We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a junior suite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Cezanne
Ranked #7 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We booked for three nights in a junior suite for our family, but the junior suite turned out to be a slightly larger room with no separate living/sitting area (what you'd expect for a junior suite). The room numbers for the suites and junior suites were listed on the wall of the reception, so I suppose it was not the first time visitors quizzed about whether the room was actually what they have booked for.

The room has some fancy plumbing, Cezanne's signature sprawling all over the wall, and the cleaners were dressed in traditional attire for French maids (white and black, what you'll find in the streets of Akihabara on a Saturday afternoon). The reception and service staff spoke English, but seemed somewhat cold and impersonal. So it's the hotel for you if that's your thing. But for us, we found it somewhat overpriced and not what we have expected. We are not sure if we can recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rewaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

409 - 415 of 1,146 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2012

Stayed three nights. Location is in a quite part of Aix-en-Provence, just a 2 minute walk from the non TGV train station, and just across the Hertz car pick-up, and yet close enough to walk to the centre and most sights of Aix.

Staff were friendly. My room was on the 4th floor and a good size done up in bright Provencal orange colours. Bed was nice and firm, AC available, large screen HD Samsung TV, good selection of cable channels, free wifi which worked well, good power shower, toiletries included, and best of all free mini-bar stocked with bottled water including sparkling, Orangina, soft drinks etc. There was a Nespresso machine just outside the room and that was complimentary too. Free daily newspaper.

Much has been said about the breakfast costing 20E but no one has specified that this is a CHAMPAGNE breakfast buffet. I had this on the last morning as a treat and as breakfast was served till noon it was a sort of brunch for me. There were the usual spreads of breads, patisseries, juices, scrambled eggs, sausages, bacon, and champagne besides your usual coffees and teas. In addition there was an a la carte menu where you could order cooked to order specialities like french toast, omelette with truffles, omelette with caramelized Provencal honey etc. I defy anyone who can find a champagne brunch in France for less than 20E! Anyway there were lots of other cheaper breakfast options outside.

Parking is free but make sure you tell them in advance as lots are limited. The parking is in an underground secure basement accessible from the side road next to the hotel and the staff will give you a code for access. I would recommend renting a medium or even small car as the corners as quite sharp and the passage way quite snug for getting a car through.

I would definitely put Hotel Cezanne high on my list the next time I return to Aix.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unfrequentflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

A good choice for Aix, especially since Aix is about Cezanne. Very nice staff. Pretty decorating. Lovely breakfast room. We came in on the TGV, which is a little ways (20 euro taxi) from town. Breakfast is a little expensive at 20/euro each, but I think they will make what ever you want. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: The room we were in was remodeled and beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanDiego99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Centrally located, free parking, free non alcoholic drinks in mini bar in room, honor bar downstairs, rooms large with many electricaly outlets and free wifi. What more could you ask for.
Staff was more than helpful, gracious and willing to accommodate any request.

Room Tip: junior suite is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Plus: clean, new, friendly design, nice bathroom with shower (not common in France), friendly staff, location
Minus: no bidet (as everywhere outside Italy), no help for carrying baggages

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Luca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

A short walking distance from the Cours Mirabeau, an even shorter walking distance to the train station. Hotel is very pretty - rooms are small but beautifully furnished. Mini bar in the room is free. Wifi in the rooms very erratic though. Reception staff friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend. Note: The hotel has free parking spots, but they are limited. Call in advance to book your spot. Otherwise, you'd have to park at a public lot (3-minute walk away, 15 euros to leave the car overnight).

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShahidaASingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in April. The location was excellent for walking around Aix.

Breakfast was 20 Euro's additional per person. The people staffing the breakfast were most helpful! When I asked if there was sugar in the fruit salad, the woman said she didn't know, so she volunteered to make one for me personally, which they did each day of my stay.

The front desk staff enthusiastically marked up maps for anywhere we wanted to go. Estelle at the front desk was particularly helpful! She made dinner reservations for us, always wanted a full report when we returned, and was sharp and engaging. The Internet worked beautifully on the ground floor, but not that well in our room, which was frustrating! (We were on floor 2, with the lobby on the 0 or ground floor.)
Our room, their least expensive, was comfortable and larger than many French hotel rooms. The bathroom fixtures were modern. (It's important to pull strongly on the control for the top shower to engage it. The first day I didn't do that, and soaked the whole bathroom with the hand shower.)

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Provence Centre - MGallery By Sofitel
0.5 mi away
Aquabella Hotel
Aquabella Hotel
#14 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
1,181 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de France
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de Fr...
#2 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
#6 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
697 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison d'Aix
La Maison d'Aix
#1 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
786 reviews
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hotel
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hote...
#4 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Cezanne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Cezanne

Address: 40 avenue Victor Hugo, 13100, Aix-en-Provence, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
#6 Business Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
#7 Luxury Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range: $139 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Boutique Hotel Cezanne 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idéalement situé au cœur du centre ville d'Aix en Provence, le Boutique Hôtel Cézanne vous accueille dans une ambiance chic et tendance. Les 55 chambres de cet hôtel 4 étoiles sont uniques et proposent des services de qualités. Arrêtez-vous un instant sur notre terrasse ou dans notre Bar Lounge pour profiter de l'art de vivre à la Provençale autour d'une boisson rafraichissante. Pour un réveil tout en douceur, le buffet petit-déjeuner est disponible jusqu'à midi. Pour parfaire votre séjour, le Boutique Hôtel Cézanne dispose d'une salle de Fitness ainsi que d'un espace massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boutique Hotel Cezanne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cezanne Hotel Aix En Provence
Cezanne Aix En Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing