We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too Little to See” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atelier Cezanne

Atelier Cezanne
Book In Advance
More Info
$76.94*
and up
Private Tour: Aix-en-Provence and South Luberon Day Trip from Marseille
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The studio of famous painter Paul Cézanne has been preserved in its original form.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
364 reviews
135 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Too Little to See”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

What was there was good, but there was only one room of interest. The contents were informative and interesting, and the drawers full of informative and interesting memorabilia needed to be on display.
The fact that Cezanne had used it as his workshop to create so much beauty is impressive. To be able to say we were there is good but I think it needed to display some of his art to really add to the experience. Bluntly, even if it cannot be the originals, copies may allow a better understanding of the views that he was experiencing while creating his treasures.
The garden was an overgrown mess, rather than the complement to the building and its history to better explain the positive impact that it had Cezanne.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ascott150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    252
    156
    54
    35
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“for lovers of Cezanne”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

The studio of Cezanne is a quaint little two storey building with not that much to see but for the lovers of Cezanne's work you will quite delighted to see the props used in some of his most famous paintings. You can see the deliberate north facing wall of windows built specifically for a dedicated artist. It allows one to imagine the painter standing in that space and creating his masterpieces. My grudge is with the lousy instructions directing you to the place where Cezanne often painted his favourite mountain Mont Sainte-Victoire. It is maybe a half-hour walk but if you don't have the correct directions it is difficult to find. To get there, leave Cezanne's studio and walk up hill up Av. Paul Cezanne. Continue straight past a roundabout. At a left kink in the road and metres before a zebra crossing there is a stone-stepped pathway on the left hand side that looks like a path to a house. Opposite this pathway is a sign 'Terrain des Paintres'. This leads up to the lookout. Google maps told me this after we got back with blisters on our feet from a long fruitless walk.
We still saw the mountain so it's all good. If you are not familiar with Cezanne's work, then maybe don't bother going or do yourself a favour and take a closer look at his work.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Emmanay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Captured our imagination”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

I'd heard and read beforehand that this was small and a bit of a walk out of town but to me that wasn't the point. Here, in Paul Cezanne's studio, it's as if he had just left for the day and you had called in to see if he was there. With all his things around you, and giving the appearance of being untouched, it wouldn't have been a surprise if the great man himself appeared in the doorway. The experience of seeing the items he had painted, and known so well to millions through his paintings, was captivating. But, oh, no clay pipe (as seen in his series "The Card Players")? A quick question to the attendant - go over to his cabinet, slide open the drawer and take a look. There it was - thrilling!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ArryAwk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Co Down
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Just one room?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

A hot hike up the hill took 10-15 min but the 'house' turned out to be just a studio and gift shop. It was interesting, and the outside and garden lovely, but I expected more.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank yorick2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“One room only!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Not being a Cezanne fan thought this was a bit overpriced at €8 each as there is only one room to visit - and an overgrown garden. However, if you are a fan I expect you would get a thrill from seeing things he actually used and articles he painted!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsAholidaymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Atelier Cezanne also viewed

Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Atelier Cezanne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing