We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel on the square”
Review of Hotel Central

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Central
Ranked #19 of 35 Hotels in Poitiers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Imagine a hotel stay where breakfast is delivered to your room and you can enjoy it on the balcony overlooking the town square. That was our experience at Hotel Central. Ask for a room with a balcony. Breakfast is about 7 Euros/person, but it is delivered to your room. The only disadvantage to having a balcony is that if you sleep with the window open, you will hear people in the square at night. With the window closed, it is fairly quiet.

Hotel is located on the town square, so many restaurants are nearby. Be aware that the desk is not manned 24-hours. Wi-fi was OK, not great. Room had a good shower (with a real curtain).

Since it's in the pedestrian area, there's no onsite parking. But there's a garage very close by.

We would definitely stay in this hotel if we ever return to Poitiers.

Room Tip: We loved the balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbie21144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 106 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with my husband and young baby as a stop off in our trip south. I didn't know much about poitiers before so took a bit of a punt on the location and the hotel....we were very pleasantly surprised.

This hotel is as it's name suggests, very central and within walking distance of everything in the old town. Parking is in a public car park just round the corner.

The hotel has just been renovated and is very modern and clean. Our room was on the top floor and had a lovely balcony looking out on to the square below. There was a shower and bath both very clean although the shower had a few temperature issues!

Everything we needed for the baby was available when we requested and with no bother.

A great little find.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wendover_haggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Hotel Central is, as the name suggests, right in the middle of Poitiers and overlooks the large central square and the splendid Town Hall. It is a small 2 star hotel but very clean and welcoming.
Our en-suite room on the top floor overlooking the square and with a small balcony with table & 2 chairs cost €73.70 for the night. There is a small and very clean lift which took us and our baggage to the top floor. Although our room overlooked the very busy square, we were not disturbed by any undue noise. It has no car park and guests have to park in the nearby multi-storey and pay the going rate. Breakfast was offered but we chose to eat later, having an early start. All in all, this was a successful overnight stay.

Room Tip: We didn't look at any other rooms but ours overlooking the square with its balcony was very good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EuropetravellerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in July 2012. The hotel is beautifully located in the town square. The staff were friendly and although the counter is not manned the access after hours is very simple. The room was very clean, very comfortable and nice and quiet. The bathroom was clean and the shower was very good. We faced an internal courtyard (so no view) but as we only used the room to sleep in this was no problem. If you would prefer a room with a view of the square (which is stunning) then just request when booking. I would definitely recommend this hotel to future travelers.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deborah2228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed two nights at this hotel which is in the town center. We had breakfast served by the hotel on the balcony that overlooks the town square. It turned out that our stay coincided with a music festival and other civic activities performed in the square. Despite some noise late at night we had a wonderful time from our balcony. The room was well appointed with all the aminities. It was comfortable and the bed was large, perhaps a bit too large for the room. This hotel is worth the money and I would certainly stay there the next time I am in this marvelous famous and well preserved medieval town.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mahmood I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We loved the central location and being a short stroll to some lovely chocolate shops and restaurants. The hotel is situated on the main square overlooking the hotel d ville, quaint shops and cafes.
The rooms whilst not huge, were nicely renovated, spotlessly clean, warm and modern - much nicer than we expected for a 2 star rated property!
The bathroom was small, however it was clean, had a good shower and plenty of hot water.
We booked this hotel based on past reviews and were not disappointed.
As we were traveling in winter we loved the warm, cosy room and watching the snow fall from our full length windows.
The friendly managers were happy to share information and travel tips on their lovely town. The hotel reception is not manned all the time, however you are given an access code and this works well. There is a computer, free WiFi and small library area available for guest use. Highly recommend it for couples and family.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the square, so you can just sit and watch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelmumSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

I found this place, by car, far more easily than I had expected. The signs to the pay car park are well placed and there's lots of them. It cost euro 6 for the night and I was happy to pay. The hotel was a 5 min walk around the corner - out of the car park and to the left and there is the big main square of Poitiers.

There is a lift although it's tiny - says 4 people - not with luggage. The man on reception said he didn't speak English but when I spoke French he changed his mind. The room was larger than I expected and very well set up and I had a view of the square. I did have the "comfort room" for a double on my own so this may have made a difference - it cost more than a double room although I didn't see a plain double on the web booking. There was a business centre on the 1st floor but I used the wifi which was very slow and couldn't load a map which didn't help my exit of Poitiers. The cathedral is amazing - the columns are painted all colours.

The shower did fluctuate and it took ages for the hot water to come through - a true waste of water. Due to the location and the size of the room I thought it was good enough value overall.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aussiesue102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poitiers hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Europe
Hotel de l'Europe
#3 of 35 in Poitiers
378 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Poitiers Centre
0.1 mi away
Ibis Poitiers Centre
Ibis Poitiers Centre
#15 of 35 in Poitiers
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Poitiers Centre Le Grand Hotel
0.2 mi away
Mercure Poitiers Centre Hotel
4.7 mi away
Best Western Le Bois De La Marche
Best Western Le Bois De La March...
#1 of 1 in Fontaine-le-Comte
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central

Address: 35 Place du Marechal Leclerc, 86000, Poitiers, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Vienne > Poitiers
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 35 Hotels in Poitiers
Price Range: $83 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Central 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing