We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, experience to be repeated.”
Review of Le Poivre D'Ane

Le Poivre D'Ane
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $43 - $51
Cuisines: Contemporary, Fusion, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent, experience to be repeated.”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Dined there on August 4.th and unfortunately only the day before leaving Aix-en-Provence.
Extremely sympathetic attendance by the owners with excellent dishes.
Had an entree of mousse of crab with icecream of foie gras.(Their suggustion). Brilliant!
Followed by meat, medium-rare, with vegetables al dente and a sauce I would wish to know how to prepare. Dessert and wine - justo follow their suggestions.
My wife had diferent plates but equally delicious.
Try it, you won't regret.
Reservations a must.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Riwola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    392
    169
    43
    14
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Illnau, Switzerland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A blast!”
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

from reservation to desert...truly amazing. reservation was reconfirmed, eventhough they had to call a foreign cellphone (charges). menu was fantastic value for money. service was friendly and they asked if they should decant our wine. winelist was comprehensive compared to peers. we will come back for sure! reserve in advance!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PhilWes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“This should be #1 in Aix - or anywhere”
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

We called at just after six in the evening but were able to get a table for two at 7:30 pm. We looked at the menus and they looked interesting. The food itself went far beyond out expectations. My wife's carpaccio was superb - I know, I tasted it. And my foie gras with a section of lobster tail embedded in it was the best I have ever tasted.

We both went for the filet de boeuf and each was cooked exactly as ordered. The accompanying vegetables (6 of them) were al dente and full of flavour.

For dessert I had the cheese variation on millefeuil and it was unbelievable. My wife's apricot cheesecake was very tasty - she said. All was washed down with a very reasonably priced Viognier. This was a meal to remember well served by the two energetic waitresses.

Do not miss this one.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mmmikemoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A Mecca for foodies in Aix”
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

I went to this restaurant last night and had an incredible meal for around 130 for two people inclusive of food and wine. The three course menu had fantastic choices and i had two seafood specialties that were amazing. The food, wine, service,and ambiance make this a destination for foodies. The desert was an ethereal chocolate cake ! I will return every time. Am in Aixe. Not to be missed!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ted A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Dinner”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Make sure you reserve in advance to experience this gem. We were expecting traditional French but were pleasantly surprised with the unique nature of the food which fused French with all sorts of other cuisines. The price-fixe is a great value and is just the right amount of food. To start we ordered the carpaccio de filet mignon de porc iberique and the entree of the day, chipotle dusted shrimps. Both dishes were a delicious combination of unique flavours. As mains we ordered the scallop pisotto and the dish of the day - monk fish with a slab of seared fois gras on top. The fish itself was not very flavourful but was a fantastic vehicle for the fois gras. For dessert, the apricot cheesecake was lovely but the sable chocolat-noisette was the winner. It tasted like nutella on an almond crust! Decadent! Service was friendly and the courses while brought to the table promptly were well spaced. The wine list was great and apertifs are a must try here!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gabriella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Poivre D'Ane also viewed

Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Le Poivre D'Ane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing