We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One-night stay in Poitiers” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Poitiers Centre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mercure Poitiers Centre Hotel
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Poitiers
Certificate of Excellence
Aiken, South Carolina, Usa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One-night stay in Poitiers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

My sister and I had only a one-night stay-over in Poitiers in early October, 2013 and had reserved a twin room at Mercure Poitiers Centre on-line before we left the U.S. for our trip. We were pleased at how close to the city center the hotel is located: within a couple of blocks of several of the major tourism sites: the church of Notre-Dame-la-Grande and the Palais de Justice. Cafes, restaurants, shops and the Cordeliers shopping center are all very close. This hotel is located perfectly for travelers without a car. (We took a taxi between the train station and the hotel.)
The building of the hotel is a blend of a modern wing and a 19th-century church, complete with windows with stone tracery, pointed arches, columns with fluted capitals. We stayed in one of the less expensive rooms in the modern part of the hotel, but when I expressed disappointment in not being in the historic section, the wonderful concierge offered to take us on a tour of several of the vacant rooms. He gave us a personally guided tour of the historic part of the hotel, complete with commentary and a real enthusiasm for his place of employment: he took us into his "favorite" room which had many of the architectural elements (that I mentioned previously in this review). All the rooms he showed us were decorated in a blend of modern and period furnishings. The concierge also reserved a taxi for us for our time of departure and recommended local restaurants after praising the hotel's restaurant (which we did not choose because we wanted to dine out).
OK, so our room was in the modern part of the hotel: it was quiet, very clean, with a modern shower and fixtures in the bath, fridge, plenty of closet and counter space (more than in many hotels). The beds were comfortable with fluffy duvets. There are only two things to improve: the shower needed a grab bar since the shower floor was a very smooth surface; the carpeting showed evidence of a past stain, although the carpet was very clean and without any odor. (I'm obsessive about clean flooring.)
Overall, the Mercure Poitiers Centre receives a very good rating from us.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    174
    38
    13
    2
See reviews for
43
243
18
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Just what you would expect from a church. A lovely place to stay, staff were great and our room om fifth floor, basically the rafters of the converted church was great. Huge room, huge shower, the most restful sleep I have had in months.
A great location too, I had never thought of stopping in Poitiers, but will do again.
The restaurant looks great too, we never ate there, but they have kept the church look.
We even managed to perk outside the hotel, a local day told us we couldn't park there, however the hotel said we could, because we had a foreign registered car!
Do stay here it s worth it.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 26092014rmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed overnight in Poitiers to break up the drive from Chantilly to Medoc. Poitiers appeared to be a large, nothing exciting city as we drove in however, As soon as we turned into the cobblestoned street leading to our hotel entrance we were intrigued! Parked right outside the door! As Accor members we were treated with a large complimentary glass of champagne - Louis Roederer, cold & crisp- good start! I think the building was a converted old convent or church & the conversion had been done exquisitely with classy, modern finishings blending beautifully with the heritage of its architecture. Our room, although quite small had, every possible amenity expected & was very practical. Had dinner in the restaurant - 5 star service with Michelin star quality food & presentation, including several delightful amuse bouchée. We were so impressed as were obviously the other guests & locals as the large elegant room quickly filled. Breakfast was in a different charming bright room & was a great start to our next day of driving. Before leaving we had a quick wander around the nearby streets with its lovely little shops & cafes - very pretty!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerry67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Just here overnight en route from Montpellier to St Malo. What a gem of a place and an excellent deal as booked online months in advance.
Clean, large and modern room with the full range of amenities. Hair drier, tea/coffee making facilities, wifi, air con,
mini bar (expensive as all are!) and TV.
Big and comfy bed. Big bathroom with fab shower, clean towels plus complimentary wash products.
Welcoming, English speaking reception.
Amazing building .... details as in previous reviews..... quite a marriage between ancient and modern.
Nespresso coffee machine on first floor mezzanine level, lovely coffee on tap.
Booked evening meal in attached restaurant and v pleased we did. Served a first class meal with interesting 'amuse bouchée' bites between courses. Probably one of the most enjoyable meals we've ever had in a restaurant.....flavours, presentation and service all top notch.
Our first experience of a Mercure....based on this experience, won't be our last.
If you get the opportunity, we'd say 'stay here', we'll certainly be back.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

I almost hesitate to share this hidden gem.
The hotel is situated in a quiet street but is convenient to anywhere of this amazing city within walking distance. The architecture is uniquely created on basis of an ancient church - elegant and contemporary! The room is well designed and very clean and stylish. The staffs are very friendly and willing to help. Check out the hotel's restaurant for a romantic dinner. You won't regret!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buntingford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

As part of a road trip, and to celebrate my birthday we stayed here for one night. The reception staff were excellent and spoke good English and let us practice our French on them.

We parked directly outside which we were told was ok if you are English (!!?) and it was.

The room was lovely. I think it was in the newer part as there were no ornate carvings etc, but it was pretty big and very clean. A complimentary mini bar was great and the swish coffee machine was the best we had in our eight hotels on this trip. Big shower, big bed, big room.

Had a really good nights sleep.

We didn't eat in the restaurant but should have as we went wandering for dinner and got desperate in the town as there was not a lot going on food wise, and it was poor. My 40th birthday was saved by this lovely hotel because we weren't impressed by Poitiers and the treatment we got elsewhere.

Stay there and enjoy, but don't go too far as it won't beat this.

Room Tip: The basic ones are really good but you could always pay more for an exceptional one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poitiers hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Poitiers Centre
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Poitiers Centre Le Grand Hotel
5.5 mi away
Manoir de Beauvoir
Manoir de Beauvoir
#1 of 1 in Mignaloux-Beauvoir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Poitiers Centre
Ibis Poitiers Centre
#14 of 35 in Poitiers
3.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de l'Europe
Hotel de l'Europe
#4 of 35 in Poitiers
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
3.3 mi away
ACE Hotel Poitiers
ACE Hotel Poitiers
#3 of 35 in Poitiers
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Poitiers Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Poitiers Centre Hotel

Property: Mercure Poitiers Centre Hotel
Address: 14 rue Edouard Grimaux, 86000, Poitiers, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Vienne > Poitiers
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Poitiers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Poitiers Centre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Poitiers Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing