We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
L'epicerie - Une chambre en ville
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed September 30, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights at the end of September. Our first challenge was to find a parking space as these are at a premium in Aix. Fortunately, there is a large underground car park in the adjacent square to l'Epicerie, where you can leave your car for 15 euros per day.

We stayed in room 'Vanilla', a lovely double room that overlooked the back garden. It came with air-con (not that we needed this), and a great en-suite that has the best shower that I have had in ages! It's like being in a waterfall. The room was very clean and the bed was extremely comfortable (if you like firm beds). Our room also came with a TV, and guests can also access Luc's WiFi. We couldn't get a very strong signal in our room, but it was good enough to do the simple things we needed to on our laptop.

L'Epicerie is in a superb location. Situated on a very quiet street, it is just off a square that accommodates around 12 restaurants, and a couple of minutes walk from the Hotel du Ville, and 5 mins walk from the Mirabau.

Breakfasts were the highlight. Taken around a large communal table underneath the awning in the garden, they are a good way of meeting the other guests. Luc prepares different local dishes every day, washed down with coffee or a large array of teas, and accompanied by the ubiquitous baguette, and amazing home made jams (melon, peach, apricot, strawberry, mango, raspberry, grape). For our first breakfast we had a waffles with jam and cream, followed by Brouillade, a local dish. (eggs, emmental cheese and balsamic vinegar). On the second morning we had some wonderful crepes.

We had a wonderful stay with Luc at l'Epicerie. The food was marvellous, the conversation was interesting, and the room was clean, comfortable and with an amazing shower! If we return to Aix we would stay here again, and will certainly recommend to our friends! It's also great value for Provence!

Room Tip: Room 'Vanilla' overlooks the back garden and has an amazing shower! But, you are on the 2nd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rex_Beardsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    55
    10
    5
    4
See reviews for
30
134
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sanfr
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Spent 3 nights at l'epicerie. The house was very comfortable. The owners were very accommodating and quick to respond to any inquaries. All guests that stay at l'epicerie are very pleased with the cleanliness and the compfort of the home. I would certainly recommend it to friends, and hope to someday stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryhel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budd Lake, New Jersey
Level Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Our 3 night stay in Aix was everything we were hoping for -charming, good food and great accomodations. L'epicerie is a lovely b&b in a great location in Aix. We stayed in the Pain d'epices room which was a great size, very clean, with great bathroom! The property itself is beautiful-garden in back and charming breakfast area, however, the nicest surprise about this b&b is it's owner. Luc is incredibly helpful, a great cook, and accomodating making you truly feel like his house is your house. Superb stay, we can't wait to return!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We stayed with friends for one night at the hotel and were delighted with it. Our rooms were charming with lovely bathrooms and walk in showers.

We had the first truly French style breakfast we have eaten anywhere. Puy lentils with smoked salmon, onions and garnish followed by a frangipane and pear tart, then baguettes and lovely jams. Tea and coffee in large bowls. The garden and reception areas are very individual with lots of brick-a-brac and fun things to look at.

The hotel is well situated in the old centre of Aix and a short walk to lovely old squares and places of interest.

We would recommend this hotel, except for the parking as noted below.

The down side for us was that you cannot park anywhere near the hotel. The entrance is on a narrow oneway street. We arrived at a very busy time and although we only had a few bags to unload we soon had an impatient line of cars waiting for us to move. We were not sure of the area and put our car in a nearby carpark which cost 15 euros for 24 hours. If taking a car I would advise doing your homework first to sort out a cheaper place to park.

Room Tip: We had a twin room which was on the 2nd floor without a lift, so if you have problems with stairs, c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kintyre22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

This B and B was a nice surprise - the owner was incredibly nice and helpful. Our bedroom were clean and the entire B and B had a lot of character and charm. It was named after the grocery shop and got a lot of antic related to. Could not recommend this B and B more - it was superb!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Very homely and confortable B&B in the heart of Aix-en-Provence. It's 5 mins walkingn from all the places you'd want to go in the town. It has one of the best, if not the best, breakfast in town with Luc serving his increduble Provence specialities much to the delight of anyone who stays here.
The suite has an amazing feel and would really recommend it.

Recommended with 5 stars !

Room Tip: Go for the suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chaitdesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This B and B was a delight to stay in - the owner was incredibly friendly and helpful. The bedrooms were spacious and clean and the entire B and B had a lot of character and charm. Could not recommend this B and B more - it was superb!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greenleaf201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
0.1 mi away
Aquabella Hotel
Aquabella Hotel
#14 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
1,075 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Globe
Hotel du Globe
#9 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
534 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cezanne
Hotel Cezanne
#6 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
#7 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
632 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Provence Centre - MGallery By Sofitel
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Prov...
#8 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
765 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Maison d'Aix
La Maison d'Aix
#1 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'epicerie - Une chambre en ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'epicerie - Une chambre en ville

Property: L'epicerie - Une chambre en ville
Address: 12 rue du Cancel, 13100, Aix-en-Provence, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your L'epicerie - Une chambre en ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Epicerie - Une Chambre En Ville Hotel Aix-En-Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing