We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What was expected”

Restaurant Christopher Coutanceau
Reserve a Table
2
Tomorrow
8:00 PM
Ranked #3 of 604 Restaurants in La Rochelle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $79 - $157
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: La plage de la Concurrence s’étend au pied de ce véritable phare de la gastronomie charentaise. Ici rien n’est laissé au hasard. Imaginez un instant à part, hors du temps, où tout est fait pour votre plaisir, où les horloges se sont arrêtées sur cette route du bonheur des Relais & Châteaux.
Reviewed April 6, 2019 via mobile

Second night in La Rochelle and our trip special dinner. Beautiful room and vue of the port and sea. Friendly reception and staff, good knowledge of the plates served, excellent wine list priced accordingly, great interaction from all the waiters, didn't feel stuffy at all for a two stars. Then the food, if you don't eat fish, it's not for you :) little "fun" appetiser eaten on your hand, this makes you feel at ease I guess, a good thing but not majorly tasty but pleasant. Followed by two pre starters, very tasty and well presented, like all the other dishes in fact, scallops in two service, tender stuffed squid with wild mushrooms and table sliced truffle, nearly not needed as the squid was so tasty, very good size lobster main course, all the sauces light but flavoursome except maybe the black garlic that was kind of lost, good cheese board with local fares, very pretty chocolate dessert "les galets" not as exciting chocolate souffle, one pre and one after dessert, lots of attention, had different wine glasses with each course, all matching well. Owner Nicolas very approachable and pleasant and again great laugh with the lads working the floor. Overal bill expected from a two star but felt great value for the amount of food and quality served, would I come back on a future visit? You bet !! well done and thank you all for a great evening.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Olly986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolasB5137, Directeur général at Restaurant Christopher Coutanceau, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2019

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Many thanks for taking the time to write such a delightful review about our restaurant.
We are more than happy to read that your dinner met your expectations thanks to the quality of dishes served, the professionalism of waiters or for example our wine list, true tresor proposing more than 1000 references.

We hope to welcome you again soon to share a new unforgettable gastronomic experience.

Best regards,

Nicolas Brossard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,311)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 1,311 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2019 via mobile

Perfect service and food.
Michelin star restaurant. Old good tradition. Thank you for my tasty birthday!

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank TaaaTiiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2019

Very attentive, nice and friendly personnel ! Good food and quick to serve. Let us enjoy the meal to the fullest to take it easy ;-)

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank 740mv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolasB5137, Directeur général at Restaurant Christopher Coutanceau, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2019

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you for your trust and your reservation.

We are really happy to read your comment and want to thank you for your recommandation.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Nicolas Brossard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2019

I cannot, even after some lovely meals at other top restaurants, find one thing that wasn't over the top at Coutanceau. From the moment we walked in we felt that we were the waitstaff's only diners. They were there in the background ready to put down the next dish, refill a glass or clear away the finished plate. I don't usually rave about tableware, but the chef has chosen dishes that complement each course. A touch of deep blue on the plate just below a serving of Octopus brought the ocean right to the table. A blush of pink next to the mussels on my plate made the black of the shells brilliant. And last, but definitely most important, the food was incredible. I had the Octopus three ways: carpaccio, stewed with fennel and, fried. Each bite was heaven. Our party of four passed forks so we could all sample the menu items. The chef uses all sustainable and local ingredients and has created uses them brilliantly. I ended up buying the cookbook and it was worth lugging it back as part of my hand luggage. It was the most indulgent lunch I have ever had and I would love to have the opportunity to do it again.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank LSGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2019 via mobile

My wife and I chose the 7 courses Signature menu. Most courses were both creative, balanced and very good, in particular the ‘Lisette’ (local maquereau) and ‘bouffis’ (another local fish), which complemented very finely. The ‘lotte à la Royale’ was a true discovery! Finally the chocolate soufflé is outstanding.
Wine list is good.
Overall a very robust 2-star!

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank danielbW6483IS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolasB5137, Directeur général at Restaurant Christopher Coutanceau, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2019

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Many thanks for taking the time to write such a delightful review about our restaurant.
We are more than happy to read that the menu "Signature" met your expectations.

We hope to welcome you again soon to share a new gastronomic experience.

Best regards,

Nicolas Brossard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Christopher Coutanceau also viewed

La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
 
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
 
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
 

Been to Restaurant Christopher Coutanceau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing