We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good food in Aix”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lavault

Lavault
Ranked #62 of 834 Restaurants in Aix-en-Provence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Very good food in Aix”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

We ate at Lavault during one of the slower nights - the basement area was empty and only half the tables were full.

Overall it was very enjoyable, but we were probably a bit let down after seeing such great reviews on Tripadvisor. Very good, but not "the best" in our view.

The foie gras club sandwich that we had was the highlight - it was just amazing. The mains that we had were definitely good but not particularly memorable. The service was very good too and the ambience inside is definitely more upscale than the average restaurant in Aix. It just wasn't that five star experience we were hoping for.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bssc81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    160
    46
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
75 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“There's a reason it ranks so high”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

We had a fabulous meal at Lavault -- great food, excellent service, in a very elegant room, for less than 100 euros for 2 including a bottle of wine. We reserved for 7:00 on a Friday and were the only ones there for about 30 minutes; then it filled up, mostly with French. We had paid almost as much the previous night for so-so food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foodiehiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

One of the best restaurants we ate in!
We booked in advance via the website and asked to sit down based on the reviews here on the site. We got delayed along the way so we called to ask to come a bit later, they agreed to without a problem.
The food was excellent and courteous service. Not cheap, but what you pay is what you get.
We ordered an appetizer Foie Gras the Club: avec brioche, mousse de foie, foie Gras poêlé, coppa, confiture de tomate et mâche
Excellent!!!
Raviole de Confit de Canard et Abricot avec Foie Gras accompagné d'une sauce aux Morilles
Even better!
The main course - we both ordered the beef filet, not regretting.
We ordered only one dessert (we were already full) Crème de Citron avec Framboises et Biscuits au Beurre was really delicious. Delicious!!!
And a bottle of wine, mineral water and a cocktail - the bill was 90 euros. worth every penny.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ThePookies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful restaurant, friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Four of us went Lavault a few nights ago after reading reviews on Trip Advisor and talking to a friend who had actually been there. We found the restaurant and immediately loved the way it looked. We were greeted in a very friendly way and had a lovely meal. The night we were there a wonderful gazpacho was on the menu, I had a lovely chicken dish an the vegetarian in our party had a beautiful plate of vegetables (and some really yummy mashed potatoes). I would not hesitate to return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pamela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manly, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We went along for dinner after reading the reviews and were thoroughly impressed with all our meals and the service. Price for the quality of food was very reasonable. Highly recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lavault also viewed

Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Lavault? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing