We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Le 44 is better.”

L'Epicurien Restaurant
Ranked #24 of 864 Restaurants in Aix-en-Provence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $59
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: This place is a hidden gem. The owner is the chef and he only uses fresh produce and he is extremly talented. We just spent 8 nights in Aix and after eating at a couple of restaurants none of them came close to this place. They friendly and the food is just amazing. This restaurant should be on trip advisor without a doubt. His food melts in your mouth and the flavors are out of this world.The owners are Ludovic & Laura Aillaud
Parkwood, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Le 44 is better.”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Read on TA and recommended by guide Lianne from Tylene tourisme. Booked in morning when unpacking dialing produce. Just as well because tables set up outside were full.
Food was great, not large portions for young men who like to eat. Mitch and le 44 are better value.
We had lamb, fish, and son calamari entree. All nouvelle cuisine. Dessert to share eclaire ok, ice cream superb.
If you don't imbibe it's reasonable but otherwise not. Need to serve a house wine at at these top places. People would probably eat more

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pamela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    101
    27
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Tasty meal with French ambience”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Visited this restuarant twice during a short stay in Aix en Provence. We arrived early on one of the evenings during a thunder storm. The restaurant hadn't opened but they let us sit inside to shelter. We ate inside that evening and outside two nights later. The menu was short and didn't change much between visits but the food was lovely and different. The young men serving were very pleasant and helpful with our translation of the menu. All in all a very pleasant experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SnowdropU007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, CT
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Delicious, imaginative fare. Very friendly, enthusiastic service. Would definitely go again. I only gave it 4 because dessert was a little disappointing. Otherwise excellent.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnpw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent dining experience”
Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

I went to this restaurant on the advice of a colleague and was very impressed with the quality of food for the price. I had asparagus cream then veal with more asparagus with a glass of the local 'cochon' wine. I skipped desert. The service was great, they even phoned for a. Taxi for me afterwards. Strongly recommend.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Helen3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Epicurien Restaurant also viewed

Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to L'Epicurien Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing