We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We made a great choice!”
Review of Hotel Cezanne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Cezanne
Ranked #8 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 2, 2013

The exit from the station is not exactly glamorous but within moments you are on a beautiful French boulevard and just minutes away from the Old Town. Lovely, well maintained hotel with delightful staff. Incredibly comfortable beds and absolutely no noise from busy street outside. Just very puzzled why no drawers in the room - just a rather strange DIY wardrobe with a shelf - never mind we were only there for a few days. If we had been paying full price of 250 EUR for the room might have been a bit more picky!(for example grouting around shower). Nice touch to have gratuit mini bar for soft drinks. If you just want a simple light breakfast there is a wonderful cafe on the way to Cours Massena with an amazing array of teas and a great view of the Aixois on their way to work. We will definitely book in again when we return to Aix.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Cezanne1, Propriétaire at Hotel Cezanne, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Maggie,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Hôtel Cézanne on TripAdvisor. We took good note of your comment regarding the shower and we will make sure that our housekeeping department pays more attention to such details. All our rooms are different and for your next stay, don't hesitate to notify your preference for a room with drawers, and be sure that we will do our best to fulfill your request : we want you to feel as comfortable as at home. All the reception team is at your disposal for your next reservation : you will always get the best rates by booking directly with us.

Best regards,

The Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 1,126 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2013

I stayed here at the end of October before starting a River Cruise in Arles. This is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at. I was upgraded to a lovely junior suite overlooking the rooftops of the city. The entire staff was extremely helpful and gracious and encouraged me to speak French [despite some disastrous errors]. The breakfast was cooked to order and wonderful; it was the best breakfast I had on my trip through Spain and France. The goat cheese and honey omelette was superb.

The room was large, beautiful and clean; the location was perfect. It is just a five minute walk to the Cours Mirabeau.

The stocked minibar is and coffee machines are a lovely touch and much appreciated.

I would have loved to stay here for a longer time; it was not enough time and I did not want to leave! The people of Aix are also so lovely and friendly.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
Thank Frances1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Cezanne1, Propriétaire at Hotel Cezanne, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Scott,

A big thank you for your comment on TripAdvisor. We are happy to read that you liked your Junior Suite : we always try to offer the best experience to our guests. Of course we look forward to seeing you again in Aix - maybe you could try the truffle omelette for your next breakfast !

A bientôt / See you soon,

The Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this lovely hotel. Our room was comfortable and the staff was incredibly helpful and attentive. Loved being able to share the Terrace for a afternoon cocktail and their morning breakfast option was the best we had in France. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Cezanne1, Propriétaire at Hotel Cezanne, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Sue,

Thank you for taking the time to post your nice comment on TripAdvisor. Our terrace opened last summer and it is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed it for breakfast or for a drink in the evening. Don't hesitate to have a look at our fitness and our massage room during your next stay !

We hope to welcome you agin at Hôtel Cézanne.

Kind regards,

The Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Exceptional experience overall in a unique, artsy and modern hotel with great service and amenities. Even though the structure is rather old, this is boutique hotel at its best with tons of character and nicely updated. We were upgraded to the sizable suite overlooking the courtyard bar (really nice!) while our kids stayed down the hall. Great service, good internet, nice breakfast and great location within walking distance to the main part of Aix-en-Pce which is a really lovely town with tons of cool shops and restaurants. Free coffee and gratis drinks in the room are really nice touches.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank singcatfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Cezanne1, Propriétaire at Hotel Cezanne, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks a lot for your kind comments. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the attentions and services provided at Hôtel Cézanne such as free business centre with PC and Mac and a choice of French and US keyboards, breakfast served until noon, free Nespresso coffee machines, free minibar and wifi...

We would be happy to welcome you for a whole week for your next stay in Provence !

Kind regards,

The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

The room we were assigned to initially had an inoperative toilet. It was late in the day on a Saturday. They immediately changed us to another room which was very comfortable. They took care of the problem immediately and with a smile and offer to help us move things.

We would pick this hotel again

Room Tip: Overall their rooms are comfortable and clean. I don't know of any particular distinguishing fea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ron g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Cezanne1, Propriétaire at Hotel Cezanne, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor. Comments like yours motivate and drive us to continuously improve our service. We are happy to read that you had a great stay at Hotel Cézanne. We eagerly look forward to your next visit in Aix.

Kind regards,

The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

When I was booked here on a business trip I was a little apprehensive as my guidebook described the staff as "surly". Nothing could have been further from the truth, as they were exceptionally accommodating, including booking a haircut in town. Location, a few blocks from the Cours Mirabou, is quiet and convenient. Honor bar and outdoor patio are nice touches. Breakfast is lavish, if a bit pricey.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanL29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Our travel agent booked us for 5 nights in this exquisite gem of a hotel, perfectly located near the historic old Aix and Quartier Mazarin, a short walk to Cours Mirabeau. The hotel is luxurious--the best we experienced for our whole trip--comfortable, wonderful bed, great view, lovely, bold, colorful art throughout. It is quiet luxury with an artistic twist. The breakfasts are superb! Everything you could possibly want and cooked specially to your liking, if you request. The chef, the waitstaff were very considerate and anxious to please. The front desk personnel were wonderful, everyone we came into contact with. Anna, in particular, helped us on many occasions with suggestions for restaurants, stores, gifts, directions etc and always with her lovely charm and grace. Free drinks, coffee and fresh fruit throughout the day, a lovely terrace and an honor bar were wonderful touches.
We highly recommend this hotel and hope to return some time soon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Provence Centre - MGallery By Sofitel
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Prov...
#5 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
943 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison d'Aix
La Maison d'Aix
#1 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
730 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
#7 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hotel
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hote...
#4 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
907 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aquabella Hotel
Aquabella Hotel
#15 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
1,150 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de France
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de Fr...
#3 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cezanne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cezanne

Address: 40 avenue Victor Hugo, 13100, Aix-en-Provence, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
#6 Business Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
#8 Luxury Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range: $130 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cezanne 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Cezanne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cezanne Hotel Aix En Provence
Cezanne Aix En Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing