We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2.5 star” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Central

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Central
Ranked #15 of 35 Hotels in Poitiers
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“2.5 star”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

A very small, very clean anonymous hotel. Perfect central location ,great view and secure parking at E5.40 for 24 hours.
It is however so unremarkable that I had to invent this sentence to reach the 200 character minimum limit for a review.

Room Tip: All the rooms are clones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jonnowoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    47
    16
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
37
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Costa Mesa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Loved the location of this hotel! We had a room on the 3rd floor, with Balcony overlooking the large pedestrians-only Square. Nice clean modern room. Great bed. Very good continental breakfast. Room was small, but comfortable and had everything we needed. Only problem was the "iffy Wifi" which kept shutting down, and which is why my report is so short. Think it deserves more than 2-stars, though. Helpful, friendly owners also. We ate 3 times at the Bistro d'Absynthe, just around the corner. Excellent every time. Would definitely stay again at Hotel Central.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with balcony. Great view. If weather is good you can enjoy breakfast on balcony. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EvieCostaMesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

I would have never imagined travelling to Poitiers if it hadn't been a stop over from Paris to Libourne. Well, what the check, another place, another eye opener I guess. The hotel was not really far from the Railway Station but do be aware that it's located at the top of a hill.. Yes, the main town of Poitiers is above not below.. And for huge luggages, take a cab of wait for a bus! Unless you wanna burn some serious calories, make sure to travel with four wheeled luggages, two wheelers will be tough! There are bends all the way to the top.. The hotel is easy to find and it oversees a large open platform, lots of restaurants and shops around, so you are not alone. The rooms is modern, clean and comfortable. The town was not huge, but it was fun to stroll around and relax.. One can easily take a bus to Futuroscope, a high-tech park, yes a huge amusement park right in France. It's not like Universal Studios or Disneyland, its more like an IMAX exhibition.. We had so much IMAX (in different forms) in a day that we could ever remember.. It was like going back to the birthplace of IMAX.. Some good rides like Arthur 4D made the trip one to remember.. Somehow it was not meant to open for foreign tourists as the predominant language was French.. But you get to see some amazing architectures, and there's even one that looks Kryptonian!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Imagine a hotel stay where breakfast is delivered to your room and you can enjoy it on the balcony overlooking the town square. That was our experience at Hotel Central. Ask for a room with a balcony. Breakfast is about 7 Euros/person, but it is delivered to your room. The only disadvantage to having a balcony is that if you sleep with the window open, you will hear people in the square at night. With the window closed, it is fairly quiet.

Hotel is located on the town square, so many restaurants are nearby. Be aware that the desk is not manned 24-hours. Wi-fi was OK, not great. Room had a good shower (with a real curtain).

Since it's in the pedestrian area, there's no onsite parking. But there's a garage very close by.

We would definitely stay in this hotel if we ever return to Poitiers.

Room Tip: We loved the balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbie21144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with my husband and young baby as a stop off in our trip south. I didn't know much about poitiers before so took a bit of a punt on the location and the hotel....we were very pleasantly surprised.

This hotel is as it's name suggests, very central and within walking distance of everything in the old town. Parking is in a public car park just round the corner.

The hotel has just been renovated and is very modern and clean. Our room was on the top floor and had a lovely balcony looking out on to the square below. There was a shower and bath both very clean although the shower had a few temperature issues!

Everything we needed for the baby was available when we requested and with no bother.

A great little find.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendover_haggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Hotel Central is, as the name suggests, right in the middle of Poitiers and overlooks the large central square and the splendid Town Hall. It is a small 2 star hotel but very clean and welcoming.
Our en-suite room on the top floor overlooking the square and with a small balcony with table & 2 chairs cost €73.70 for the night. There is a small and very clean lift which took us and our baggage to the top floor. Although our room overlooked the very busy square, we were not disturbed by any undue noise. It has no car park and guests have to park in the nearby multi-storey and pay the going rate. Breakfast was offered but we chose to eat later, having an early start. All in all, this was a successful overnight stay.

Room Tip: We didn't look at any other rooms but ours overlooking the square with its balcony was very good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EuropetravellerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in July 2012. The hotel is beautifully located in the town square. The staff were friendly and although the counter is not manned the access after hours is very simple. The room was very clean, very comfortable and nice and quiet. The bathroom was clean and the shower was very good. We faced an internal courtyard (so no view) but as we only used the room to sleep in this was no problem. If you would prefer a room with a view of the square (which is stunning) then just request when booking. I would definitely recommend this hotel to future travelers.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deborah2228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poitiers hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Poitiers Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Poitiers Centre Le Grand Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Europe
Hotel de l'Europe
#4 of 35 in Poitiers
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Poitiers Centre
0.1 mi away
Ibis Poitiers Centre
Ibis Poitiers Centre
#14 of 35 in Poitiers
3.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Plat d'Etain
Hotel du Plat d'Etain
#20 of 35 in Poitiers
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central

Property: Hotel Central
Address: 35 Place du Marechal Leclerc, 86000, Poitiers, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Vienne > Poitiers
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 35 Hotels in Poitiers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Central 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing