We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware!”
Review of Licandro Le Bistro

Licandro Le Bistro
Ranked #19 of 1,057 Restaurants in Aix-en-Provence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $36
Restaurant details
Reviewed June 13, 2019 via mobile

We decided to have dinner here based on the excellent reviews, but the whole experience was thoroughly average. The food was ok, but definitely not worth the price. My husband ordered the 3 course menu and I ordered a la carte, and we mentioned to the waitress that we would share the dessert. When the bill arrived, we noticed that we had been charged for each dish individually, rather than the (lower) menu price. When we queried this, we were told it was because we shared the dessert and the menu "is not for sharing". This was never explained to us, and we have never come across this at any other restaurant. Given that we had eaten at L’Ancienne Épicerie the night before (which was 1000 times better and half the price), this place left a lot to be desired. Would not recommend.

Date of visit: June 2019
2  Thank Sneha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (365)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 365 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2019 via mobile

Small place in the historic center, definitely better to book a table in advance.

Negative:
- table really close one to another
- our waitress spoke only French

Positive:
- staff really kind
- amazing food well prepared with all fresh ingredients
- great value for money

You are going to leave the place with your belly happy and a big smile on your face.

Date of visit: May 2019
1  Thank Flavia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2019

Really nice, flexible set menu options. Great wine options.
Almost spoiled by a slightly rude phone call as we were late (we’d already phoned 3 times with no answer and also emailed) for our reservation. Our waitress thereafter was excellent though.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kman2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2019

We loved this restaurant. My wife and I had dinner here and it was a great experience. There was a complimentary Chef starter, then Pate with pickled veggies, Veal Breast Confit, finished with a creme brulee with red fruits. Every course was great. Great quality, excellent presentation and great service. We loved the experience and hope to return someday. We also had a bottle of wine suggested by waiter that was great.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BigDaddy3859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2018 via mobile

Classical bistro atmosphere and cuisine. Few staff running around, trying to accommodate everyone, the menu on a board that is moved around. We opted for the 42€ menu with foie gras and pigeon, followed by cheese, and were satisfied. Would go again.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank dkbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Licandro Le Bistro also viewed

Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Licandro Le Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing