We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If only...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Gallici

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Gallici
Ranked #4 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“If only...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

The hotel itself is a delight: hidden away just north of the old town, in a lovely quiet garden, with an outdoor terrace overlooking the pool, perfect for lunch or evening dining, sheltered by plane trees. (Ignore the reviewers who complain about distance from town! You can be at the Town Hall in less than 15 minutes on foot). The rooms are beautiful, though not enormous - this is a 19th-century private residence, lavishly converted, but bound by the original floor-plans. The problem during our stay: the service. You have a five-star property, with 5-star food, most definitely at 5-star prices; but all of it encumbered by decidedly 4-star service. It was not a uniform problem: some of the desk staff could not do enough to help; but too often, at this price level, there was a basic lack of attention.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    56
    28
    11
    7
See reviews for
55
249
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
156 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

This villa has Relais and Chateaux spirit and it one of the best of hotels this net( we love this net and visited more then twenty of it).
It has spirit of old, but not tired home.
The Villa Gallici is sophisticated decorated house with nice heated swimming pool in a private park , very comfortable bed and other facility.We had one dinner and we were enjoyed by it.
All management and stuff are very professional and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

Restaurant: second grade foie gras, 90euros menus not including both cheese and dessert
Service: no help with luggage at arrival or departure for elderly people
Television? Sorry, not working: we will fix that soon tomorrow morning....
Conclusion: will relais et chateau brand retire this awful on their list or their brand is really becoming unreliable scrap ?

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Giovanni D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

This hotel is over the top French spectacular. The hotel is decorated very French, the grounds are very beautiful. The staff were extremely friendly. We had a second floor room with a small balcony overlooking the pool area. The room was very nice. One complaint some reviewers had was that when you walk into Old Town Aix (~15 min walk) you are walking downhill. But when you return to the hotel you are walking uphill. The uphill walk is not that bad, plus there is a small shuttle with various routes that will bring you within a couple of blocks of the hotel. The walk into town and back to the hotel is NOT a show stopper (I am 65 and the walk was not that bad). The other plus for this hotel is that it is outside of Old Town in a very quiet tranquil setting. My wife loves French decor and she said it was like dying and going to heaven staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: Stay on the second floor with a patio overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jscampb49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
112 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

Driving through the gates of Villa Gallici to the stately entrance fills the visitor with a sense of eager anticipation. As other reviewers have said, it is akin to arriving at a wealthy relative’s mansion. We were immediately greeted by immaculately dressed staff, who gave the impression that they had been anxiously awaiting our arrival. Every staff member we encountered was unfailingly polite, courteous and helpful.

Inside, the Villa Gallici exudes the impression that it actually is a renovated mansion (which I believe it is). The entry area is a luxurious foyer with a cozy public room to the right. To the left is the unassuming reception area, holding only a desk and chairs. It is so unlike the formal bank-like reception areas of most hotels.

The public areas of the Villa Gallici are decorated in period style, with beautiful art pieces decorating the wall and antique porcelain and bronze statuettes scattered about on the tables and cabinets. Our room (No. 14) was down the hallway past the reception area, a beautifully decorated hallway with fabric wallcovering accentuated by antique artwork.

Our room was large enough to give us plenty of room for comfort. It was beautifully decorated with fabric wallcovering and period furniture and had more than adequate closet and cabinet space so that we could totally unpack and feel at home. The bed was wonderfully comfortable. The hotel is in a residential area and is very quiet. Our room overlooked the immaculately tended garden and had a small balcony, large enough for a small table and two chairs. If the weather had been a bit warmer during our stay, we would have spent time sitting outside to enjoy the fresh air.

The bathroom, while relatively small, was well equipped and comfortable. There were two sinks in a spacious marble counter, which gave us plenty of room for toiletries. The WC was in a separate room for privacy.

We enjoyed our breakfasts in the hotel. Fortunately, it was warm enough to eat on the terrace, which was a wonderful experience. The buffet was extensive enough for us, with a selection of juices, fruit, cheese and meats, etc., and we were offered our choice of made-to-order eggs (the omelet was delicious). One evening (our second evening in Aix) we had dinner at the Villa Gallici restaurant, which was excellent. Our meal rivalled what we had enjoyed the previous evening at a Michelin one-star restaurant (Pierre Reboul) in town.

Our only complaint was the inadequate wifi in our room. The Villa Gallici advertises free wifi service, but the connection from our room was essentially unavailable. In order to access the wifi, we had to go the common rooms off the reception area. There the wifi connection was fine, but it was an unnecessary inconvenience to have to leave our room in order to check emails, etc. I would strongly urge management to address this issue, which should not exist in these days.

Some other reviewers have made negative comments about the walk to town. The hotel is outside the old town area, but it is no more than a ten-minute walk to the Cours Mirabeau. True, the walk back is uphill, but it is relatively easy. I am 72 years of age, in average physical condition, and I had no difficulty walking back to the hotel. So I would really discount that criticism.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank silverbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

This hotel is beautiful and is full of the charm one would expect in the South of France. The decor is breathtaking and the facilities fantastic. The attention to detail is outstanding and I would thoroughly recommend staying here if you are in the South of France. Location is great, the pool is beautiful and the welcoming glass of bubbles was a lovely touch.

Free wifi, in room coffee facilities (good ones at that), balcony overlooking the well kept grounds and fantastic service- would definitely return

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

We recently visited Aix-en-Provence with friends from the US.

We were fortunate to spent five nights at Villa Gallici at the beginning of our trip. This is a lovely small hotel, set in a garden overlooking the city. It is an easy walk into town (heading back uphill is a bit of work -- but you have to work off the fromage somehow!!!).

The rooms are not contemporary -- really the opposite, which is our style, but we found them to have everything we needed. Our friends made the booking, and we found the style very French with a local charm and style. We had a large room with two patios and it was very comfortable.

The service was excellent, young and attentive with no request they could not handle. We ate meals on the terrace two nights and enjoyed breakfast every morning.

Oh, and don't miss the lemon madeleines in the entry. They are excellent and addictive.

Room Tip: We were up stairs and in the back, which was quite and very private
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de France
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de Fr...
#2 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.9 mi away
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hotel
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hote...
#3 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Maison d'Aix
La Maison d'Aix
#1 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Cezanne
Hotel Cezanne
#5 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Provence Centre - MGallery By Sofitel
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Prov...
#7 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aquabella Hotel
Aquabella Hotel
#13 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Gallici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Gallici

Property: Villa Gallici
Address: 18 avenue de la Violette, 13100, Aix-en-Provence, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
#4 Spa Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
#4 Luxury Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Gallici 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under the light Cezanne once knew, the Villa Gallici Hotel,18th century Provencal house member of Relais et Chateaux, provides many luxury services, a gastronomical restaurant registered in the main guides, a shady seven acre garden with a swimming-pool, a nice place to relax a few steps away from the heart of the city of Aix-en-Provence.The Villa Gallici Residence is richly furnished with French and sumptuous fabrics. Time seems to have stood still, throughout the day whether dining or enjoying the calm of the gardens and pool, every experience has a charm of its own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Villa Gallici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Gallici Hotel Aix-En-Provence
Gallici Hotel Aix En Provence
Gallici Aix En Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing