We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Meal”
Review of Le P'tit Nicolas

Le P'tit Nicolas
Reserve a Table
2
Thu, 7/18
8:00 PM
Ranked #13 of 604 Restaurants in La Rochelle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $39
Restaurant details
Reviewed August 25, 2018

I had booked Le P'tit Nicolas based on the amazing reviews on TripAdvisor. This was to be our last meal in La Rochelle before heading back to Dubai. Whilst wondering through the town we saw the restaurant so viewed the menu which was outside. The choice was very limited and as my husband is now a pescatarian we were worried that the choice was limiting. We then returned to our hotel and I re-read the reviews. They were all so good that I felt if we cancelled out booking we would be disappointed so we decided to keep our reservation. Well how pleased were we. Our booking was at 7:30 so we walked to the area hoping to get a drink in a bar. We then got to the restaurant just before 7:30. Our waitress explained that they didn't start service until 7:30 but please take our seat. When our waiter arrived he asked if we wanted to speak English or French. Now we would have loved to speak French but as his English was so much better then our French we decided to chicken out and speak English. His enthusiasm for the menu was palatable. I ordered the Foie Gras. OMG it was amazing. The creamiest Foie Gras I have ever tasted. This used to be my husband food of choice when he was a carnivore and due to my exclamations he just could not resist a taste, he was not disappointed. For my main I had the Chef's suggestion which was Langoustine with mash potatoes. I was surprised at this combination as I would not put these two together but it worked perfectly. Geoff had the fish with the Marjoram Emulsion, it was a delight. We then had the cheese to share followed by the pudding. To say we were happy that we didn't cancel our booking is an understatement. All in all this was a wonderful evening and the all the staff certainly made sure of that. THIS RESTAURANT IS A MUST VISIT.

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank JoanneTait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (685)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 685 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2018 via mobile

We reserved online for 1930 on Weds evening for our first night in La Rochelle. We went for the a la carte menu & had oysters, chefs special tuna dish, barbecued local fish similar to sea bass, steak tartare & cheese to share. Our 9 year old had a lovely pan fried fish with fries & ice cream. All fresh & an imaginative menu. A very popular place with friendly staff who understood our attempt at French. Merci beaucoup.

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank DCG09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2018 via mobile

Took our 13 year old twins for a lovely dinner in La Rochelle, and had an amazing meal. We all love food and were not disappointed! The service was super - really friendly, very efficient and welcoming. Recommend booking - so many people were turned away without a reservation. We booked a good 6 weeks in advance via trip advisor. Closed on Sunday and Monday evenings the week we stayed during the end of July.
The set menu was super and the kids ate the special fish dishes and they went down well. The food is just a little unusual and we loved the experience of all the different flavours.
Really tasty local wine and also local gin. Will definitely return when we visit next.

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank Maps639071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2018 via mobile

Great food, my sea bream was excellently cooked with an interesting foam. Our waiter took pity on us and spoke in English which was a relief because google translate was feeling the strain aiding my limited French. Very reasonable prices, and all the courses were well presented and well cooked. Definitely recommend.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank mda04adh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2018 via mobile

A pleasant meal was spoilt by a piece of beef that should never have left the kitchen . It looked ugly and was as tough and sinewy as it looked . My partner had beef too which was poor but not as bad . Starters were fine but the main dish was very poor . The beef was surrounded by some mismatched bits and pieces of this and that that just didn’t work for either of us .

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank imhonot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le P'tit Nicolas also viewed

La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
 
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
 
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
 

Been to Le P'tit Nicolas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing