We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good in parts” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Cezanne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Cezanne
Ranked #5 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“good in parts”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

our room was a junior suite, and whilst the room was nice and bright and comfortable, it wasn't a suite. Breakfast was good and the lady who cooks it is quite a character. The location is good and is only a short walk to the "attractions" of Aix. The staff were helpful and friendly, although we had 2 restaurants recommended to us by the staff, both of them were average at best, and the restaurant that we enjoyed the most was the one that we heard them advising others to avoid, and whilst I am not going to suggest that there are vested interests somewhere here, it does make you wonder.
The bar works on an honour system, but very few people seemed to use it (apart from us).
To summarise, this hotel is good in parts but we didn't love it, it certainly lacks soul.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swagman6111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    360
    93
    33
    25
See reviews for
136
558
53
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

This was a lovely hotel and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay - thanks in no small part to the incredibly helpful and friendly staff who made us feel very welcome. We'd certainly come back.

The hotel is very stylish, and is conveniently situated with (free) secure parking, which is also a plus.

The minibar in the room (with various soft drinks and water) was complimentary and filled up each day, which was a nice touch. They have an 'honesty bar' where you can help yourself to alcoholic drinks and then get them added to your bill.

Hard to think of anything negative, except that our room - while pleasant and comfortable - was a little small and also had very PINK walls which might not be to everyone's taste! I would also say that the breakfast is over-priced at 20 Euro - but they do serve it until midday, which is great for late risers (and means you could almost treat it as 'brunch' thus making it easier to get your money's worth!)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CosmicTrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

We had a difficult time finding a hotel in Aix that could accommodate me, my wife, and our nine year old daughter. After a lot of looking, we settled on this hotel. The room was right out of a 1970's version of Ikea. That would be fine, except that it was astonishingly expensive. The hallways and stairways are dingy and poorly kept up. The staff are nice, and certainly are quick to respond in well-practiced English. This hotel is average, at best. However, in our travels around Aix I did not see anything that looked much better.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChicagoTraveler41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Excellent staff, easy parking, convenient location with a short walk to Cours Mirabeau et al, and a truly excellent breakfast made for a great stay. The room was great (OK, the toilet room is pretty tight but, just do your business and get out). The breakfast was pretty pricey, granted, but for what you get it is a very good value - there is everything from champagne to made-to-order pain perdu or omelettes, to smoked salmon, etc. etc. etc.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank comedor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

The hotel is located on the edge of the old town is within a short walk of all the restaurants, sites and shops that are on off in Aix.
We shared a twin room which was good in terms of space, condition and cleanliness and had comfortable beds. The mini bar in the room is free and is stocked with water and fizzy drinks. There is also free coffee from the Nespresso machine in the common hall area on each floor.

The staff were very helpful and gave great advice for restaurants, activities etc. They were so much more helpful (and polite) than the tourist information office - who were very ordinary.

Stay at this lovely hotel and you'll have a great time in Aix.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alphili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We really liked this boutique hotel. We stopped here for two days as a halfway point between Nice and Paris. We booked a double room last minute and it was fantastic. Good shower, clean, comfy bed, on the second floor but street noise wasn't a problem. Free coffee machines on each floor and an honor bar in the lobby which was very convenient. (Pricier than the local restaurants but still good stuff). Breakfast was pricey at the hotel but had good quality varitety. The staff at the front desk were very helpful and a pleasure to deal with. We ate at Chez Grand Mere the first night which was lovely traditional Provençal food. Get the escargots. They are fantastic. I had the steak and my husband had the duck. Both cooked rare so if you don't like your meat that rare be sure to ask for it more well done. We enjoyed it though. We stopped for a quick bite at la fromagerie. Hard to find down a little alley but if you are a cheese fanatic like me you HAVE to go here. So many varieties and a roof top terrace where you can sip wine and enjoy your cheese delights. Dinner the last night was at lavault. Excellent! The foie gras club appetizer was amazing. I could have had two of those and been a happy camper. Saffron seafood risotto was also delish but the table next to us had the steak and foie gras and I had order envy.

We took the TGV to Aix en Provence then hopped the shuttle to Gare Routiere in the center of Nice for about 4 euros each. We walked to the hotel from there. Easy enough to do and we had two large roller bags. Book any tours in advance. We wanted to do a wine tour but there was slim pickings on the Thursday we were there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JPBJMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
221 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

This hotel excelled from the first contact. The staff replies to your requests quickly and there are videos on both the hotel web site and Youtube. We stayed at the hotel for a wedding which took place in Marseille, and were there for a week. I have several suggestions for patrons - firstly, be sure to reserve a free parking spot through the hotel if you are driving a car. Parking is impossible in Aix, and the hotel maintains a small number of spaces in a garage which is near them. You will be welcomed at the front door by one of two doorman who are efficient and helpful. (A shout out to Laurent.) The lobby is small but has lots of room to meet with friends or to hang out in to write postcards. (There is a self-service bar with upscale liqour - just let the desk know what you've put together.) Stephan, at reception, will do everything in his power to make you happy. Be aware that each room of this hotel is different. We spent the first night in a lovely room - but it was too small for our wedding gear and visitors. The next morning, all of our luggage was moved to room 201, which is a small suite. The bathroom was large and had both a shower and delightful tub. I had originally found this hotel through a Rick Steves guidebook. He had raved about the chef who prepares the morning buffet. He was absolutely correct. Be sure to try her small omelets, one with truffles and one with honey. My husband loved the french toast and had it 3 days in a row. The buffet is not cheap at 20 euros a person, but in a town that is second to Paris in cost of living, it is worth the expense. You can also walk to the vegetable market, which is one of five markets, on Tue/Thur/Saturday, and add fresh figs and pears to your room fridge. Housekeeping management in the U.S. could learn a lot from this hotel. They have loads of housekeeping staff, and they are downright stealthy when it comes to cleaning your room. You never hear them, they just magically clean your room and leave outstanding toiletries. We travel the world, and this hotel exceeded our expectations in every way.

Room Tip: We like the second floor - which is actually the third floor of the hotel. I loved the backside of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcB13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hotel
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hote...
#3 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de France
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de Fr...
#2 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison d'Aix
La Maison d'Aix
#1 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Provence Centre - MGallery By Sofitel
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Prov...
#7 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
#8 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aquabella Hotel
Aquabella Hotel
#12 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cezanne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cezanne

Property: Hotel Cezanne
Address: 40 Avenue Victor Hugo, 13100, Aix-en-Provence, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
#5 Luxury Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
#6 Business Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cezanne 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Cezanne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cezanne Hotel Aix En Provence
Cezanne Aix En Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing