We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful Staff and a Convenient Location”
Review of Hotel La Caravelle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel La Caravelle
Ranked #23 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Traveling by train has been anything but easy or pleasant this week, but the cheerful, helpfull staff at LaCaravelle, soothed some of the stress. The hotel is cheerful with lovely decorator touches in all the public areas. Breakfast was a good value with variety and attentive service. The room was clean and comfortable. I would not stay anywhere else in Aix.

Room Tip: Make certain you understand how the remote for you air conditioner operates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbPensacola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (230)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 230 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2014

Great location and quite rooms (at the back) with very friendly staff. Not super flash but it works .
I would have rated it v good if they had some were bedding - looking a bit tired and a few marks on the bedcover. But as I said it worked well for us.

Room Tip: A room not on the street front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

What a wonderful hotel that was! I would not choose any place else in Aix. It is charming to the last detail! Apparently the hotel has been recently renovated (or at least, our room was). The reception area could easily be of a 3*. The moment we walked in, it stole our hearts! We had a 2 twins room on the top floor, facing the main street. We could not hear any noise with our windows closed. The room was just adorable, very clean and very tastefully decorated. It was not large (it is after all a 2* hotel) but to us, that was not a problem. The bathroom was very clean, of reasonable space, updated and fully functional. Only negative, towels were rough. We were there around Easter (April 20) and the weather suddenly got a little chilly, but the central heating was constantly on, just as much as it needed to make the room even more comfortable. Aaaaah! It was truly appreciated!
The breakfast was more than sufficient for us. Here is how it works: you have to let the reception know that you will be having breakfast (until 10pm of the previous evening). You are served a tray which includes the hot beverage of your choice, orange juice, a large butter croissant, butter and jam (I hope I'm not forgetting anything). There is also a buffet with cereal, toast bread and cream cheese. I would just give one suggestion which would certainly take the breakfast to a whole new level: the croissant would be even better if served warmed. Since it's not sitting on a buffet, maybe it's worth warming it up a little before serving it. The breakfast room is adorable, and they also have jazz radio on, which makes it even more pleasant. For me, it was the best start for the day.
The location is great, just around the corner from Rue d' Italie, with so many restaurants and cafes (we tried "Le Balto", it was great). Cours Mirabeau is a short walk away (about 5 minutes). Very close to anywhere you would want to be in Aix. The Avignon Centre station is a good 10 minutes walk from the hotel.
The staff... oh, dear, words are not enough: everyone was so polite and pleasant, smiling and accommodating. I don't know if the hotel is a family business, but the people who work there look like they really love and are proud of it, and this adds to the overall warm atmosphere.
Beautiful, adorable, wonderful, cute and all that, at a reasonable price! Don't think twice, this is the place to stay in Aix-En-Provence.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AthensSoloist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for one night only while visiting friends in Aix-en-Provence. Booked this hotel because of the reasonable price and the excellent location, right at the corner of rue de l'italy and 10 minutes away from the train station. Didn't expect much. The staff was very nice and helpful. The room was small but adequate. The lift is tiny. The room was clean. The bathroom is in dire need of renovation. Our room was facing the street and we had a small terrace. The street is busy during the day but quite quiet at night. All in all will stay there again.

Room Tip: Higher floor will ensure less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liora5352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We arrived at night to this hotel. I have chosen it mostly looking at its location. It's a 10 minutes walk to the station so it was perfect. The staff was friendly and they stored our bags for a day.
The room was clean, beds were a bit small so not too comfy to sleep. The bathroom looked like it was recently renovated, quite modern with a very nice shower.
I would recommend it if you are looking for a short stay and if you are on the budget.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank agzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

La Caravelle lies at the border of the old town of Aix-en-Provence. The location is excellent, however reaching the hotel by car may be a bit frustrating, since the circle road around the old town by which you have to approach the hotel is one-way only and you may have to do almost a full circle around the town centre until you can take the right turn. There is a park house next to the hotel which is probably your best option if you want to leave the car not too far away. Or, if you are really lucky, you may get one of the two parking slots right by the hotel.

The room was a bit of a let-down. We took the room facing the street (there are also rooms facing the garden which are a little more expensive) since we are usually not easily disturbed by street noise. However, the problem was not the noise, but rather the decoration. Dark, stained carpets, dull furniture, dull colors, old mattresses. It was functional, that's the best you could say about it. The ventilator was a plus - it can get pretty hot in Provence.

What made up for the dullness of the room was the friendliness of the stuff. They were extremely helpful, helped us solve a problem that evolved on the way to the hotel, recommended wonderful eating places and helped us plan our trips through- and out of town. The hotel stuff are the real treasure of La Caravelle and the reason why we didn't regret booking the hotel in the end.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, consider paying the extra 10EUR for a room facing the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ilja V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had a great stay at Hotel La Caravelle in Aix. The hotel was simple and quaint, but more than comfortable. The location was great, the staff were helpful and everything was clean. It was great for the price. I would stay there again if looking for a budget-friendly option.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Le Concorde
Hotel Le Concorde
#10 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
459 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Quatre Dauphins
Hotel des Quatre Dauphins
#43 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
115 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel des Arts
Hotel des Arts
#57 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Aix Hotel
Aix Hotel
#54 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
26 reviews
2.8 mi away
Le Clos de Celony
Le Clos de Celony
#34 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Appart'Hotel Odalys L'Atrium
Appart'Hotel Odalys L'Atrium
#46 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Caravelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Caravelle

Address: 29 boulevard du Roi Rene, 13100, Aix-en-Provence, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range: $81 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Caravelle 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vous souhaitez faire une escale chaleureuse en centre-ville aixois ? Bienvenue à La Caravelle, notre hôtel 2 étoiles situé dans le quartier Mazarin, à deux pas du centre historique, du Cours Mirabeau, du Musée Granet et du nouveau Centre d’Art de Caumont. Facile d’accès, avec des parkings publics à proximité immédiate, La Caravelle vous accueille dans une ambiance conviviale et bienveillante au coeur d'Aix-en-Provence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel La Caravelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Caravelle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing