We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quant & quirky” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Petit Nid de Sophie

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aix-en-Provence
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Petit Nid de Sophie
Ranked #59 of 65 Aix-en-Provence B&B and Inns
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Quant & quirky”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed one night at Sophie's. Our room, Cannelle, was small but comfortable and had a great bathroom. Everything looked new. It was a bit noisy but not late into the night. Breakfast is served in Sophie's kitchen. The rooftop deck offers an amazing view of the area. Sophie also owns a cute, good restaurant nearby. We had a delicious lunch there. This guesthouse won't suit everyones taste but it offers a pleasant change from hotels and a real family experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jstep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    24
    12
    6
    13
See reviews for
8
34
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

I was terrified I'd made a bad choice with this hotel, but it ended up being good if quirky!

Firstly the location is almost impossible to find. I asked at the supermarket and it turned out to be next door. Only signage is on the buzzers for the apartments. Parking for us was 2-3 blocks away which was eur10.50 for the night. Apartment block very dingy and depressing, but our room was nice. Our room was the onenextto Sophie's flat where we had breakfast.

No tv or radio or anything, but we did have a bar fridge! We also had a door to our bathroom (although its small) and both hot and cold water. Our room had a queen size trundle bed which had a definite lean to one side (bed or floor)? We stayed Friday night and was very noisy. Too hot to sleep without the window open, except we had a fan. With the windows closed, we couldnt hear the noise outside over the drone of the fan. Theres also a laundry around the corner.

Breakfast was weird. We were escorted through her kitchen and bedroom up to the roof terrace for breakfast (beside the washing line). Breakfast was orange juice and croissants and breadstick with butter and jams, with tea or coffee - drinking from a bowl!

Seriously one of the oddest places I've stayed, but not bad overall!

Room Tip: No pool or fitness centre! No wifi either
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wendy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

I loved staying at Le Petit Nid because it felt like I had my own apartment (pied-a-terre) in a GREAT location...just next to the main squares, yet knowing that breakfast was waiting for me the next morning in a totally French kitchen provided just enough comfort to feel totally taken care of. Sophie avec famille are so nice and speak English which helped! :-) I had my own keys, my own schedule, my own little French life for 3 days. And being in Aix is wonderful b/c you can take fabulous day trips (Parc du Verdon, St. Remy, Chatauneuf-du-Pape etc) but have the great restaurants and "city" and night to come back to. I recommend!

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice and homey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

Sophie is a lovely, helpful host with a spotlessly clean place. The location is a healthy walk from the train station but otherwise well situated for walking about town. It is a flat on the second floor in an inconspicuous old apartment building and was a little tricky to find. We stayed for two nights in the twin room, which was nicely decorated. There is a comfortable sitting area outside the two guest rooms. The bathroom could have used some amenities - like a door (rather than a drape) and a place to hang towels. The second morning, there was a problem getting cold water in the shower and the people in the other room had trouble getting hot water. Breakfast consisted of coffee/tea, juice, a croissant, butter and jams, and a tasty, fresh baguette for all the guests to share. That may be enough for some and not enough for others.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MJCT12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarrytown,NY
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in this b&b one night right after our flight from NY and I will try my best to describe for the future guests.
We stayed at the pigeon room which was nice and spacious but the bathroom did not have a door, which can be auqwerd for some. The building is old and renovated so it gives you an interesting feeling but for those that are looking for the 5 star hotel accomondation, this is not the place. It is definitly a b&b.
The breakfast is minimal (not a problem for me but fro those who are expecting to load up, don't be dissapointed).
The street noise is definitly a problem but for us , still in jetlag it wasn't an issue. If noise is an issue for you you will not be able to open the window and will need to use the ac.
I think that 100 euros is over priced but the location wins it all. Walking distance to everything in town. For that, I would stay again. It is more important then everything else.
Btw, the parking is not that far but will not be comfortable for the elderly to carry their baggage all the way to the b&b.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Eyal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland oregon
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

1. The room is quaint and well-appointed, wth mostly new features, and would rate 4 stars, definitely, even if the floor undulates like the Conie Island coaster ;) (hey, it's an old building). Sophie and her mom are helpful. The building's location is very, very convenient to walking in the old town, and that old town is well worth seeing and fun to stroll through and shop and eat in. We love the people here.
2. The building which contains the room is really shabby, with holes in the floor and just a rundown feel everywhere. The interior of the building looks like it would be an average-quality place in an average slum.
3. We waited over two hours to check in, before somebody could be reached to let us in (this was on a Wed afternoon).
4. Finding the building, even with Google Maps directions, is pretty challenging if you are driving, and we have driven our share of winding narrow streets.
5. There is no parking lot or open parking space within about twenty miles of this place. The underground lot about a third of a mile from here stayed full for hours, but the Tourism Office told us about another lot beneath that building, where our car is staying tonight. We offloaded enough stuff that we needed, from our suitcases into carry-on bags, to lug to the hotel; it was maybe a 2/3 mile walk and it requires a map due to the many winding roads.
6. The hallway is very noisy.
7. Someone is smoking nearby and the smoke gets into our room, so we've opened the window. But it's far too noisy outside for the window to stay open tonight (many motorbikes, some trash trucks, and pedestrians talking, below)
I can't fathom how a dozen others rate the place 4 or 5 stars. Can they all be friends of the owner? It just does not compute. The town is lovely and the owner seems very nice and has put a lot of effort into the room, but the building and access difficulties push the overall rating way down. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kentonerwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aix-en-Provence hotels

Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

'La Petit Nid de Sophie' offered us just what we wanted: a cozy and accommodating base from which to explore Aix-en-Provence. There are two rooms, one with two twin beds and the other with a larger bed. We stayed in the one with the twin beds, which offered a nice view out the window of the rooftops of Aix. Everything is accessible on foot from here, and the breakfast on the rooftop deck was an added bonus that gave spectacular views. For 80 euro/night, this was a great deal. Be sure to say hello to Cashew when you go!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel du Globe
Hotel du Globe
#10 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Artea
Hotel Artea
#24 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Negre Coste
Grand Hotel Negre Coste
#20 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Saint Christophe
Hotel Saint Christophe
#36 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel des Augustins
Hotel des Augustins
#30 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
#8 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Petit Nid de Sophie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Petit Nid de Sophie

Property: Le Petit Nid de Sophie
Address: 2 rue Van Loo, 13100, Aix-en-Provence, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing