We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Comfortable Hotel”
Review of Hotel Le Concorde

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Le Concorde
Ranked #10 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This is a very nice hotel close to the centre of the town, Cours Mirabeau, the main shopping boulevard and restaurants etc. rooms are located via a courtyard and some have verandas, and there are areas to sit outside.
Rooms are clean and spacious with air conditioning and mini bar and safe. Very helpful staff, particularly the proprietor Claire and Marjorie, who all speak very good English.
There is a supermarket next door for convenience. We stayed during the International Music Festival and the cost was reasonable.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mikemorfey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager13100, Propriétaire at Hotel Le Concorde, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013
Google Translation

Cher client,

Nous vous remercions de votre avis posté sur Trip advisor et sommes très heureux d'avoir contribué à la réussite de votre séjour à Aix en Provence durant le festival d'Art lyrique. Effectivement notre hôtel est idéalement situé et nos chambres situées sur la cour et le patio sont très calmes, autant l'hiver que l'été.

Nous vous souhaitons une très bonne journée et espérons vous revoir lors d'un prochain passage au festival !

Bien cordialement.

Claire Merra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (459)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 459 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

This accommodation is a two-star,located,a hop away from provedors, cafes and the ambiance of central Aix. It is five minute walk from the famous Cours Mirabeau .
The rooms are generous with large bathroom.Those facing the street are noisy, so ask for the ones at the back of the hotel with a lovely terrace with roof- top views,uninterrupted, to the hills in the distance.
There is a garage, lifts and book exchange in the parlor which is well stocked with flyers and books The staff are absolute magic.Helped with info,attractions and even spending hours,finding and booking our next adventure in Avignon. Couldn't be better.
Skip breakfast,even though the toast smelled tantalizing. There are fab eateries and cafes so close at hand. If you like preparing food yourself....there is a deli,charcuterie,cheese shop and fabulous artisan bread outlets within a minute walk..........in fact ,the butcher shop has fresh cooked options if you prefer to dine in. There is an organic health food store where you can get proper cereal. You are 10 minutes walk from rail and bus stations. The local bus stops at the hotel door. This hotel suits families, couples or singles First class on all counts

Room Tip: Back rooms facing the hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager13100, Propriétaire at Hotel Le Concorde, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013
Google Translation

Chers clients, nous vous remercions d'avoir pris du temps pour poste un avis sur notre établissement.
Nous sommes très heureux que vous ayez été satisfaits de votre séjour, notre équipe mettant un point d'honneur à satisfaire vos demandes et à contribuer à la réussite de votre séjour.

Si un jour vous repassez par Aix en Provence, nous serons heureux de vous accueillir à nouveau.

Bien amicalement.

Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We had a standart room with backyard view and a patio, stayed 2 nights, so everything described below is confirmed twice.

Positive:
(1) Excellent location - rigth next to the city center
(2) Fairly large room and a bathroom
(3) Refrigirator in the room

Concerns:
(1) About 8 steps from the street to the elevator, so be ready to lift your luggage.
(2) Huge old keys that have to be returned to the reception all the time you get out.

Negative:
(1). Dirty floor in the room: our white socks became black within 10 minutes. Especially, seems that noone washes floor on the patio for months (I can tell that by large clouds of dust in the corners there), so we had to wear shoes there at all times.
(2) Poor bedding: no duvet covers - only a sheet and 2 duvets of different density, it becomes a mess by the morning.
(3) Showerhead that sprays all the way around.
(4) Shower curtain that lets water through, so the floor becomes wet all the time you take a shower.
(5) Shower gel in small bottles that simply doesn't flow out, it's very hard to get it out, it comes out in chunks of gel when you shke it very hard, so I recommend brining yours.

The bottom line: the main things I care about hotels is shower experience and bedding. As you can see in this hotel these points are resonably poor.
So, it's up to you to decide. I'm not sure that this hotel is worth it. Aix-en-Provence has a good bus network, so if you are looking for EUR 100 per night I'd reccomed checking something a bit farther out, than choosing to stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smagister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager13100, Propriétaire at Hotel Le Concorde, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013
Google Translation

Chers clients, nous vous remercions d'avoir pris un moment pour poste un avis sur notre hôtel.

Cependant, il semble que vos ayez été déçu par votre séjour et souhaitons apporter les précisions suivantes :
- les porte clés sont en métal, de facture classique, certes un peu lourds, mais la clé peut toujours être laissée à la réception (c'est d'ailleurs ce que font la plupart des clients).
- les moquettes des chambres sont shampooinnées deux fois par an,
- Il n'est pas normal que votre balcon n'ait pas été propre, car ceux-ci doivent systématiquement être nettoyés en même temps que la chambre. Vous auriez du le signaler dès votre arrivée, nous aurions fait le nécessaire immédiatement.
- Shampooing défectueux : il est possible que votre flacon ait été défectueux en vous prions de nous en excuser, nous allons vérifier ce point avec notre fournisseur.

En tous cas nous tenons compte de vos remarques dans le cadre de l'amélioration continue et si un jour vous repassez par Aix en Provence nous serions heureux de vous accueillir à nouveau afin que vous puissiez juger de nos progrès.

Bien sincèrement,

Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Good location on the edge of Old Town about a 15-20 minute walk from the bus station. Friendly English speaking staff. The room decor is a bit dated but that didn't bother me too much as it was clean, the bed was comfortable and there was plenty of hanging space for clothes and an in-room safe (but no mini-bar fridge even though the person who checked us in gave us a mini-bar list to fill in). The window overlooked a main street, but I didn't find it too noisy when the window was shut ... but the noise from the elevator and the toilet door banging in the hallway was more annoying (some rooms had to share a toilet in the hallway, we had our own in our bathroom). The bathroom didn't have anywhere to hang your towels which was very odd. A few hooks would have been helpful! Free fast wifi. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to budget minded folks.

Room Tip: Some rooms have to share a toilet, you might want to check this when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CCQ01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager13100, Propriétaire at Hotel Le Concorde, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013
Google Translation

Chers clients, nous vous remercions d'avoir pris un moment pour poste un avis sur notre hôtel.
Nous vous remercions pour vos remarques concernant l'équipement dans la salle de bains, nous allons remédier à ceci au plus vite.
Effectivement, nous avons changé les fenêtre donnant sur la rue, et avons installé des fenêtres phoniques, limitant au maximum le bruit de la rue. La climatisation a également été installée récemment dans toutes les chambres doubles donnant sur la rue, ce qui n'est pas toujours évident dans un hôtel 2 étoiles.
Si un jour vous repassez par Aix en Provence, nous serons ravis de vous accueillir à nouveau.
Bien sincèrement.

Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Yes, great location. I wish I had read my reservation confirmation carefully, since I would have seen that my room had a shared toilet and I would have canceled it. Not sure how that slipped by me when reserving at booking.com. But it was not so bad. My room had a shower and sink, and the toilet was down the hall and never in use when I wanted it.

Good things, aside from being right on the edge of the historic city center, just a few blocks from the Cour Mirabeau: has a garage for 10 euro/night. Room was OK, a bit cute in a budget way. But not what I would call nice -- adequate. No A/C, and the window opened to a busy, noisy street.

Room Tip: Make sure you get one with a toilet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank formershrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

A nightmare to find even with the satnav as Aix has a one way system we drove round and round for almost an hour before finally finding it. Very good location for walking into the centre. Carpet on the stairs up to reception very worn and dirty, staff friendly and spoke good English, our room was no 26 right up in the attic and was appalling. Lift to 3rd floor then a flight of stairs not at all suitable for the disabled. The private underground car park was a bvery tight fit, our keys had to be left in reception so the owner could move the cars as people needed to get in and out - this worried us as for a one night stop we did not want to take all our baggage into the room.. The bathroom was appalling the sink was cracked and the tiling and plumbing were beyond belief, the skylight was about the worst window I have ever seen, the sort of thing we saw in FRance 30 years ago!.. We complained but were told they were 'full' and this was the last room available even though we had booked in February! In the morning we had a chance to peep into some of the other rooms and they looked quite pleasant. Pretty breakfast room overlooking the garden but breakfast typically French and poor value for 9 euro.

Room Tip: Do not book if room 26 is the only one available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Good hotel overall - the room was spacious, clean, there was also an outdoor area with tables and chairs just outside the room (shared by a few rooms) if you wanted to hang out outside. A few mins walk from the old town. The receptionist fairly friendly, helpful and English speaking. Breakfast at 9 Euro is OK but you might as well go in town for a breakfast to get better value for your money.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ariadna_asia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
0.7 mi away
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
#6 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
678 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Provence Centre - MGallery By Sofitel
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Prov...
#5 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
975 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aquabella Hotel
Aquabella Hotel
#15 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel du Globe
Hotel du Globe
#9 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
573 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Mozart Hotel
Le Mozart Hotel
#11 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
404 reviews
0.9 mi away
Escale Oceania Aix En Provence
Escale Oceania Aix En Provence
#12 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Concorde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Concorde

Address: 68 boulevard du Roi Rene, 13100, Aix-en-Provence, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range: $84 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Le Concorde 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Le Concorde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing