We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great - but not on Sundays”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Poitiers Centre Hotel
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Poitiers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This is a very nice hotel in a lovely city with some wonderful restaurants.
Other reviews describe it's unusual architecture well. BUT I would like to add that on Sundays the restaurant is closed. This means the bar is also closed.
We arrived, after 6 hours on the road, in time to see the last set of Wimbledon men's final and wanted a drink! A bottle of wine could not be produced. We didn't want to go out to a bar. We luckily had a bottle of warm (!) white wine in our car so went and fetched that. Obtaining a bucket of ice and a cork screw was also not easily achieved. Luckily by the time Andy Murray won our wine was cool enough to enjoy!!
Our room -superior - although well appointed and comfortable, was much smaller and plainer than photographs suggested.
Advise on good local restaurants was very good.

Room Tip: Ask for the larger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (516)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 516 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

This is a beautiful hotel, with very friendly and helpful staff, not to mention great value. We'll definitely stay here again. Upon arrival we needed an extra room. Even though their current and last minute rate was higher than the one we booked the first room; they reduced their rate to match the first room.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maryfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Big, comfortable bed, crisp linen and big shower make the Mercure reputation difficult to beat.
This Mercure was located in a side street near the theatre in what had been a Jesuit Chapel and there were charming ecclesiastical remnants well-treated in the structure.
Parking was available at the theatre nearby and the receptionist gave us good instructions through the one way system to get there. Returning the following morning was a little more tricky because the lift down to the carpark was not immediately obvious.
Though it was not cheap, we had the standard room and there were more exclusive rooms available. As a treat we ate in the attached but independent restaurant, a gastronomic delight and a memorable French dining experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank eekayc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

An amazing building, with chunks of columns in each room, columns in the breakfast room, cute rooms, a little hard to find but we did arrive at night,
Manageress was lovely, as were the staff. My only slight complaint were the pillows, full of air that wouldn't seem to go down....a small price to pay .

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank spbgjbr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Chose hotel for an idle April weekend on 5 week road trip as it was ranked highly and now agree with previous reviewers. Needed car GPS to navigate the one-way streets. Staff were helpful in English re dining options when the restaurant on-site was closed. Public areas had architectural features creating great ambience. Stayed in smaller 'modern' room with sloping ceiling and beams (I'm not tall but even I hit my head!), clean but basically furnished. Shower over good-size bath, but v. small wash basin with no plug - used duct tape(!) and also used tape to hold curtains together to block out the dawn light. Slept in, splurged on €15pp Sunday breakfast/brunch which was ample, including made-to-order omelettes, in delightful setting. Pleasant stop-over.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoslynJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Don't let the bland exterior fool you, this Mercure on a quiet street close to the centre of Poitiers is lovely inside. Converted from an old church, the interior is modern and ancient at the same time. Our room on the ground floor at the back was perfectly nice, clean and modern and quiet. We didn't eat in the restaurant but the room itself was stunning - all vaulted ceilings and pillars. Breakfast upstairs on the second floor was the standard continental of breads, preserves, cold meat, cheese and cereal but pricey at 15€/head - I don't know how hotels the world over justify their ridiculous breakfast prices. At least in a British one they might actually cook you something! There's no parking here but you can get a validated ticket for an underground car park just around the corner. Park outside the hotel to unload first, then get your parking ticket. Poitiers itself is a nice place to stopover, however (like much of France) depending on the day of the week and the time of day, the shops and restaurants will be firmly 'fermee'!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JED457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We had a privilege room no. 418. Was fairly smart & reasonable size with several small windows high up looking over rooftops etc & some charming original pillars etc but I was not overwhelmed in view of rather extortionate price we paid. Was lovely & quiet though. Shower room was basically a wet room but well designed. Think this room is wheelchair friendly in design despite being on 4th floor judging from number of handrails in bathroom & small ramp leading up to it from bedroom.
I found the layout of the room slightly odd - I'd prefer a bigger bed in a room this size but it was very comfortable and I'd also prefer that the bed didn't face the bedroom door albeit at the end of a small hallway - but there were constraints due to the original church features.
The restaurant is very well designed and quite an impressive space but we chose to walk up into the old town a few minutes away & found a good indian restaurant - the new Raja.
The staff were very efficient and friendly. Would stay again and in that room but would hope to get a better price.

Room Tip: I'm fairly certain the best rooms are in the old part of the building where we stayed but you wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sibellius2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poitiers hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Poitiers Centre
0.3 mi away
Hotel de l'Europe
Hotel de l'Europe
#2 of 35 in Poitiers
384 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Poitiers Centre Le Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Garrigae Manoir de Beauvoir
Garrigae Manoir de Beauvoir
#1 of 1 in Mignaloux-Beauvoir
611 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Poitiers Centre
Ibis Poitiers Centre
#14 of 35 in Poitiers
433 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Poitiers Nord
Ibis Styles Poitiers Nord
#9 of 35 in Poitiers
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Poitiers Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Poitiers Centre Hotel

Address: 14 rue Edouard Grimaux, 86000, Poitiers, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Vienne > Poitiers
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Poitiers
Price Range: $103 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Poitiers Centre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mercure Poitiers Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing