We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect, Lovely and Beautiful!”
Review of Villa Gallici

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa Gallici
Ranked #3 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Perfect, Lovely and Beautiful!”
Reviewed October 13, 2011

This is a very pretty and small hotel.
The staff were all young but very professional, the maneger is very friendly.
The welcome was warm, we receive flowers, chocolats and biscuits.
We receive a room up grade, we stay in number 6 suite.
We spent two nights, and we eat in the restaurant, your rate included breakfast and dinner.
The breakfast and dinner was realy perfect.
The turndown service is not good, all days the maid comes at 10 PM. she cames when we arrived from dinner!
All staff want you to feel like it's your home, we loved it!
I feel like a queen!
Thanks and we are come back.

Room Tip: room number 6 - jr suite is good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmo_Brasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    58
    29
    11
    8
See reviews for
58
270
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

it all depends what you are looking for.... Villa Gallici is a stunning hotel... but there are a few things to know... It is very private and therefore very quiet...(not necessarily a bad thing!) It is very expensive (as expected) and there are a few quirks.... For example the upgraded room that we stayed in had a bath but no shower. There was a shower head but not a place to 'hang it' therefore to wash your hair you have to sit in the bath. A pain! especially when you are paying $600+ a night. The first evening we were there there was actually a problem... the bath plug would not seal properly so it would not fill. So... I could not have a shower OR a bath!!! The lovely receptionist came in and said it would be fixed in the morning. BUT did not offer to move room.... to send us a complimentary drink/dessert..... or a comp breakfast in the morning. Nothing! Just 'Sorry!' Again... if i am paying $600 a night... I deserve the opportunity to have a shower/bath!! All in all a very unique and beautiful place... but... been there and done that....would not go back... I will say this... if you are visiting AIX it is the best place to be.....

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ADDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

This is a very pretty and well run hotel. The staff were all young but very professional.The welcome was warm and we were greeted with drinks and small cakes. We spent three nights here and ate in the restaurant one night. The food was very good but not cheap and it is an expensive place to take a family. The breakfast was good - no buffet, all waiter service so although there was plenty you couldn't keep getting repeats of your favourite. The second day the breakfast lacked any pastries as the oven wasn't working but we weren't told this until we had ordered.
The setting is beautiful and it is about a 10 minute walk into Aix. I would stay here again. We had the basic rooms and they were large and well decorated but did not have a shower except a hand held attachment over the bath. This would be a lovely place for a romantic weekend.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lulurose3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2011

We arrived after spending 6 days at Hotel du Cap - in a great mood, having loads of fun and laughs - and this hotel did nothing to perpetuate our mood. It was somber, and serious. None of the guests interacted. The staff was dressed in outfits befitting a monastery. Now for the good part: it is beautiful. The iron gates leading up to an old stone villa are impressive. Our room was covered floor to ceiling in toile wallpaper with hardwood floors - except the bathroom had a sickening wall to wall swirl carpet suitable for funeral homes. The bed was low and the mattress was, frankly, uncomfortable. It felt cheap. The restaurant is on a terrace and the food is good. But you drink a great bottle of wine, and there nothing to do but go to your room. This hotel is the best hotel in Aix and worthy of a 2 night stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bluehorizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We loved the hotel and the staff and the pool. Tomas was our Waiter in the restaurant and by the pool. He was outstanding and really made our stay at the hotel and in Aix En Provence memorable. Tomas also assisted with a problem we had outside of the hotel and went above and beyond any expectations we could have experienced.

The accomodation was beautiful and immaculate with luxurious linens and turn down service. Breakfasts on our terrace and in the restaurant were delicious and well presented. Service was all around excellant. We did not want to leave the hotel.

We finished our trip in two other luxury hotels but neither of them compared to the ambience and service we received at Villa Gillice. We will definately return (not sure when, long distance from Vancouver, Canada) and hope to find Tomas still working!

We loved the location of the hotel, a small piece of quet paradise close enough to walk into the city.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ecttm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, WA
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

Villa Gallici is nice but really expensive for what it is (old and a little bit down on its heels). Our room was fine but the bathroom set up was quite odd and it felt antiquated. Staff was pleasant and helpful. Food was good but expensive. Location excellent.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frogprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

This hotel exceeded all of my expectations. I have stayed at some gorgeous places all over the world and this has to be one of the best (if not, THE best). If you can possibly spend several days here I would encourage it. It is like a slice of heaven. You are within walking distance of Aix but slightly outside of town so you can experience the luxury of the pool, the gorgeous grounds, amazing rooms with the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in, unique and thoughtful touches (such as a welcome tray with rose, pastries, note, candle and rose petals on your pillows at night, etc) and an outstanding staff. The staff is fantastic and the hotel strikes just the right balance between top notch service without being too formal or stuffy.

There is nothing that they could do better!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank nyc1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de France
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de Fr...
#2 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
592 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Maison d'Aix
La Maison d'Aix
#1 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
668 reviews
0.9 mi away
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hotel
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hote...
#4 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Provence Centre - MGallery By Sofitel
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Prov...
#6 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
803 reviews
2.8 mi away
Les Lodges Sainte Victoire
Les Lodges Sainte Victoire
#1 of 1 in Le Tholonet
306 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aquabella Hotel
Aquabella Hotel
#13 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Gallici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Gallici

Property: Villa Gallici
Address: 18 avenue de la Violette, 13100, Aix-en-Provence, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
#3 Romantic Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
#3 Spa Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Gallici 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under the light Cezanne once knew, the Villa Gallici Hotel,18th century Provencal house member of Relais et Chateaux, provides many luxury services, a gastronomical restaurant registered in the main guides, a shady seven acre garden with a swimming-pool, a nice place to relax a few steps away from the heart of the city of Aix-en-Provence.The Villa Gallici Residence is richly furnished with French and sumptuous fabrics. Time seems to have stood still, throughout the day whether dining or enjoying the calm of the gardens and pool, every experience has a charm of its own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Gallici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Gallici Hotel Aix-En-Provence
Gallici Hotel Aix En Provence
Gallici Aix En Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing