We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent service”
Review of Le Bar Andre

Le Bar Andre
Reserve a Table
2
Mon, 7/22
8:00 PM
Ranked #134 of 606 Restaurants in La Rochelle
Cuisines: French, Seafood, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: For over 70 years, le Bar Andre has welcomed diners aboard a ship "moored" at the foot of the towers in the old port of La Rochelle. The menu mirrors the restaurant, an abundance of the sea's treasures. The seafood and shellfish arrive daily direct from the local fish market. Like the two towers, Le Bar Andre is a La Rochelle landmark, embarking its clientele on a delicious seafarer's journey.--Situe sur le vieux port de La Rochelle, au pied des tours, le Bar Andre vous accueille depuis plus de 70 ans dans un "navire amarre" aux multiples ambiances. La carte est a l'image du restaurant qui defend corps et ames les joyaux de la mer. Les fruits de mer et coquillages arrivent donc quotidiennement en direct de la criee locale rochelaise. A l'instar des deux tours, le Bar Andre est une figure incontournable de la Rochelle qui embarque ses clients pour un voyage aux saveurs marines.
Reviewed May 10, 2019

Last minute decision to veer in here for a seafood dinner. busy but really efficient and friendly service. Food was good and, as one would expect, very fresh. we shared a plate of local oysters and then my partner had moules marinieres whilst I had La Cassolette (seafood casserole). With a prime location, it is not cheap but good quality at a reasonable price.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank donalg84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 11 of 2,150 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2019 via mobile

I was recommended bar andre so was looking forward to it very much.My partner and I both ordered ' moules mariniere' .what we received was tasteless mussels old tasting bread and chip shop chips what a shame

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Thetfordtravel1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marine L, Responsable relations clients at Le Bar Andre, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2019

Dear customer,

We feel sorry to read that the dish you choose was not at your taste. Please note that we have a daily arrival of fresh and tasty seafoods in order to satisfy all our customers. However, your comment will be communicated to our Chef and his team to understand what happened.

We hope to welcome you another time,
Bar André's Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2019

Always pleased with this restaurant .Excellent service quality seafood . Lovely atmosphere value for money

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank EssexFrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2018

A very busy restaurant on the Vieux Port (Old Harbour). I was here for dinner, and the food was very, very good (I had grilled sardines with potatoes - delicious!).
Service was also very good and prices are moderate to high.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ANGELO V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2018

Andre is a very big restaurant specialising in seafood. A large portside frontage with plenty of pavement tables. It was extremely busy so not the most intimate of restaurants. It looks like they specialise in fruit de mer so that is probably great if you order it but we didn't as we are not keen on oysters. We made the mistake of ordering fish dishes which required cooking. Both our dishes were overcooked and tasteless! It had been recommended and booked by the patron of our accommodation but he won't be recommending them again.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tiggerlives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marine L, Responsable relations clients at Le Bar Andre, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2018

Dear customer,

Please know that our restaurant is known to be specialized in seafood but also fresh and quality fish. Therefore we feel sorry you didn’t appreciate the plates that were served to you.
However we’re taking into consideration your comment which we will communicate to our staff in charge.

We hope that you’ll be back in our restaurant,
Bar André’s team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bar Andre also viewed

La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
 
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
 
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
 

Been to Le Bar Andre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing