We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis in Aix”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel des Augustins
Ranked #21 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel numerous times and find the rooms comfortable, the staff helpful and the location great. This time we had special help from one of the desk staff named Samo. He went the extra step that one really appreciates. I have also found other desk staff to be particularly helpful in this hotel

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Ted A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (318)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 318 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by the great location of this hotel. It is right off one of the main streets, "Cours Mirabeau" and is very conveniently located. It is close to shops and restaurants, as well as the old part of town. The hotel is built in a converted monestary and you feel its reverence the moment you walk into the lobby! It is just soooo cool! Our room was small and cozy, the bed was comfortable, the room was clean, and the mini fridge was quite handy to store left-overs in! The staff behind the desk were extremely helpful! They made several phone calls for us when we needed some assistance. I highly recommend this little gem and I also thank the many reviewers on Trip Advisor for their reviews and helping us choose this very welcoming hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Donna1419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

our delayed train arrived in the city late at night. we had no accomodations for the night but Koubrain kindly allowed us to sit for a bit while he helped to secure a hotel just outside of the city. he was not only kind but he went out of his way to help some wayward travellers! Thank you so much and we will be back prepared to stay in the beautiful hotel when it is not full. the canadians.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank d b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Once again, fellow Trip Advisors hit it right on the button with this little gem. It is in fact on a quiet side street just off the Cours Mirabeau. It is beautiful. The staff is in fact not only friendly, the two guys we mostly dealt with were really funny. A/C was great, room clean, bathroom up-to-date, little fridge was great to have in the warm weather. One English speaking channel on the cable TV would have been nice but we didn't come to Aix to watch TV. We did take the breakfast on our last day and like most of the other reviews, it wasn't much to write home about. I'd rather pay a couple of more euros and have a nicer selection.

Room Tip: the least expensive "comfort room" was just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RickURI73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

The historical hotel structure pre-dates old Martin Luther, but the room decor is planted firmly around 1971. That in itself is not a deal breaker if you expect neither monkish cloisters nor modish design. The rooms' look and feel is rather one of quaint-gone-to-seed. The breakfast room has a definite whiff of "Separate Tables." You expect that the old Colonel might come trundling down the stairs at any moment. Never mind, if you are lucky your room will have a priceless view of a sun-kissed, ancient church bell tower set in a blue sky outside your window. Just keep looking outwards. That's where the fun is after all, because this hotel is wonderfully located on the edge of the fascinating old city, which is great for a self-paced walkabout. A cautionary note for travellers: the TGV station is located a long, long way out of town. Consider taking the bus instead, which will drop you right near the centre of town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the old church bell tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

The hotel is well localized, in walking distance of all the city center. It is a historical building, very pleasant. The rooms, however, are too small, the towels and bed linen of bad quality, the staff very cool and not qualified. They cannot give tourist information. During breakfast (of reazonable quality) my daughter started at 9:50hs, and asked for reposition at 10:00hs (closing time), but the emplyer denied it, and told her to wake up earlier next day. It is overpriced for a 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruiferriani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in the very center of Aix-en-Provence. The foyer is great reminding of the historic past. The hotel staff is incredible friendly. The rooms are small, but this is normal in the center of Aix. A good continental, typical French Breakfast is included. Would definitely come again here.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flying_dutchman_US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Negre Coste
Grand Hotel Negre Coste
#17 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
110 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#33 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Saint Christophe
Hotel Saint Christophe
#30 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
#6 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
672 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cezanne
Hotel Cezanne
#8 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
1,126 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Globe
Hotel du Globe
#9 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Augustins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Augustins

Address: 3 rue de la Masse, 13100, Aix-en-Provence, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range: $105 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Augustins 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel des Augustins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Augustins Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing