We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful little gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel des Augustins
Ranked #30 of 68 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is the third time I have stayed here for five days at a time. The staff is marvellous and doesn't that say a lot. Everyone from front desk to wonderful person serving breakfast cares so much.
The rooms are not big but pleasantly appointed. The washrooms are roomy and pristine. Leave the windows closed at night and it will be quiet. Air out during the day. It is in the heart of town so close to everything. Great restaurants. The French food is just so amazing. Never had a poor meal. I would not hesitate to book again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank artistvalerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    118
    49
    20
    10
See reviews for
30
143
28
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Cod, MA
Level Contributor
101 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

This ia a lovely property that has the best location anyone would want:around the corner from Cours Maribeau & close to all the small shopping streets around. The staff is very friendly & helpful. We had their only "family" room, which was very spacious with a large double bed next to a twin for our grandson. The other half of the room had a sofa, chair , & small table. Two closets were enough for our needs for 3 persons. The bathroom was huge with two sinks & large tub/shower. Our only complaint was the meager breakfast of juice, coffee/tea, bread & butter, & yogurt. This should really be improved. Also there is no English TV station, very frustrating for us since there was a crisis in the US with the marathon bombing in Boston.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BabciH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice for a two night stay and each time was a very positive experience. The staff is welcoming, the rooms well appointed and the location is fantastic. It is quiet and comfortable. You are in the center of the action in Aix.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

This hotel is located in the center of Aix and was a formerly a Monastery so the ambiance is wonderful. I liked it so much I came back to stay before my flight home to US. I loved the french decor of the room and the bath tub afforded a long, luxurious bath.
Price was good with very nice breakfast.
I plan on booking this hotel as part of my 'FRANCE THRU THE EYES OF THE ARTIST'' Tour in Fall of 2013

Room Tip: I had a room on the alley way on night one...the church bells were charming. The second stay I was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Artistmarti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

The charm of this hotel blows you away when you walk in. It is an old church and it is simply beautiful. The location is great - stones throw away from everything and you could not be better situated. The elevator isn't very big so if you have huge suitcases, you will have to go up at most 2 at a time. If you smaller luggage, the stone staircase at the side if the lobby takes you to the 1st and 2nd floors. My room was on the 2nd floor, cosy, OK, was right on the side of the street which can be busy but I slept. The bathroom seemed a litte dated and needed some TLC. My bathroom was floor was not clean, there was no shower curtain for the bath so that part I was not impressed with...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

The location is fantastic, the rooms are charming, not very large but you step right outside the door to all of the shops, restaurants and walks. If you have a car you must use a publice parking lot about 2 blocks away. The staff were very good about recommendations.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anninojai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

Located In the old town right beside the main walking street you are ideally located to explore Aix. Hotel is a former monestry, but there is no need to make a great fuss about it as there is no tell tale signs in the rooms, only in the entry.

Hotel is easy to find if you pay attention. If you have a car I recommend you drive up to entrace to unload baggage and get directions to the (public) parking area close by (5 min walk).

Service is good and staff helpful. Did not try their breakfast as my experience is that they seldom is worth the price in places like this.

Recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank panzer76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#24 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Negre Coste
Grand Hotel Negre Coste
#20 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cezanne
Hotel Cezanne
#5 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Globe
Hotel du Globe
#9 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Provence Centre - MGallery By Sofitel
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Prov...
#7 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Saint Christophe
Hotel Saint Christophe
#34 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Augustins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Augustins

Property: Hotel des Augustins
Address: 3 rue de la Masse, 13100, Aix-en-Provence, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 68 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Augustins 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel des Augustins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Augustins Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing