We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mecca for artists”

Musee Renoir/Les Collettes
France
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Mecca for artists”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I had never visited Renoir's house before, so can only I imagine how atmospheric it must have been before the renovation, based on other reviews.
Nevertheless, it is a beautiful house and, for an amateur artist like myself, an absolute must for a visit to the Côte d'Azur. I spent a very happy couple of hours visiting and sketching in the house and garden. I really felt as though I was following in the footsteps of a hero. I loved the ancient olive trees and old farm building and it was wonderful to see Renoir's own paintings of the views and landscape as well as paintings of his artist friends.
Sadly, the artist's studio itself is completely sterile and looks more like a hospital than an artist's workshop; they really need to do something about that and I hope their visitor reviews encourage them to do so. There are no canvases, no tubes of paint, just a wheelchair and an empty palette, and yet we can see from the old photos exactly how it used to look. Such a shame.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank judithchrisal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    18
    3
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Renovation has resulted in a complete lack of atmosphere”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We have visited the Musee Renoir on two previous occasions, and were looking forward to our most recent visit. Entry now €6, with no reduction for seniors. What a disappointment! The highlight for us had always been Renoir's studio, with the room 'dressed' in the same way as the painting set in the same room. Oh dear- all the backdrops, props, drapes etc were gone. Just a few items of furniture that made it look like any other room in any museum. Completely devoid of character. Hopefully, the curator will read the many comments along these lines that have been written in the Visitors Book and revert the staging of this room to its previous charm.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Ruby067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“vandalism of a beautiful house and garden!”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Living in the area we have visited the Renoir house on many occasions and were looking forward to seeing it again after its recent renovation.
What a disaster!
The house has been cleaned up, re-painted, polished floors, with lilac radiators!!!
Renoir's studio, which previously looked as if he had just walked out with a painting on the easel, brushes, paints and artists smock is now a bare room with just a few sticks of furniture.
The house never had many of his paintings, but it did have a nice atmosphere. Now the house has been sanitised. It is too clean and all of the atmosphere has been lost.
Even worse, Renoir's beautiful garden has been divided in two by a new visitors centre (ticket sales, toilet and coffee machines) and a car park - completely spoiling the view from the house and the garden where we used to wander.
This is municipal vandalism of the worst sort and we can no longer recommend this house as worth visiting.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Arthur M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A gem worth visiting!”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Our tour guide for Cote d'Azur recommended Musee Renoir after hearing us mention that we are interested in art. Really glad we decided to stop by for a few hours. The area is very quiet and pleasant to walk through. The gardens and the house give off a charming feel and the house itself is beautiful. If you're looking to see actual works of Renoir, you're better off going to Paris at the d'Orsay. But as a glimpse into Renoir's last years - definitely worth a visit. The furniture and rooms are left the way they were when Renoir and family lived there which make you feel like you're going back in time. The views from the balcony are absolutely stunning and the people who work there are extremely nice and you can tell love where they work and are very knowledgable about Renoir and his time there. We were also pleasantly surprised at the entrance - my sister and I didn't even have to pay for entrance as we were under 26. Definitely worth a visit if you are in the area and are looking for a glimpse into the artists' life in the Riviera.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank khrys_2117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, East Yorkshire, UK
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Slightly Disappointing, But Cost Us Nothing...”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We were holidaying in Antibes, and found the Renoir Museum quite by chance. When we parked up on the steeps streets, close to the entrance we realised that the museum was shut :-) or at least so the signs said. The gates were locked, so we thought we'd had a wasted visit.

We later saw children walking up the hill with "craft" that they'd done somewhere, so we continued to look for another entrance. Sure enough there was another entrance, and it was indeed open. In fact it was the first day that it had opened following an extension closure for refurbishment.

Presumably because it was the first day of opening, we were allowed in for free, which was an unexpected pleasure.

The house itself didn't open for an hour or so, so we sat on the hills overlooking Haut de Cagnes (see my other reviews). There were reproductions of Renoir's paintings of the views we were experiencing first hand. The heat was relentless under the afternoon sun, and we sought shade under some trees as we waited for the house to open it's doors.

Eventually we were allowed in. There wasn't much to see, but there was the occasional old photo of Renoir in the house, so you could see how little it had changed in the time since he lived there.

There was little in the way of explanation of anything about Renoir nor his life. I appreciate that original Renoir paintings will be worth hundreds of thousands of Euro's, so it wasn't entirely surprising that there were very few of his painting there on display. There were a couple of burly security guards keeping on eye on everyone it has to be said.

It was nice to visit, but I think that if we'd have paid anything for the privilege of walking around the house, then we would have been disappointed. It wasn't a museum as such, and we left knowing absolutely nothing more about the man, or his life there.

We're not cultural Neanderthals, and we always like to increase our knowledge of people, and places, but this place left us feeling the need to find out more. Fortunately the internet filled in all the gaps for us once we returned to our holiday home.

Thanks for reading.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank EastYorkshireFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musee Renoir/Les Collettes also viewed

Cagnes-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Alpes-de-Haute-Provence, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur
 
Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, France
Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, France
 

Been to Musee Renoir/Les Collettes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing