We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel des Augustins
Ranked #21 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Reviewed December 26, 2013

this is really a very nice hotel .. location of course is amazing ... go for the room with the incredible terrace, its an urban outlook rather than a 5-star view but still lovely, and the church tower adds to this feeling ..though you have to pay more for this room ... the hotel lobby with old monastic arches is great .. the hotel is boutique and comfortable rather than super luxury ... if u arrive by car then you have to go a long way round block to public car park

Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
3  Thank G9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (318)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 318 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2013

Lovely French hotel, great location, all employees are very friendly and helpful…Michele, the gentleman who is the Reception Desk Manager, was like "sunshine to greet you" each time we saw him! I won't be specific, but he SAVED our vacation! (My stepmother had a health issue). Suffice it to say that he will go to lengths to help make your stay in Aix wonderful!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nikia1124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Only steps from the Cours Mirabeau, the 3-star Hotel des Augustins is well located for exploring the old city of Aix-en-Provence, and was my comfortable home base for nine days and nights. I booked a "luxury room," one of the largest in the hotel, comprising a queen size bed, sofa and chair, a desk, two doors to a large furnished terrace, and a large bathroom. Unlike the serene atmosphere of the lobby, the room's decor was of a classic Provence style, with handsome fabric walls, painted white furniture and a Cezanne still life on the wall. The windows or doors were double glazed with curtains that would keep the room quiet and dark. There was excellent free WiFi and French television (no English), and ample wardrobe and storage. There is no restaurant, but a large dining room with a basic breakfast of fruit, bread, cold meat and cheese, cereals, croissants, and wonderful large pots of hot coffee and milk brought to your table. The staff is friendly, helpful, and attentive, and couldn't have been more gracious. The Augustins in not a boutique hotel, and most of the guests were mature, a mixture of French and foreign. Newspapers were provided daily in the lobby, including the International New York Times (the former Herald-Tribune). What to expect here: most of the rooms look small but comfortable and quiet. The bath rooms probably vary (mine was a tub with hand shower). There is plenty of hot water and your own individual controls for room temperature. The bed was comfortable with four large pillows, the bath had plenty of towels and were supplied with shampoos, soaps, tissues, etc. All in all, the Hotel is one of good value. Although not a luxury hotel, I felt pampered and at home here.
Further note: The charm came with the thrice daily bells ringing from the Church of the Holy Spirit not far away, but also not at early or late hours. With the doors closed, they were almost inaudible. I was particularly taken with the robinets or faucets in the bath, which are the best design I have ever seen.

Room Tip: The luxury room came with a large furnished terrace surrounded by local homes and the stunning 13th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JoeBaileyCole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

If you want to be in the middle of Aix this is the place to stay! But this is also a negative because driving there, unloading the car, and then parking in the municipal garage a few blocks away is difficult. This is especially true on market days, when streets are closed and you can't get near the hotel. The management failed to inform us of that fact on our arrival day and we just had to sit in our car somewhere away from the town center for a couple of hours waiting for the roads to open. The hotel is very pretty and the staff was very helpful. We had breakfast there (optional), which was very good. We stayed at the hotel one night and even though we made the (on-line) reservation at the end of August for an early October arrival we had to pay a lot of money for the room. I don't think that it was worth it for the amount of time that we actually spent in the hotel.

Room Tip: We had a nice room, with a terrace, But for the couple of minute that we spent out there it was not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KenS08816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This charming little hotel, situated in a former convent, is beautiful and very well located in the historic center of Aix. We stayed in a garret room, which was clean, quiet and very reasonably priced with a bath en suite. Everything you want to see and do in Aix is within easy walking distance, and the Gare d' Navette is also a ten minute walk, making connections with the TGV easy and inexpensive. The staff was wonderful and helpful with recommendations. We didn't get the breakfast, preferring to eat in cafés, but the breakfast room is beautiful and might be a good option if you're in a hurry one day.

Room Tip: No lift to the third floor but the stairs aren't that bad. The garret rooms are an excellent val...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Great accommodations near the main parts of old town, shopping, restaurants and transportation. Safe area and generally quiet. Rooms are decent, breakfast is fine and hospitality is wonderful. WiFi works well. Highly recommended hotel for business trips.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank adamcohenil1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We choose Hotel des Augustins for it's location and architecture, and we weren't disappointed! Simply walk out the heavy ancient door to the old city of Aix... it's all within walking distance. The best part of the hotel was how quiet it was at night. After a busy day of exploring Aix, it was incredibly relaxing to return to our room for a good night's rest in a very comfortable room in a beautiful setting. The room was well appointed, with quiet and effective air conditioning, and a nice bathroom. We would certainly return there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MMWilson2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Negre Coste
Grand Hotel Negre Coste
#17 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
110 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#33 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Saint Christophe
Hotel Saint Christophe
#30 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
#6 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
672 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cezanne
Hotel Cezanne
#8 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
1,126 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Globe
Hotel du Globe
#9 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Augustins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Augustins

Address: 3 rue de la Masse, 13100, Aix-en-Provence, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range: $105 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Augustins 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel des Augustins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Augustins Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing