We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location!!!”
Review of La Maison d'Aix

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Maison d'Aix
Ranked #1 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We found this recommendation on Trip Advisor. We cancelled our room at another hotel when we were able to stay here. There are only 4 rooms in this hotel. What a place. It is beautifully decorated and is walking distance from everything in the central part of Aix. We loved our room, the service and the hospitality of both Reym and Alexandrine. Both ladies served us beautiful breakfasts and provided us with good tips for dining and sightseeing. They were lovely and made a difference in our experience. We also found that other fun, lovely, people were staying in the hotel and met them at breakfast each morning.

There is a great spa on the lower level, a beautiful lobby and game room on the second floor. Our room #4 was eclectic but perfect. It was comfortable and large with a street view. It was easy to access from the stairs and was quiet for sleeping. We loved our time in this quiet hotel located in a residential area of Aix in the old part of town. Can't say enough about the location of this hotel to the city of Aix. It's perfect.

Room Tip: We loved room 4, but didn't see the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (727)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

297 - 303 of 727 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2013

This is a small miracle of a hotel that is as private as staying in a home, but this is not just any home. The interior design choices are crazy bold in a good way that places you in an environment that you might never choose for your own home, but that is nonetheless warm, comfortable, and impeccably curated. Service was so personal. We arrived quite late and in the rain but still we're met with tea, and fresh flowers. Location is central for walking everywhere. Hoteliers like this are rock stars for their innovative approach and willingness to raise the bar on quality.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AuggieDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights before taking the train to Paris, it was wonderful and so relaxing, even with our hustle of tourist activities. When our driver stopped at the building with the small sign and knocked at the door, my husband and I looked at each other and wondered what we had booked!!! Inside, it was tastefully decorated, our room was very comfortable and charming, with a great view overlooking a garden. Alex gave us the tour of the residence, the jacuzzi and steam room were so relaxing after a busy day. In reference to the person commenting on the temperature of the jacuzzi, we stayed in 5 European hotels with spas and all the jacuzzi's were similar temps. You relax there after using the steam room!!! The wines were local and quite good, which were kept in the kitchen for guests.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Katfwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed at La Maison d'Aix, 2-6 October 2013, and it was very nice. The breakfast was good but from the other reviews on Trip Advisor we expected a little more variety and possibly some hot selections. It was a lovely, fresh, continental breakfast every day, just repetitive in that it was the exact same thing every day. Our room was very nice, though it was kind of odd to have a bathtub in the middle of the room, and we did have to walk up two or three (seemed like three) flights of steps to get to the room - no elevator. There were only four rooms in the whole hotel. The private parking spot we had was blocks away, just as far away as the public parking garage. Thankfully, there was valet parking, though that was not make clear when we booked the reservation. The jacuzzi on the bottom level was cool - figuratively and literally - the water should have been hotter for a jacuzzi. Alex was wonderful - she was the woman who did absolutely everything at the hotel while we were there. She welcomed us, parked our car, showed us around the hotel, made restaurant and activity recommendations, outlined where things were on maps of Aix-En-Provence and the south of France, laid out breakfast every day, made us coffee or tea every day, walked us to our car - she was a one-woman-show who performed everything very well and warmly. She spoke several languages and was very polite and engaging with all the guests. She was the best part of La Maison d'Aix. All in all, we found the accommodation a bit pricey for what it was. Next time in Provence, we will probably opt to stay further away from the city for a larger place to stay, ease of driving/parking, more nature, and more traditional/antique furnishings. The one-month-in-advance cancellation policy precluded us from changing our reservation to find more of what we were looking for.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luv2travel1332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We had a beautiful room and a delicious breakfast every morning. The owner and staff were always helpful, welcoming and hospitable. This hotel is in a great location in Aix-en-Provence and within walking distance to all the restaurants, shopping and visitor sites. We highly recommend the Maison d'Aix!!

Room Tip: Have to take steps to get to the rooms.(It's worth it)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sanibel17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We were really looking forward to our stay here but it really did not meet our expectations - when we arrived there was a mixup with the room we had reserved which made us uncomfortable - the breakfast arrangement was not good - one table was set for 6 and twice out of our 3 night stay we were asked to wait because the table was full - just what you don't feel like in the morning ! Also the use of the communal area was not very welcoming - even if we wanted to make a cup of tea or sit at the table it was not encouraged - to top it off we the toilet paper in the room was not replenished and I ended up downstairs in the sauna area at night trying to find some -not perfect !!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jasperMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAMAISONDAIX, Gérant at La Maison d'Aix, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear"JasperMelbourne"


Thank you very much for having stayed at La Maison d’Aix earlier last month and for your review. I am always grateful to our guests for taking the time and trouble to record their feedback as this is the only way for us to maintain and improve, where necessary, the high standards of service our guests have come to expect from us. I have therefore met with the managers responsible to investigate and the following has come to light :

- Our records indicate that you were booked through the merchant website booking.com and offered with room Le Corset which is actually a beautiful room. As you may understand, we are not able to confirm a specific room through an offer made on booking.com. The only category you can select on Booking.com is either The Love Suite or one of the available rooms at the time of reservation. In order to please you, we consequently adjusted your bill prior to your departure. We will recommend for your next stay to book your stay directly with us, getting a specific room type.

- Please accept our apologies for your less than perfect breakfast experience. Additional training has now been given to ensure that even the newest members of the team are fully up to speed and offer you a perfect French Tradition breakfast experience.

This I mention by way of explanation only and certainly not as an excuse for the disappointment we caused. Please do not hesitate to contact me personally when you next plan to travel to Aix en Provence, so that we can correct the impression you currently have of La Maison d’Aix.

Laura JUHEN

Manager La Maison d’Aix

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

This hotel is so great that I would not want to tell anyone but keep it to myself!
Location is ideal for visiting Aix-en-Provence, shops and places of interests are all within walking distances. Breakfasts are included with local fresh fruit served. The hotels facilities are great, staffs are friendly and provided very good recommendation to visit and dine in the town. Out of all these lovely things that they offered, you just feel like home staying in this property.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vvll712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de France
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de Fr...
#3 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
657 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa Gallici
Villa Gallici
#2 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
451 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Provence Centre - MGallery By Sofitel
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Prov...
#5 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hotel
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hote...
#4 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
907 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aquabella Hotel
Aquabella Hotel
#15 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
1,149 reviews
0.6 mi away
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
#6 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison d'Aix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison d'Aix

Address: 25 rue du 4 Septembre, 13100, Aix-en-Provence, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
#1 Business Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
#1 Luxury Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
#1 Spa Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range: $228 - $486 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Maison d'Aix 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Maison d’Aix takes the stage as one of the Provence’s most prestigious travel addresses. I deally located in the historic « quartier Mazarin » area, a short walk from the Cours Mirabeau, La Maison d'Aix is an exceptional place, with 3 luxurious rooms and a private suite. « Le Corset », « La Chambre d'Henriette », « Love »... Each room is fully dedicated to the comfort of the body and the mind, while enjoying the latest technologies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your La Maison d'Aix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison d`Aix Hotel Aix-En-Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing