We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply Lovely” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Aix en Provence Ste Victoire

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mercure Aix en Provence Ste Victoire
Ranked #15 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
middle england
Level Contributor
222 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Simply Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

A sympathetically converted Mas with all the amenities of a modern hotel, located in a quiet spot about 8km from Aix.
The rooms were bright, spacious and airy, with quiet and efficient air conditioning ( most essential as the temperature was bordering on 40Deg C). The bathroom area was impeccably clean and beautifully designed, the bed very comfortable. The wi fi worked well and was easy to access.
The pool was located abut 100m from the main building and was of a good size and well maintained. Drinks were available if desired.
The breakfast service was however a bit of a disaster. There was never sufficient crockery or cutlery and imagine running out of croissants in france. The milk kept disappearing as if it was rationed!
I suppose that was a bit of a niggle and may have just been a bad day which should not detract from the great pleasure we had of staying here.
In particular the Hotel nestled beneath an escarpment which gave the place some kind of magical quality

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mottyandfluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    210
    71
    40
    8
See reviews for
47
262
25
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
313 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed in many Accor hotels on this trip because I was having a knee problem and wanted to be sure that I stayed in hotels with elevators or, in this case, on the ground floor. This hotel looked like the type of hotel we wish we had stayed in more often -- in the country, spread out, with a lovely terrace, etc. But it didn't live up to our expectations.

We arrived at 4 PM and were told our room would be ready soon. A half hour later, we were taken to a lovely room on the ground floor, as I had requested, but the Internet wasn’t working, the TV wouldn’t display the English channels, the A/C was set at 17 degrees (about 68), the shower rain head was crazy until my husband figured out how to adjust it, the yellow paint on the walls was peeling, etc.

We had dinner on the lovely terrace, but it also didn't live up to expectations. The “Brick de Chevre” was a pastry-covered chevre that was supposed to be on roquette croquant, but was on lettuce. The large magrets de canard were both supposed to be “à point” - one was, the other was cooked through.

The next day, we returned to the hotel at 4:30 and our room hadn’t been made up yet. We mentioned this to reception and were told that it would be done, but by 6:00 it still wasn’t. They finally were finishing when we returned from the terrace to dress for dinner (at another restaurant) at sevenish.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chandolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
205 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We were perplexed by this place. The building is stunning, and the setting is lovely, although the main road is very very busy and our room was right next to it, which meant if you had the (very small) windows open, it was really LOUD. It is in a charming old farmhouse and should be lovely, but but but. We actually came to the conclusion that a) perhaps they are operating on a very short lease and therefore milking it without being able to invest and that b) the general manager isn't doing his best. Inside it is not a Provencal "mas" but pure Mercure - so the decor in our room, which could so easily have been "Provencal-ed" up a bit (a print of lavender on the walls, any other wall colour than Claret for our large, dark room) had two random African prints and maroon touches, skinny towels, and measly pillows. Downstairs, the restaurant was in a lovely setting overlooking the lavender beds, but had a strangely unappealing and slightly expensive menu (it also had a lovely indoor room with a beautiful antique fireplace, for the cooler months), so we didn't eat there. However, the bar, which opened onto the restuarant terrace, was like a student bar/cheap corporate bar. The pool was great but the toilets had not been swept for - seriously - about a week or two. There were leaves that had blown into the corner of both loos and had time to gather a bit of water, and then stain the floor. The pool towels we borrowed on our first afternoon and left on the pool bar were still there the following evening! No one bothered to straighten out the loungers in the morning. A single, foldup bed had been used by the previous occupants of our room, and remained outside it for the entirety of our stay (2 nights), instead of being tidied away. We arrived at 5pm but our room wasn't ready and we were told it would be 30 mins (not a problem in itself - we were happy to sit by the pool and they were obviously full, with "problem" guests who hadn't checked out on time). But it took an hour to do the room, no one asked if we might like a drink (the bar was only a very short walk away) and no one then came to tell us the room was ready - when we went to ask we were told it had JUST been done. Breakfast was fine and friendly, but the fit-out of the room just didn't fit the style of the place. I guess that if they are running full, they don't really need to bother that much, but I still think that for a bit more effort in terms of service and fit-out they could actually add value through higher rates. Would not bother to stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't have one next to the road! We were in 30.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FSHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
87 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Very pleased with the hotel. Our room was clean and spacious. There's a pleasant outside terrace and there are lovely views of the surrounding countryside and Cezanne's mountain. The only downside is that the hotel is very close to a main road. However, you don't hear any traffic noise from the rooms - they are well insulated. We chose this hotel as a base to explore Aix-en-Provence as we did not want to stay in the town. You're near enough to get there easily and it's a great escape at the end of the day. We had a superb meal in a restaurant in the nearby village - better than any meal we had elsewhere in Provence!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy08London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 1 night during a trip from Arles to Antibes and were not disappointed. The location is slightly further out of Aix than we initially thought (20 mins) but the hotel is quite charming with great views of the hills around. It is away from the busy city but you could drive back easily as you are on the highway already. Our room was on the ground floor facing into the courtyard and was very spacious and quiet and the windows are soundproofed. We arrived quiet late and decided to eat at their restaurant. The restaurant was quiet and the food lovely with generous servings. Their brûlée was the best i have had so far. Also we tried the local rosé from the vineyard across the road which was very pleasant. All in all a great place to stop.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TahleePerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Level Contributor
127 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

I am travelling quite frequently in this area. This time I choosed this hotel, frankly because was the only one with available rooms, at the last minute.
The only drawback is it is close (actually is almost on top of....) a traffic route. Nonetheless, rooms are soundproof at a decent level, and maybe your room will not be the closest to the road....
On the positive side: rooms are new, clean and very confortable. The area around is alos very nice with a view on Sainte-Victoire and lot of green of the country side.
I did not tried any of the facilities, but breakfast, which is also of good quality.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms looking at the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Davide A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
6.7 mi away
Escale Oceania Aix En Provence
Escale Oceania Aix En Provence
#9 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
8.0 mi away
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hotel
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hote...
#3 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
8.0 mi away
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
#8 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de France
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de Fr...
#2 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
7.8 mi away
Aquabella Hotel
Aquabella Hotel
#12 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hotel Cezanne
Hotel Cezanne
#5 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Aix en Provence Ste Victoire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Aix en Provence Ste Victoire

Property: Mercure Aix en Provence Ste Victoire
Address: La Galiniere Rn 7, 13790, Aix-en-Provence, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Aix en Provence Ste Victoire 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Aix en Provence Ste Victoire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing