We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than average Ibis”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Styles Poitiers Centre
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Poitiers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2014

The hotel is right in the centre of Poitiers which is a bonus. It is indeed stylish but functional. The breakfast is decent but unexciting. The only problem was that we couldn't find the hotel parking in spite of directions from thereception staff. However we parked at the theatre and it was cheaper than it would have been at the hotel parking.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FionaDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (477)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 478 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2014

We booked a family room in this hotel at a reduced rate via the accor website. Upon booking we received an email from the reception with detailed driving instructions. This proved unnecessary as our gps took us to the right place immediately. The difficulty is that the hotel is in a one way street but it is in fact relatively easy to reach. Parking is at the back of the hotel and was less troublesome than expected. We had no difficulty manoeuvring our 4x4 down the ramp.
The hotel looks brand new but inside the rooms you can still see traces of its 2 star past. Nevertheless, the general feel is good. The room was decent sized, the kids got the fold-out couch and we had a good double bed. The bathroom is small but the toilet was separate which is practical. The decoration of the room was ok.
The hotel has no restaurant, but as you are located at 200m of the main square we had no problem in finding a nice place to eat. The location of this hotel is really excellent.
The breakfast took place in a room at -1 which was ok as the ground floor is actually a mezzanine and you have therefore very high ceilings at -1. The breakfast was good, with fresh orange juice and lots of treats for children (compote, yoghurt drinks). In the corner of the breakfast room a nice sitting area is located with a corner with video games for the children. While there was only one person manning both the reception and the breakfast room, everything was well organised and we didn´t have to wait. There were not many guests in the hotel though.
Parking was Eur 12 or 14 which is relatively expensive considering the fact that the hotel was nearly empty.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Budgetglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Don't be put off by the outskirts of this fantastic city, as I was a number of years ago. When you get to the centre you will find a new modern hotel, which is the Ibis Style, located in the centre of the old city of Poitiers . With walking distance of shops, bars and restaurants its location is great. Rooms are large and fitted with the latest mod cons and also free WiFi. I found staff very friendly and helpful. Due to a recent change in the one-way road system the Sat Nav is unable to navigate you to the hotel, which also makes it difficult for staff to direct you to its location. It's off the main square so its not that hard to find. The underground car park has a steep winding entrance, but just take it slowly in 1st gear and you will get in and out safely. Motorcyclists be aware of the smooth surfaces on the ramp and floor. Guys bring your credit card because this town has plenty of shopping for the girls.

Room Tip: I got a room on the first floor at the rear over the garage entrance, and it was nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muller999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

A hotel where even the staff at another Ibis could not give directions and, on the phone, I am not sure if the receptionists at the hotel knew where they were and how to get there. The parking access is dreadful and frightening unless you have a very small car.

A hotel without a bar!! and no other facilities except breakfast! No ice. The prices are premium and all you get is that it is close to the city centre.

Not good. I will book out of town next time and check public transport.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C-Rouziere, Directrice at Ibis Styles Poitiers Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013
Google Translation

Nous sommes désolés que vous n'ayez pas apprécié votre séjour dans notre établissement.
Nous souhaitons toutefois répondre aux points négatifs soulevés dans votre communication :
1. Nous savons que l'accès à notre hôtel est compliqué: nous mettons tout en oeuvre pour que le fléchage urbain soit amélioré au plus vite, un plan est systématiquement envoyé ou proposé lors de la réservation de votre chambre et notre équipe de réception est vraiment à l'écoute des soucis de guidage et vous aide au plus juste
2. Nous sommes conscients que la structure de notre batiment entraine effectivement un accès difficile dans notre parking : des feux de circulation seront installés dans les semaines à venir .
3. Nous n'avons pas de bar : nous mettons à la disposition de nos clients un service "boissons chaudes" , eaux minérales et jus de fruit offert , de plus , situé en plein centre ville , de nombreux bars et restaurants sont accessibles en quelques minutes à pied .
Grace aux commentaires " objectifs " de nos clients , nous améliorons tous les jours notre accueil et notre service ...nous espérons avoir le plaisir de vous recevoir à nouveau dans notre hôtel .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We took a punt and chose this hotel without any research and were very impressed. As it is only about 6 mths old it does still look new and the decor and design is very modern with a retro feel.
Check in was painless with a freindly girl who spoke good english. We had a twin room on the second floor which was very comfy and clean. The bathroom was modern with a great walk in shower.
Breakfast is a good continental with yoghurt, ceral, bread and croissants and freshly squeezed orange juice. The dining room is very modern and colourful.
The hotel is well st up for families as there is a good play area for kids with computers and also at breakfast there is kids dinner sets, drinks and yoghurts.
The only complaint I may have is the parking which is hard to find and tricky to get to and the hotel can not be driven to. But this is a minor detail. Otherwise the hotel is a good location, walking distance to the square and restuarants.

Room Tip: Room 203 was at the back and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valandroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Our next stop on the Tour de France was not listed in Tripadvisor, so we’ll skip to our next stop in Poitiers, which by the way, is quite a wonderful little place and we were glad we stopped here. We had originally booked at the Best Western, but for some reason they cancelled and so we switched to the Ibis Styles. And we were not disappointed.
Having read some of the other reviews, here are some pointers. If you put the address for the hotel in your GPS, you will likely pull up just short of the Hotel on the Rue Victor Hugo, which is a one way street and you will be going the wrong way. At a loss of where to go, I ignored the sign and simply drove down the wrong way and pulled up in front of the hotel, blocking a bus while I found out exactly where to go. Alas, the solution would have been simple as I found out. When facing the one way sign (the red one with the bar through the middle), turn left. At the next large intersection turn right and then turn right again and look for the green Ibis signs on the left side of the street. That is the access to the parking garage, which is still quite an adventurous affair, as noted in other reviews. Lighting appears to have been improved for as soon as we squeezed through the garage doors, the lights turn up brightly. The drop is still steep and not yet paved, but manageable. There is a sharp left turn right before hitting the bottom, which is quite interesting to maneuver, but if you drive around Europe, it won’t be anything more than another tight space. There was in fact a van down there, so even larger cars can manage (we drove a BMW X1). Several days later, while maneuvering through a parking garage in Germany, I found it was no tighter than that. Still the young lady at the desk, before I made the trip down the ramp, asked that I look at the garage and recommended we might want to consider parking at another hotel nearby.
The Ibis is nice, modern and new, which may not exactly transmit that old world historic feel, but after staying in a more “historical” place, this was a very nice change of pace and you won’t hear me complain. The elevator goes from the garage to the lobby or floor of your room, which is very convenient.
As mentioned in other reviews, the hotel staff is young, speaks good English and is very helpful. We got a nice large room with a bed, a sofa, a TV and lots of storage space. Everything here is made for modernity and convenience, and it pays off in my book.
What is most important about a hotel room? Aside from location, there is one main thing that a hotel should have, if it has nothing else, and that is a good bed. Whatever you think about the Ibis otherwise, it has the best beds that I have had in a hotel in a long time, and maybe even the best one ever. It was large enough, comfortable, great pillows and blankets, just a really great bed.
The TV at least offered BBC and CNN, so we could catch up on the news and wireless internet (for free) was also included. That’s a great bargain as well.
The bath was nice, had the appropriate amenities and was clean. The shower was great with plenty of space to move around and one of those rain showerheads that could be adjusted to several different settings.
Breakfast was a basic affair as is usual for the Ibis franchise. Coffee from a machine (grinds fresh), some pastries, jellies, cheese and cold cuts; nothing grand, but everything tasted just fine.
For the price I can’t think of any place better to stay, and I've stayed at nice places that had less comfortable beds. Did I mention the bed was great? Whether one night or several I would stay at this Hotel again in a heartbeat. It is also situated right off the main square and very convenient for all the sights Poitiers has to offer, as well as restaurants, galore. The street in front is quite noisy, but in the room you don’t hear anything, unless of course you open the window.
There is one other minor detail that would affect any Hotel in the center of Poitiers. If you travel with a pet, there isn't much green to be found anywhere. Pets are allowed at the Ibis, but to find a place where a dog used to grass can do it's business is a bit of a challenge. We did find a small park where my dog picked up brambles in her long fur, and the next day she was desperate enough to do her business on the pavement.

Room Tip: All rooms have excellent insulation and are quiet as long as the windows are shut.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whodunit99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Mariner79
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poitiers hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Poitiers Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
Best Western Poitiers Centre Le Grand Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel de l'Europe
Hotel de l'Europe
#2 of 35 in Poitiers
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Poitiers Centre
Ibis Poitiers Centre
#15 of 35 in Poitiers
425 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Poitiers Centre Gare
4.7 mi away
Best Western Le Bois De La Marche
Best Western Le Bois De La March...
#1 of 1 in Fontaine-le-Comte
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles Poitiers Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Poitiers Centre

Address: 7 rue Victor Hugo, 86000, Poitiers, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Vienne > Poitiers
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Poitiers
Price Range: $87 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles Poitiers Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Styles Poitiers Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing