We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extremely helpful staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Cezanne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Cezanne
Ranked #5 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Extremely helpful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We recently spent 5 nights at this hotel , which is located just outside the old town and a short walk away from numerous restaurants/ cafes. I do not speak a word of French and the front desk staff were simply outstanding in giving us suggested places to visit in Provence , making restaurant recommendations and bookings ,printing e mails for me and responding to my SOS calls such as when I came across a toll road and did not know how the system functioned!!.No request was too much trouble and everything was done with an eager willingness and a smile.
We found the breakfasts to be fair value considering that you could choose hot dishes and the choices were plentiful- this may have been influenced by the fact that we had just travelled up from St Tropez where everything is so much more expensive.
Our room was spacious enough , with a separate toilet. The air conditioning did battle to cope and had to be turned up full blast , but then we were experiencing temperatures in the mid thirties.
The honesty bar in the main lobby is a nice touch as is the mini bar that is stocked with complimentary soft drinks each day.
We had our own car and used Aix as a base to explore Provence. The hotel is ideally suited for this purpose as they have secure parking a short fifty meter walk away and being just outside the old city , access to the main roads is easy , provided you have a Sat nav system.
All in all we could not have been happier with our choice of hotel and to us the staff here are the clear differentiating factor, particularly if your French is poor or non existent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WaWa1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    361
    93
    33
    25
See reviews for
136
558
53
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Located just off Cours Mirabeau, Hotel Cezanne is perfectly situated in Aix. The hotel has a serve yourself bar in the lobby which is a nice touch. Delightfully, they offer complimentary non-alcoholic drinks in the mini bars that are replenished upon request. The Nespresso makers in the hall with colored sugars are a nice touch, too. Our room was bright and beautiful and faced the street for a fantastic view. There was no street noise that I was aware of. Breakfast was delivered to our room and far exceeded our expectations.

We were only here for one night so I can't speak about the hotel restaurant or other services and we had very little interaction with the staff.

When in Aix again, we will most certainly choose Cezanne. It's a fantastic little hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelVolumes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Lovely hotel right in the centre of town so we were able to walk to many of the tourist attractions. Our room was well appointed and the bed extremely comfortable. Free car parking was available at an off-site property (within 100 metres) of the hotel. If driving try not to arrive during peak hour traffic as it's an extremely busy area an can be difficult to locate and park. As breakfast wasn't included I felt that it wasn't really good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chez549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Having experienced 38 degrees and no aircon for 3 days previous to our visit to Aix it was wonderful to be in a room with aircon, glazing to keep all the street noise out, lovely comfy bed, lovely decor and right in the heart of the city

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frenchtraveller43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Walking distance to Cours Mirabeau but situated on a quiet street away from the maddening summer crowd. I made a mistake booking the correct room for the right number of people, but the hotel did everything to accommodate our needs on the spot and gave us a junior suite with sofa bed. Typical of boutique hotels, the rooms and bathrooms are on the smallish side. But there are many pluses: inclusive minibar that is replenished everyday; free nespresso and fresh fruits everyday at the lobby; and a wonderful, friendly staff who helped us with restaurant recommendations and reservations, and tips on day trips.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveler43Usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stay here for 3 nights in June. The confirmation email was quick and very informative. It took us by surprise when we got there that our room was so small and almost impossible to open 2 big luggage at the same time. Glass partition in the bathroom was also small so the floor was completely wet after you finished showering.

Receptions could be much more helpful for working at 4 stars hotel. There was only one time that we need their help which happened when Wi-Fi password that they gave us didn't work so I had to get the new ones at the front desk. The reception girl seemed annoy (she was busy with her computer inside) and said something in France to the house keeping nearby. I don't speak France so I had no idea what it was but I sensed it was not a pleasant one.

Also if you got a cheaper deal than their regulate rates (250 euro/night for double), make sure that you have it in writing with you when you check-out. I got 195 euro/night by direct booking but when I made the payment on my check-out, the reception tried to charge me at 250 euro/night. I then had to log on to my email and show it to her. This is considered strange to me since every hotels I had stayed (even if 2 star hotels or small B&Bs), they would have the record of customers' booking and their term of payments, not randomly print out the receipt and had customers decline the bill only if they are aware of it.

The only good thing about this place that I can think of is they have free mini bar (refill every morning).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Castle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is beautiful, stylish and quirky place to stay. Our stay started badly when our room was not ready when we arrived, hot and tired at 3pm with our toddler in tow. They apologized repeatedly and gave us free drinks and olives while they fast tracked the room. From that point on the staff were lovely and very helpful. The hotel is a short walk to the glorious old town. Our room was clean and bright, but the only drawback was there was not blackout behind the curtain so it was hard to sleep once the sun rose. But all up this is a nice hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 12cameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hotel
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hote...
#3 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de France
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de Fr...
#2 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison d'Aix
La Maison d'Aix
#1 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Provence Centre - MGallery By Sofitel
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Prov...
#7 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
#8 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aquabella Hotel
Aquabella Hotel
#12 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cezanne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cezanne

Property: Hotel Cezanne
Address: 40 Avenue Victor Hugo, 13100, Aix-en-Provence, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
#5 Luxury Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
#6 Business Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cezanne 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Cezanne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cezanne Hotel Aix En Provence
Cezanne Aix En Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing