We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet gem”
Review of Hotel de l'Europe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel de l'Europe
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Poitiers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2013

A very comfortable and quiet hotel within 5 minutes walk of the main square. Modern comfortable rooms. Very ample breakfast so this hotel ticks many boxes. The hotel is situated in a courtyard which all but guarantees seclusion and quiet whilst popping you out on the main road into the town centre. a super produce market is a short walk away situated in " the old town".A very enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be quietly situated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JTFomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (373)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 373 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

The staff here were very friendly and spoke good english. Our bedroom on the second floor was accessed using a lift (no carrying heavy cases). The bedroom and bathroom were clean and very comfortable. Shops and restaurants are very closeby. The breakfast room has a conservatory extension and is very welcoming with a good range of foods and drinks available. Parking is safe and secure as the gates are locked after 11pm. I will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gnomeontherange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

This hotel is a heartbeat away from the centre of Poitiers tucked away in a courtyard. Our room was in one of the buildings just off the main reception and although small was beautifully decorated with tasteful furniture and pictures. Everything was super clean and fresh. Our room was on the ground floor with doors leading out to the car park but being able to close the shutters ensured privacy during the night. Beautiful bright breakfast room with a very good choice for breakfast. Car parking on site is £7.00 per day but there is a multi story car park literally just across the road and we parked for 18 hours which also cost £7.00 and the next day 12 hours which cost £4.50. There are a multitude of bars and restaurants just outside the hotel courtyard and the cinema is also just down the street with a Carrefour next to it open from 7.00 am until quite late. As the hotel is tucked away off the main street, we heard absolutely no street noise from our room. Now that the area around the hotel has been pedestrianised (retaining access as far as the car park) the Town has a fresh feel and a good ambiance. We love it! We will certainly stay at Hotel L'Europe again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gail11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Poitiers is a wonderful medieval city, and to have a hotel downtown, so close to the famous sites, is a delight. For the bus it is difficult to get to, but we managed. The hotel consists of three buildings, and the two facing the street have an elevator, the other one not. Receptionist was a bit overwhelmed when we arrived, but she handled everything well. Room fairly small, but ok. Bathroom was tiny, you could hardly move. Free wifi in the room, but iffy, better in the main lobby downstairs. Breakfast room delightful, with big windows toward the back garden. Good range of food, including eggs and cheese, ham and croissants, etc. You can also boil your own egg. Quiet rooms altogether. Parking for cars in the inner courtyard. Our small bus could even park around the corner in a side alley, amazingly.
For train travelers, however, very diffiult to reach this hotel. It is an elegant hotel, ca. 5-10 minutes on foot from the city center.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aclassen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I stay at this hotel 10 times a year and it's always a pleasure. The staff treat me as if I'm the only customer, and always remember my requirements. The rooms are sparkling clean and quiet, the breakfast is remarkably varied. There are plenty of restaurants nearby, some of them excellent.
Just one point- the TV is a bit small if you want to watch a match! I look forward to going back rthere.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Really nice hotel located in the city centre of Poitiers. One of the downsides is that it can be difficult to get to it using a GPS due to the pedestrian zone in the city centre - however, that said, the hotel has parking outside and is great for accessing the city centre. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the city centre is only a 2 minute walk away. The hotel has good wifi access and the rooms are comfortable and stylish. I hope to stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidMcGuire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I loved this hotel, from the moment you drive in the private yard to park your car, until the moment you see your room- everything looks picture perfect.
A rich breakfast (one of the best i've had in France ever), great design, super comfy beds, and even the fact that there is no elevator doesn't seem to be a problem because even the staircase is planned perfectly for you to carry your stuff easily.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Masha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poitiers hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Poitiers Centre Le Grand Hotel
0.3 mi away
Mercure Poitiers Centre Hotel
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Poitiers Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ibis Poitiers Centre
Ibis Poitiers Centre
#15 of 35 in Poitiers
425 reviews
5.3 mi away
Garrigae Manoir de Beauvoir
Garrigae Manoir de Beauvoir
#1 of 1 in Mignaloux-Beauvoir
588 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Poitiers Centre Gare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Europe

Address: 39 rue Carnot, 86000, Poitiers, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Vienne > Poitiers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Poitiers
Price Range: $71 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de l'Europe 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel de l'Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Europe
De l Europe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing