We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yuk!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Poitiers Centre
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Poitiers
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Yuk!”
Reviewed September 5, 2009

We had a lot of difficulty even finding a hotel in Poitiers. We chose this one as it is a well known brand, and part of the same group as Sofitel, which has always been good.
What a mistake! The room was miniscule. The shower room even smaller. It was impossible to even turn on the spot in there!
The bed was a horrid foam mattress and the one pillow was as thick as my hand. The room was poorly laid-out with shocking furniture and state of decoration. Well located but noisy. At 65 Euro, it wasn't even good value (not the reason we stayed).
Two good things - on-site car-park and free wifi.
The first and last Ibis I will use.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iainseville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    188
    102
    27
    11
See reviews for
78
161
37
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
295 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 385 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2009

Not easy to find! Glad I had my SatNav with me. This Ibis is right in the middle of Poitiers and has the huge benefit of its private on site parking (at a reasonable charge). The rooms are small: the shower room tiny. There is no air con. We sweated our way through hot humid conditions with little sleep. It's a clean, functional Ibis, good for a night, and serves breakfast. Good value for money.
Poitiers is certainly worth a visit - an interesting old town centre with two completely different cathedrals. We had a lovely dinner on the terrace at La Gazette on Rue Gambetta. Highly recommended for a casual meal at inexpensive prices.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2009

The room we stayed in was the size of a doll's house, the bathroom the size of the bathroom on an aeroplane, the room was run down and the amenities very poor. Asked for a jug and could not give us one. The bed had a plastic sheet over the matress that crunched when you turned over, the towels provided were miniature to match the size of the room. Not good value for money as it was 68 euros. The only advice I can give is don't stay there.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkMarkAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Poitiers hotels

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2007

Just spent two nights on business in Poitiers staying in the Ibis Centre. I have stayed with Ibis many times around Europe and booked this based on my favourable experiences and the other reviews on this site.

I was somewhat surprised therefore to discover the generally run down state of my room (239). The toilet bowl had a large chunk missing from the rim and the (pokey) shower was missing one of its doors and the fitting that holds the shower head meaning it was very difficult to wash from the waist up. Also the shower failed to drain away as fast as the shower head filled it up resulting in a flooded room thanks to the missing door. Had the door been there the result would have been the same as there is no drain in the floor.
I changed rooms to 203 which was better but not much.

As noted above there is very little external noise but an awful lot of internal banging and crashing and noise from the plumbing.

I suspect from the other reviews there are better rooms than the two I had especially having stayed in the Bois De Marche which I would rate higher than this but I can only comment on my experience.

Very good location for the town centre bars and restaurants

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Generally run down
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doc_Sausage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
174 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2007

A very well located hotel for those visiting the city. Its located in the central region where all the main restaurants are located and 10 min walking from the shoping district and 20 min from the cathedral. The staff is pleasent and helpefull the private parking is okay if one has a small car.
The rooms are the classic Ibis small version rooms. with space just for the bed and the wc. the flat screen gives it a more modern looks but its still a small room for 2 persons. The bad thing about this hotel is really the internal noise! We did not ear any noise from the street... but from the interior ... next rooms and corridors!! if you want to sleep after 8a.m. you might have problems due to that...

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Afonso_TheHague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2007

Following a horrible experience at the nearby Best Western Le Bois de la Marche hotel, we had to transfer to this Ibis at 1am.
We were dealt with proptly and amazed to find such a smart modernised room (duvets, flat screen TV etc) , very modern bathroom, at the very low cost of 53 Euros - a lot less than other hotels in the area.
Breakfast was served in the restaurant which was run like clock work by the proprietor - the food was plentiful and good. - just 1 word of advice don't be late - cleared away @ 10am very promptly.
The restaurant attached served a very good meal and the staff were attentive and polite.
I would recommend this hotel without question.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, Modern
  • Disliked — Quite small room
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarionD123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2006

We stayed at this hotel for three nights and found the staff very friendly and helpful.The hotel is conveniently located to visit all the sights within Poitiers. Only two blocks away from the bus stop to Futuroscope and Auchan supermarket.The room was small but clean, a bit in the noisy side as we were on the first floor near the breakfast area.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SYDZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poitiers hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel de l'Europe
Hotel de l'Europe
#3 of 36 in Poitiers
324 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Poitiers Centre Gare
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Poitiers Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Poitiers Centre Le Grand Hotel
0.3 mi away
Mercure Poitiers Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#16 of 36 in Poitiers
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Poitiers Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Poitiers Centre

Property: Ibis Poitiers Centre
Address: 15 rue du petit Bonneveau, 86000, Poitiers, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Vienne > Poitiers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Poitiers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Poitiers Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Poitiers Centre is located in the heart of Poitiers, a city of art and history, just 10 minutes from the Futuroscope multimedia theme park. Book one of our 75 airconditioned rooms for your next business trip or holiday. The hotel features a barserving snacks 24 hours, wireless Internet access, a meeting room and private pay parking for 14 vehicles. There is additional public parking less than 50 m from the hotel and there are also several restaurants in the immediate vacinity of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, ACCOR, Cancelon, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Ibis Poitiers Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Poitiers Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing