We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal away from the main hub of La Rochelle”
Review of La Mere Tomine

La Mere Tomine
Ranked #15 of 605 Restaurants in La Rochelle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $22
Restaurant details
Reviewed September 26, 2018

My husband and I ate here one evening during our stay in La Rochelle and I think we both agreed it was our favourite meal of our trip. The restaurant was quiet but not without atmosphere. Our waitress was very friendly and helpful and dealt with us professionally throughout. The food was delicious, delivered quickly enough and presented well. Both the food and the wine were very reasonably-priced considering the quality and quantity.

The location of the restaurant was a welcome relief to be away from the hustle and bustle of the Harbourside in La Rochelle, and was not far from where we stayed. It is well worth seeking out this restaurant.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank becctharradine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 117 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2017

Amazing service, good food and fair price, highly recommended, especially if you want to escape the tourist crowd and expensive restaurants from the old port.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank matthias r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2017 via mobile

This very nice restaurant is a local one situated a few minutes away from where I live, and is open mostly at lunch time.

I had lunch there for the first time and got to be soooooo happy! The food is fantastic, and the cook and waitresses are so nice with customers. They really take care of you and wanna make you feel at ease.

Two menus were possible:
• main dish + dessert or first plate + main dish, for 12,50€.
• first plate + main dish + dessert for 15€.

The menus are written on the wall, it changes everyday as the food is always fresh and prepared every morning.

So good, healthy, tasty, away form touristic locations, it is hugely worthing it.
If you are looking for what's local, cheap and of real good quality, this is where you have to eat!

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank Clairette2407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRANCK T, Propriétaire at La Mere Tomine, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2017
Google Translation

Merci infiniment de votre gentil message...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago
Google Translation

Date of visit: May 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2019 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: June 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mere Tomine also viewed

La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
 
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
 
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
 

Been to La Mere Tomine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing