We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Doing a good job but could do better” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'Hotel Particulier 28 a Aix

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aix-en-Provence
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
L'Hotel Particulier 28 a Aix
Ranked #24 of 65 Aix-en-Provence B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
109 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Doing a good job but could do better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2011

I agree entirely with what flashpackers808 said. Every single word. The hotel is in a very nice old building in a great location in central aix. The common areas are pretty and tastefully decorated (Sophie clearly has great taste, in a very French way). The staff (1 on at a time) are friendly and helpful. My impression was that the 3 more expensive rooms are very large. The smallest room is a reasonable size.

But let's not forget that these are expensive rooms in what is essentially an up-market B&B. I don't mind paying top hotel prices for an up-market B&B but with all the savings allowed to the latter (fewer facilities, no room service, far fewer staff) you expect to either get better value for money or some noticeably better accommodation.

I just didn't quite get that feeling. The breakfast is fine (not disgusting or anything) but hardly outstanding. It is an insult to guests paying top rates to provide a very basic mini-bar and then charge prices like 5 euro for a can of soft drink. As flashpackers808 pointed out, room 2 seems to have some drainage issues - a very noisy mechanism and a constant mildly unpleasant smell are disappointing at this class of hotel.

I thought that Sophie was very nice indeed and so don't want to insult her hotel. She has made a real effort to make a very nice place and has obviously succeeded (the other reviews are testament to that). But I did think at these prices a few things could have been better.

Would fresh croissants, proper yoghurt (not cheap supermarket 6-packs spooned into a little cup), the option of a boiled egg or something and leaf tea or at least top-level tea and coffee be too much to ask? Yes at a B&B perhaps but not at somewhere aspiring to be a luxury small hotel. They are clearly saving money by only having one staff member on at a time but that saving causes a reduction in the quality of service which is not reflected in the rates.

Similarly, at these prices in this kind of hotel, a free minibar with some good water and beer options and two snack options is not essential but would be appreciated. Certainly hotel bar prices for coke and water is over the top.

I will leave it there. This is a critique, not an attack. I would not at all hesitate to stay here again but I might review my options first. This may well be the best place in aix-en-provence but, on a larger scale, my assessment overall is "trying hard but could do better".

Room Tip: Erm, the prices give it away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gourmet_Vegetarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    12
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
13
69
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2011

I made a reservation based on previous Trip Advisor reviews and was not disappointed. This boutique B&B offers unmatchable service and care, and is located in a prime spot near the Vieille Ville. Michel went above and beyond in terms of helping us plan out our itinerary, where to dine and also made my father's birthday one to remember. Because there are only 4 rooms in this B&B, Michel was able to devote so much of himself to all of the guests. One aspect to keep in mind - this B&B does not offer services that a bigger hotel may offer - no swimming pool, no free parking, but in my opinion, it is still an experience that I would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jec8c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2011

My wife and I spent one night here in October 2010 and wished we could have spent several more. We absolutely loved this hotel. Our room was spacious, incredibly comfortable, and well appointed. The bathroom, and particularly the HUGE bathtub, was excellent.

In addition to a beautiful hotel in an ideal location for exploring Aix, the service was outstanding. Michel was very helpful when we reserved the room over the phone and was very funny and full of good sightseeing advice in person. He's entirely charming. We also appreciated the owner letting us park in her parking spot. Parking in Aix is not plentiful.

As for dining, I would strongly recommend the Tapas Cafe. We got there by going north on Rue Paul Doumer and taking a left on Rue Victor Leydet (it's much easier than it sounds). The atmosphere was a lot of fun and the food was outstanding.

Aix is an incredibly beautiful little city and this hotel is the perfect place to stay when you visit there. We would return in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Be nice to Michel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SDHokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the 28 while on a fall vacation in France. We loved our stay here! The hotel is so charming and the service was wonderful. Michele took wonderful care of us!! He recommended and reserved fabulous restaurants for us in Aix, we loved every place we ate at during our stay. He also helped us to plan day trips to other areas of provence, including the off the beaten path day trips to other areas of Provence we enver would have seen if it wasn't for his local knowledge. We had a wonderful time talking with him during breakfast and really felt like we were at home. The room was beautiful and impeccable cleaned each day. We just loved everything about our stay. Thank you to Michele and Marc for taking such good care of us!

The only improvement would be that the parking assocaited with the hotel is too far away, it was difficult to find. However, Michele solved the problem by accompanying us each time so we didn't get lost. We can't wait to return!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank efelicit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2010

Such a gorgeous place to stay in the beautiful Aix en Provence. Run by such lovely people, who made us feel very welcome, and gave us wonderful suggestions of where to eat over a delicious breakfast. We used 2 rooms (parents and kids), both were stunning and incredibly comfortable. A beautiful experience, so much more personal that a hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank georgia_farrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2010

I'm really sorry but I do not agree with most of the reviews on this page. This B&B (which is what this place is) is really only 'nice'. Not luxurious, not amazing, not gorgeous, just nice. We probably stayed in the least nice room, Room 2 as the other rooms were booked up and having been to many boutiquey style Hotels/B&Bs this one was distinctly average and displayed nothing to show that it was a truly luxurious place worthy of the price tag it displayed. For example defrosted mini croissants served for breakfast (not bakery fresh that I'd expect in such a place in France), verging on mouldy over ripe fruit salad, no tea/coffee in the rooms (one coffee machine on the landing next to a tip box (its 250 Euros a night for goodness sake - is asking for a tip next to the coffee machine really necessary?) Its the detail that make these places special and it was the lack of it that made me so disappointed. I also found the cleanliness of the whole place below that of a high end place. Everywhere needs to be refreshed and cleaned. Room 2 has drainage issues in the toilet, so there is a constant smell hanging not just in the bathroom but the whole room; also it is very noisy to flush. Pluses were its great location and free high speed internet. Having said all this, as Aix is heaving with tourists, its probably one of the better places to stay if you really want to visit the town.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank flashpackers808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2010

This place is simply amazing. It's not actually a hotel, it's just rooms but they are mind blowing. So so cool.

Such a wonderful change from the usual 5* experience.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benstopford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Negre Coste
Grand Hotel Negre Coste
#20 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel des Quatre Dauphins
Hotel des Quatre Dauphins
#39 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Concorde
Hotel Le Concorde
#14 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Saint Christophe
Hotel Saint Christophe
#36 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Maison d'Aix
La Maison d'Aix
#1 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maison Dauphine
Maison Dauphine
#8 of 65 in Aix-en-Provence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hotel Particulier 28 a Aix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hotel Particulier 28 a Aix

Property: L'Hotel Particulier 28 a Aix
Address: 28 rue du 4 Septembre, 13100, Aix-en-Provence, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the most beautiful district of Aix (le quatier Mazarin), the 28 A AIX is a mension of the 18th century with original floor and painting with all the modern confort (free wifi access, air conditioner, mini bar, idividual safe...). You will find a lovely garden and a large terrace to relax. Go to visit the place on the web site... ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing