We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find, room basic, but facilities make up for it.”
Review of Hotel de France

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel de France
Ranked #30 of 36 Hotels in Poitiers
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great find, room basic, but facilities make up for it.”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights on our way home from the South. Fab parking including if you have a trailer or caravan there is the room to park (double space). We stayed in a family room which the kids loved, but to be honest was very basic. The swimming pool was a welcome extra and the restaurant was amazing! The hotel staff we so helpful. Would definitely stay here again. There are a couple of fast food restaurants near the hotel and Poitiers itself is a lovely town. I would definitely stay here again, because really how much time do you spend in the room and value for money could not be faulted!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    27
    39
    13
    16
See reviews for
37
23
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed for two nights - had the better comfort rooms which were clean basic but all we needed incl tea making facilities. Restaurant was surprisingly good attentive staff and good food. Very helpful staff.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Close to the motorway system and not far from the centre of Poitiers. Very helpful staff, good sized clean room with bathroom and separate toilet. Good buffet breakfast, don't leave to late to eat as food supplies run down. Not sure I'd want to stay more than one night as need transport to get into Poitiers but if you can get into the old city its well word a vist.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliawoodhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almancil, Portugal
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We discovered this hotel after a mammoth drive from Northern England the day before. It was late at night and we were desperate to find a place to spend the night in comfort. We hit on this 3 star hotel after leaving the A10 in search and were delighted by its welcome and the comfortable room we were given with en suite facilities and all the facilities you might reasonably require. Furtherermore we were pleased to hear the dining room was open until 10pm and we were able to enjoy a typical french meal excellently prepared and served and at a reasonable 60 euros for 2 for three courses and a super bottle of red wine from the Loire region.
Anyone looking for a clean efficient hotel near the A10 with good food to boot should try this hotel.
We left after a good breakfast where bacon and eggs were on offer as well as the usual continental style breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Almancilcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pollington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

the worst hotel i have ever been in,the room was basic and when we 1st went in the room was discusting both beds we're absolutely covered in lots of muck and absolutely covered in dog hairs! we got given another room but that was so out-dated it was a horrendous experiance! we tried to sleep a bit and left the hotel as soon as we woke up to get out of it! please avoid at all costs, we went to the hotel plaza which was stunning and cheaper!

Room Tip: please don't!!!!!1
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thelawsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Stayed in a triple room on a Sunday. This was a clean and well maintained hotel with a friendly and efficient staff. The hotel is located in an out of town area so you cannot walk to any attractions. The hotel will however call you a taxi which was fairly cheap and allows you to go out without worrying about drinking and driving.The hotel seems to cater for business and seasonal holiday makers so was very quiet at the weekend. Due to this all of the amenities were closed. This meant the restaurant was shut and there wasn't any breakfast. There is however a chain store bakery next door which provides the hotel with pastries etc.There is a swimming pool but this was accessed only through the bar area and was unheated.The changing areas are the toilets in the lobby. The room was clean and the beds comfortable.Overall cheap and efficient but not luxury.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shabahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courcome
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We stayed here on a freezing cold night and found the hotel to be warm and welcoming. The menu at the restaurant was not appealing so we ate elsewhere. The hotel was chosen as it was relatively near the railway station and, unlike many other hotels in Poitiers, it had free parking. Functional and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poitiers hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mac Bed
Hotel Mac Bed
#17 of 36 in Poitiers
69 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Come Inn
Hotel Come Inn
#8 of 36 in Poitiers
150 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ibis Styles Poitiers Nord
Ibis Styles Poitiers Nord
#20 of 36 in Poitiers
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Campanile Poitiers Sud - Aeroport
2.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Poitiers Centre
6.9 mi away
Best Western Le Bois De La Marche
Best Western Le Bois De La March...
#1 of 1 in Fontaine-le-Comte
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France

Property: Hotel de France
Address: 215 avenue de Paris, 86000, Poitiers, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Vienne > Poitiers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 36 Hotels in Poitiers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de France 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel with multilingual staff, restaurant and bar; situated in suburban area in a private park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing