau and other shopping and the myriad of Italian influenced restaurants studding the old village.
Did I mention there was an elevator?

  • Liked — Staff and Location
  • Disliked — Noisy street.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank DaniFrenchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M'sian from Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2007

We've booked this hotel with 65 Euro/nite.
This hotel claim itself to be 3 star but we think it's only worth 2 star at most.
Most rooms in the same floor are equipped with air-cond but not the one we've stayed. We went to ask the staff & they gave us a small fan. All the light bulbs were blown & it takes a while for them to fix it. The hotel staffs are not friendly. We gave them 100 Euro notes & they said they've no enough change & ask us to change it at the bakery shop or elsewhere.
The map shown on the hotel website are not real! It's very very far way from the center bus-station !
We'll definitely not going back to here & don't recommend anyone to this hotel.
Aix-en-provence has nothing much to do & see.
Avignon is better.

  • Liked — Free WIFI
  • Disliked — location, service
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Johorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aix-en-Provence hotels

Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2006

Aix en Provence is a lovely, upscale city in the heart of Provence. For a budget minded traveler in this region, Hotel La Caravelle is a perfectly acceptable option. Our daughter was attending school here for the semester and we were within walking distance of her host's house and the school. The hotel is basic, but there are some very nice features. The hotel is in a convenient and safe location (my husband and I walked to and from the shuttle stop near the train station), has very pleasant and helpful desk staff who recommended restaurants and even gave us free parking for a few days in the public garage across the street, and even though we were on the 4th floor and there is a small elevator, we took the pleasant easily climbed stairs all of the time. Our room had a balcony with shutters and doors which completely shut out noise and light at night from the outdoors. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was modern and quite spacious with room for storage under the sink. The room itself was very basic: hair dryer available at front desk, no clock, rather dim lighting, faded drab furnishings (yard sale appearance) though there was some hint of that Provencal color, and no comfortable seating. For us, it was fine, but for someone looking for more luxury it wouldn't work.

  • Liked — smiling desk staff, balcony with doors, good sized bathroom
  • Disliked — basic furnishings and amenities in room
  • Tips/Secrets — ask for street side room for the view of the action
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tandem40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2006

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights in Sept 06. We paid the premium for a "renovated" room but were disappointed to find it had really worn carpet (stained and starting to come up) and a bathtub that had been pretty shoddily repaired. The view was nice, but there's a lot of hallway and neighbor noise too. Places in Aix are expensive (not sure why; the city's really not that remarkable), but for 70-something Euros we expected more from our stay here. On the positive side, the front desk staff are very friendly and helpful, and the location is good -- easy to walk to Cours Mirabeau and lots of the main places.

  • Stayed September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexanInCharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Concorde
Hotel Le Concorde
#10 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
400 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Mozart Hotel
Le Mozart Hotel
#13 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
381 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Saint Christophe
Hotel Saint Christophe
#32 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Appart'Hotel Odalys L'Atrium
Appart'Hotel Odalys L'Atrium
#39 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
187 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Negre Coste
Grand Hotel Negre Coste
#21 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
71 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Artea
Hotel Artea
#26 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Caravelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Caravelle

Property: Hotel La Caravelle
Address: 29 boulevard du Roi Rene, 13100, Aix-en-Provence, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Caravelle 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel La Caravelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Caravelle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing